We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The "real deal" for great a rainforest experience--great trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage & Interpretive Tours

Heritage & Interpretive Tours
Ranked #9 of 13 Tours in Daintree
Attraction details
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The "real deal" for great a rainforest experience--great trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We just say that we entirely agree with the wonderful reviews already written about Pete Baxendell, the owner and guide for Heritage & Interpretive Tours. We went to Pt. Douglas to see the Great Barrier Reef and we didn’t think there would be much else to experience in such a small, out of the way place. Wrong! If you really want to have a hands-on experience of a rainforest (and lots of the flora and fauna in the general area), you couldn’t ask for better than Peter as your guide and 4 wheel vehicle driver. He’s spent most of his adult life in tropical areas and is an experienced guide and trained naturalist. You’ll drive through larger streams in his specially equipped Land Rover and wade through others by foot in the rainforest, so be prepared. This is not a bus tour where you just look out the windows! But don’t be afraid that the trip is too difficult. We’re in the late 60s and we were fine. You can be assured that he will tailor the trip your circumstances. Even the picnic lunch was wonderful. Plan a full day for this activity. Our trip was one of the best experiences of our two weeks in Australia.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christopher V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pete's a legend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

If you want an authentic rainforest experience, including sampling some of the local 'bushtucker', swimming in a remote watering-hole and learning about some of the amazing flora and fauna then Pete's your man!
We had a great day with Pete and were constantly entertained and informed by his stories, anecdotes and antics. He has a real passion for the rainforest which is infectious. Out of all the things we did in our three weeks in Australia, Pete was the highlight. We can't recommend him highly enough!
Thanks Pete for such an amazing experience!
Sam and Rosie (from Brighton, UK)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Samandrosieandbootsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pete made the Rainforest come to life. He is a legend in his own lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

I had been to the Rainforest before with another operator but wanted to show my family who had never been. I chose Pete because he looked as if he could offer something different. Well, all I can say is he over delivered. Pete is a charming and wise sage of the forest. His life experiences all add up to make the tour all that more interesting. He puts a huge amount of effort into researching and maintaining secret paths and rest stops through the forest. His wife also makes a superb packed lunch. It was my favourite day of my entire holiday. Well done Peter, you are a legend.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigfish314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic fun tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

We had a great time with Pete and would highly recommend this trip to the Daintree rainforest and cape tribulation in his 4WD. You go a little off the beaten track of the standard trips and Pete is very knowledgable and really good company. The walk in the rainforest is awesome, the foods that Pete gets you to try is fun and overall it is a long but brilliant day.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinny-The-Kid-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarkesville, ga.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The most interesting day of our trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Our family loved this tour of the Daintree rainforest. Pete is one of the most interesting, knowledgeable, and friendly people I have ever met. Its been a few years since we met Pete and took his tour. Glad to see he is still doing well.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank mattpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage & Interpretive Tours also viewed

 
Daintree, Daintree Region
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Heritage & Interpretive Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing