We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Daintree Ecolodge(Daintree)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cow Bay Hotel(Cow Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Tropical Resort(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra On The Inlet(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
38
16
3
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
16
3
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnative animalsfeed the animalsunique experiencetwo nightshuge bedb bcape tribulationdelicious mealshort driveonce in a lifetimedaintree villageevery morningport douglasother guestszoogilvolunteers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 60 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2009

I stayed at the zoo for two nights at the end of July with my wife and 14 year old daughter. As with the previous reviews I can confirm the breakfast is excellent with a large range of exotic fruits, cereals, toast, croissants, fruit smoothie and choice of tea or coffee. We had two evenings meals which were both were very good.

I booked this room over the internet having reviewed the other accommodation in Daintree and decided to choose the zoo because of the novelty factor and I am glad that we did.

The rooms are located to the side of the main entrance in a block of single storey accomodation, the four rooms are in line with the bathrooms at one end. We had a family room (No1) which had two beds and plenty of space. Our room was the furthest from the bathroom which was a mere 10 metres away.

The rear entrance of the room leads onto a shared fenced patio area which contains tables and cahirs for each room, the tea making facilities and fridge. Adjacent to the patio is a small free form pool and BarBQ. A gate leads into the zoo and stops the free ranging kangeroos from disturbing the patio furniture.

At the time of our visit a further 4 bedrooms had been built above the main building all with ensuite facilities, but at the time of our visit were not open available to rent.

As the zoo is south of the Daintree ferry it makes an ideal location for visiting the attractions to the south of the river.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontyPonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

The room was so clean and spacious for 5 adults of us, the size of zoo is not very big but the feeling was wonderful to stay so close with the wild animals. The environment of the guest house is quiet and comfortable, it's good to stay there with children. Their home-made honey is delicious.

Only thing is the room without bathroom and many mosquitoes, it's inconvenient when you need to go to the toilet at night,

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hahaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Wow, what an opportunity to stay over night in a zoo! Lots to see and get up close to and what a bargain. B&B for 2 people is $110 with free entry to the zoo, that saves $52, so that works out at just $29 per person for the B&B! (110-52/2) Great stop over on way up to Cape Tribulation. The kangaroos are very friendly, so are some of the parrots. Relaxing by the pool was awesome, watching the kangaroos wondering just across the fence. Surprisingly for such a remote location it had wireless broadband (wifi).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

This is a smallish private zoo housing native animals, mostly enclosured but tame wallabies and kangaroos roam free. Accommodation is provided in a block of four rooms away from the main entrance/restaurant, although I believe they're building some new rooms above this main block. It's run by a couple with the help of another couple of volunteers and their emphasis is on looking after the animals so if you want to be pampered this is not the place for you. We were the only guests there when we stayed so I think they put us in the best room which was a large family space with double bed and large bunks. The room was comfortable and large, opening onto a shared patio, where a shared fridge is provided, leading through to the zoo and it was fun to be up close to the marsupials, especially for my little one. The pool was fine but not as clean as some would like, fallen leaves etc. Bathrooms are shared and accessible at the front between the rooms. They were clean but not having ensuite may be an inconvenience if you need to go in the night and are not keen on the wild creatures of the night. It's only a few steps away but it does mean stepping out into the insect world and side-stepping frogs and spiders etc. In this part of the world mosquitoes can be a problem and precautions need be taken. Don't expect an insect-free room. If you need air-con, you'll find the older units here very noisy but ceiling fans work fine. Breakfast was included and more than adequate with some very nice home-made honey, though I found the cereals a bit stale. One thing I didn't like here was the water - it had an odour even after boiling that lingered in my thermos for weeks - and the kettle provided was coated inside with a film of brown deposit. We only stopped for one night and didn't use the restaurant, which only caters to guests, as we had supplies with us but do note there are no kitchen facilities other than a barbecue area for guests.
The zoo is definitely worth a visit and if you stay you can enjoy it any time.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Qupnicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

A friend and I stayed at the Daintree Wild B&B after we were unable to stay at the Wonga Beach Resort at the last minute.

Since my friend loves animals, it ended up being a good place for us. The room rate includes entry to the "zoo" which has all kinds of Australian wildlife - cassowaries, kangaroos, wallabies, dingos, crocidiles, and lots of native birds. The wildlife is literally just outside your door.

The accomodation is simple and straightforward - no TV, but decent beds and a shared (clean) bathroom. The breakfast in the morning is wonderful with lots of fresh fruit (for $6) and fresh croissants along with cereals and a fresh smoothie. We also chose to have dinner at the B&B because we didn't want to drive anywhere at night, and the food was just ok. Classic case of trying to cater to too many people with a selection of indian, burgers, and fish fillets.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kckayak99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews