We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time around...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Daintree B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd time around...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Second extended visit and yet another thoroughly enjoyable stay. This is accommodation with a difference and will suit anyone wanting a unique wildlife experience. When the zoo closes you have the grounds to yourself and can walk the premises with complete freedom - watching the crocodiles, walking in the extended aviary or simply enjoying the 'tame' wallabies and pygmy goats which are tame and apt to follow you around. Accommodation is spacious and well appointed and breakfast is hearty and includes lots of fruit and healthy nuts and cereals as desired. All the staff and owners engender a free and relaxed atmosphere and I left having thoroughly savoured each day......oh yes, there is a small outdoor swimming pool to cool off if desired.

Room Tip: Cheaper accommodation to the end of the complex - better ensuites above the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    14
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thann
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I think the rate for the room is expensive but if this is to finance the zoo I'm ok with it.
They have many australian animals and the highlights are to go with the volunteers to feed the animals. I felt in love with the young kangaroo and the goats!
It's really interesting to see what's the work of a keeper. But be careful to put insect repellant!
Some animals seem happy but I thought that many birds had a too small cage.
The rooms with ensuite bathrooms are above the reception and those with shared bathroom a little bit further in front of the pool.
When I went there the pool was not available. The shared bathrooms and toilets are clean but there were no toilet paper in the morning any more.
I had the Sunbird room: just next to the bathrooms and toilets... and in the morning it was annoying to here all the people going there...
There is a fridge that is shared with the volunteers and the other people from the shared bathroom rooms.
The owners were not really welcoming, I had the impression to annoy them when I was asking something. In the morning they were more friendly.

Room Tip: don't take the sunbird room beside the shared bathrooms and toilets or you will here everybody w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was a bit skeptical when I booked this place. It sounded a little weird. Even off the road my husband was wondering what I'd gotten him into.

It was freaking amazing. I only wish that I'd booked us for a second night, but I had a non-refundable reservation for the next night. We stayed in the Bee Eater room. There was a bit of comedy involving the air conditioner unit -- note to future guests -- your room key slides into the thingy by the door and it turns on the a/c. Voila!

We were sadly the only ones staying in this lovely place the night that we were there. The next day we found out that we could have ventured into the zoo at night, which I wish we would have done.

After a disappointing trip to the Discovery Center at Daintree, it was nice to see a cassowary in real life, that's for sure!

Anyway, back on to the B&B... the room was enormous and the tile was lovely. The owners were incredibly friendly and we had a nice chat before we left.

They also breed crocs there, which is pretty cool. Just don't get drunk and wander off the boardwalk. You could be a tasty snack for the critters. Also, don't tease the emus. They bite.

Oh, and wear mosquito repellent when you go into the zoo, otherwise you might get carried away.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor - we loved the Bee Eater room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Daintree Wild B&B is probably one of the best accommodations in Daintree. We had the Bee Eater room overlooking the zoo. The room was very spacious and comfortable with satellite TV. There really aren't many places to stay in Daintree and this may have been the most modern. Breakfast was good, but dining wasn't an option when we stayed. At one point, we may have been the only guests and had the zoo to ourselves.

The zoo itself is an excellent collection of native species and all animals are well cared for. My wife and I were drawn to a baby kangaroo that we named Peanut for our stay. We also had the opportunity to accompany Gil for a personal crocodile feeding one morning. When you stay, you have the zoo to yourself at all times. We didn't venture out at night because it was dark and we were just too tired, but the option is there.

One should note that Daintree is slightly isolated and dining is done between 6-8 pm. Bookings are essential because a restaurant may close up early otherwise. You shouldn't expect to drop in to any restaurant in the area at 8 pm and expect to be fed. We highly recommend the 10 minute drive to Daintree Eco Lodge for dinner. We had some of the best meals ever there.

We highly recommend staying at the Daintree Wild. It was a unique experience for animal lovers that we will talk about for years to come. While the zoo is an added bonus, don't overlook the fact that this is one of the best accommodations in all of Daintree. I don't think there is any better value in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a named bird room on the second floor overlooking the zoo. We personally did not see the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWSFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The rooms upstairs here are excellent and breakfast was wonderful. And we were joined by a red tailed black cockatoo that didn't eat too much. A walk in the zoo area is both uplifting and a little sad but I highly recommend it from an educational view point. Definitely a great value stay of 3 nights. The owners were patient when I nearly burnt the place down as I couldn't turn off the toaster....... They are very informative and as an introduction to the animals of the area this is worth doing. So sad that so many birds end up in places like this ....... If only people would drive a little slower .......

Room Tip: Stay in the upper rooms for 20$ extra..... Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My Girlfriend Katherine and I stayed at the zoo on our way back from Cape Trib. The place was absolutely fantastic, the rooms seemed brand new and were very clean, spacious and comfy. We had a fantastic breakfast prepared by Donna every morning. And we spent plenty of time in the zoo, they have a great range of animals and Gill the owner took us along to watch him feed the crocs one morning which was great.

I highly recommend staying at the Wild Zoo, it was a fantastic experience as well as being a nice place to stay with very helpful and knowledgeable staff and owners. We'll definitely be back !

Room Tip: The zoo view rooms definately look nicer, although we didn't go inside the pool rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We thought this would be cool - sleep at the zoo. But we expected the rooms to not be too nice. Boy were we impressed. The room was GREAT! We stayed in one of the bird rooms that faces the zoo. Large room and large bathroom as well.
Breakfast was pretty basic, but we stayed there for the animals.

It was really neat to walk the grounds at night (with a flashlight) and see all of the nocturnal animals out and about. Find the crocs by their glowing eyes. Hear the owls. See the wallabies.

Then we walked during the day to see the other animals. Early AM the roos get fed and come out. Good time to get close. But if you get the food sacks ($2) they will come.

We were impressed with the size/quality of the zoo. The hosts were very friendly.

Just note that food options are limited. We ate at the Daintree Eco lodge one day and in Port Douglas on the other.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bstrvl55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daintree
0.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.2 mi away
Daintree Village Hideaway B&B
14.6 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
3.5 mi away
Daintree Valley Haven
Daintree Valley Haven
#3 of 5 in Daintree
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
6.1 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast

Property: Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2054 Daintree Road, Daintree, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Daintree
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Daintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property consists of 4 poolside bed & breakfast family rooms with shared bathroom facilities and 5 luxurious en-suite rooms overlooking zoo. The accommodation is located inside our wildlife zoo of over 100 species of Australian animals. Entry is discounted by 50% for our guests who can enjoy 24 hour access to the zoo for the duration of their stay - see the nocturnal animals become active at night and have kangaroos greet you at your door in the morning. Breakfast and dinner is served at the on site Mangroves Restaurant. We are located just 5 minutes drive from the beautiful Wonga beach, 15 minutes from the Mossman Gorge, and 30 minutes from Port Douglas. Ferry to Cape Tribulation only 5 minutes away! **Guests who stay for 3 nights can enjoy a FREE Crocodile River Cruise for 2 people**. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Wild Bed And Breakfast Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing