We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Daintree Wild Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Daintree Ecolodge(Daintree)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cow Bay Hotel(Cow Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Tropical Resort(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra On The Inlet(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
38
16
3
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
16
3
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnative animalsfeed the animalsunique experiencetwo nightshuge bedb bcape tribulationdelicious mealshort driveonce in a lifetimedaintree villageevery morningport douglasother guestszoogilvolunteers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 60 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in December 2010 for two nights and thoroughly loved it! We stayed in an Aviary Room which is located on the upper level of the main building and overlooks the zoo - stunning outlook and access to the animals! The rooms were beautifully appointed and the bed was huge and very comfortable. The floors are tiled and have both airconditioning and a ceiling fan allowing you to cool off in the tropic temps! The bathroom was spacious and had an amazing shower. The room also had a tv and small fridge.
Our nightly rate allowed us access to the Zoo which was just incredible! There are raised boardwalks over some of the enclosures allowing you the best view of many enclosures including the crocodiles. The are two walk through aviarys as well as many others throughout the property. Some of the tamer animals roam freely throughout the Zoo so you have the opportunity to feed or pat tree wallabies, kangroos and their joeys and a cheeky emu. The collection of their animals is very impressive and the owners are very helpful at answering any questions you may have.
There is a fully fenced pool on the property that has a shade sail covering half of it so you can cool off in the shade.
The continental breakfast was ample with delicious fresh juice. We ate in the restaurant one evening and food was fresh and generous.
This property is also ideally located in the Daintree only a few kilometers to the Daintree River Car Ferry giving you easy access to Cape Tribulation.
We would highly recommend a night or two here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thelawsons_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

This place is staggeringly beautiful and your hosts are awesome. The zoo itself is the sort of place where you can see the animals welfare is put first and the owners really care about them more than squeezing dollars out of you. For instance, unlike many Queensland zoos, they don't have Koalas up here because it is too hot for them and they die at a young age.
The zoo has countless birds (some of which you can have sitting on your shoulder or walking up your arm), crocs, cassowaries, walk through aviaries, emus etc. It is not crowded and totally worth the drive.
The accomodation is stunning to say the least. To think anythng else you would need to be deranged. Huge beds, beautiful linen, walk-in showers, hand crafted furniture and views across the zoo below. What more could you want?
The restaurant area is lovely and the prices are very reasonable. You can re-visit for three days using the same ticket. Staying here gets you free entry to the zoo. It is a must for any person coming to northern Queensland.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TartanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

My mother and I booked this place online - we'd stayed at the wetlands the night before so I thought I'd stick with an 'animal theme' - so pleased I was being silly at the time. Our stay at the zoo was fantastic and my mother loved the place (she's not that easily pleased). The owners are all about looking after their 'pets' - the many (mostly native) birds, marsupials and the reptiles, crocs inlcuded, but most definitely do not neglect their guests. They're friendly and very down to earth - lovely people.
We stayed in one of the new rooms above the main entrance area. It was spotlessly clean and very airy. Facilities inlcude a large ensuite bathroom (shower & toilet); quiet air-conditioning and ceiling fan; fridge, coffee and tea making facilities (we too found the water to have an awful taste out of the kettle, so used the boiled water from the urn downstairs); and a television, oh, and a very comfy king size bed plus good hanging space, small tables and chairs, and use of the swimming pool. We chose the very simple breakfast of toast, cereals and the home made honey (very good). All this PLUS unlimited zoo access (how often do you get to see owls eating dinner; quolls running about, the wombat not sleeping...) for $130 - very good value indeed! We ate dinner there and the meals were superb and very reasonably priced. My mother is still raving about the Ceaser salad (it really was the best I've ever tasted too). I had a delicious chicken curry. .
The location is ideal makes for an idea base to go exploring north of the daintree river crossing as well as Daintree Village, and the Mossman area.
If you're visiting north Queensland, then stay here or at the very least, stop in and visit the zoo and say hi to the owners.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

I stayed at the zoo for two nights at the end of July with my wife and 14 year old daughter. As with the previous reviews I can confirm the breakfast is excellent with a large range of exotic fruits, cereals, toast, croissants, fruit smoothie and choice of tea or coffee. We had two evenings meals which were both were very good.

I booked this room over the internet having reviewed the other accommodation in Daintree and decided to choose the zoo because of the novelty factor and I am glad that we did.

The rooms are located to the side of the main entrance in a block of single storey accomodation, the four rooms are in line with the bathrooms at one end. We had a family room (No1) which had two beds and plenty of space. Our room was the furthest from the bathroom which was a mere 10 metres away.

The rear entrance of the room leads onto a shared fenced patio area which contains tables and cahirs for each room, the tea making facilities and fridge. Adjacent to the patio is a small free form pool and BarBQ. A gate leads into the zoo and stops the free ranging kangeroos from disturbing the patio furniture.

At the time of our visit a further 4 bedrooms had been built above the main building all with ensuite facilities, but at the time of our visit were not open available to rent.

As the zoo is south of the Daintree ferry it makes an ideal location for visiting the attractions to the south of the river.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontyPonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

The room was so clean and spacious for 5 adults of us, the size of zoo is not very big but the feeling was wonderful to stay so close with the wild animals. The environment of the guest house is quiet and comfortable, it's good to stay there with children. Their home-made honey is delicious.

Only thing is the room without bathroom and many mosquitoes, it's inconvenient when you need to go to the toilet at night,

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hahaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews