We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View - Standard Rooms horrible.”
Review of Seaview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaview Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cooktown
Certificate of Excellence
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Great View - Standard Rooms horrible.”
Reviewed August 25, 2009

This motel dates back to the 1970's and the oldest rooms maintain a definite 40 year old standard. There are different rooms here. I would suggest that unless you like sub-standard 2 star type accommodation only book the deluxe rooms and INSIST ON A NEW ROOM.

My old room was basic. The door had a 25mm gap whiich allowed gheckos in to my room along with insects. There are no insect screens on the windows, no soaps/shampoo, very basic facilites and a very average bed. A tiny wash basin with leaking tap and a grotty old toilet that had been painted over. My room had a plague of sugar ants (this is the tropics). In summary the room had cosmetic upgrades over its long life but really needed a complete renovation.

Pay for the new deluxe rooms built 2006-2007 at $165 or go to the other 2 better motels in town. This place trades on its view. Its a small quiet town - walk to the view from another motel of a 4 star standard

The motel washes their own linen rather than use a professional linen cleaners.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrisbaneNewDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    91
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
81
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mossman
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

we use the seaview motel at least once a year for our annual journey to Cooktown.
Our visit this year was no less wonderful. Although our room and view was fantastic there were a few little things lacking.
We were four in our room but only had a setting for three or less in our kitchenette so we couldn't all have a drink or eat at the same time, which was a bit odd and although a microwave is provided, there was nothing to us in it, no bowls of any kind.
Which did make it a bit difficult to cook a meal.
Even though there were these minor problems we would definitely stay here again and had we actually spoken with management we are sure they would have fixed the problems.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moomoomossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We wanted a view out over the water and we were easily able to get that at the Seaview for $160. Including a nice balcony, great for watching the last of the sunset when you come back down from the hill behind town. The room was very clean, pretty basic motel style but immaculate. The lady who served breakfast was a real sweetie as well, a real character.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DA_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

My wife and I stayed in a room #27 that looked like it had been recently renovated. The property is older, but a fine place to stay while visiting historic Cooktown. The room was very clean, AC worked well, all was quiet, the appointments were attractive, the small fridge and coffee/tea service worked well. Generally a fine 3-star motel. The highlight was a 5-star grassy area ont front with nice lawn furniture and a great view of Cooktown harbor and the surrounding hills. We spent "sundowner" time and dawn enjoying the view (they sell beer, wine, soda in reception). All of downtown Cooktown with a good selection of eating places and the river front park are an easy walk away.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagle1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

Only spent one night at the Seaview, but we were very impressed with the quality of rooms in the new wing. Room was huge with two queen-size beds that were new and very comfy. The bathroom is large with a huge shower (no bath). Motel is on the esplanade with balconies looking out over the Bay. Swimming pool not fantastic, but still OK to cool off. Breakfast (in room) was adequate. There is no restaurant attached to the motel, but we did have an excellent meal at the Bowling Club and there are plenty of other restaurants nearby. Of prime importance was the friendliness of desk staff and their willingness to be of service. My husband was off all day on a fishing charter and I have a bad reaction to sand fly/midgy bites. The motel manager very kindly let me use the room during the day (at no cost) until my husband returned. (We were driving back to Cairns that night and had only booked in for the night before his fishing trip.) I was extremely grateful and I think this was a very nice gesture on their part. Only thing lacking in the room for us was screens on the sliding doors so that we could have left the doors open at night and not had to sleep with the air-con on.

  • Liked — Large rooms, great view, excellent bathroom
  • Disliked — No screens on sliding doors
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2007

i love the location of the seaview hotel, cooktown, with absolutely super views of the endeaviour river.
i stayed there in may, 2006, so was thrilled to be going back for 4 days again this may.2007. my fave rooms are the ones high up that front the river...for $110 per night for 2 double beds is good value. i stayed in room 17 - a lovely view.
what shocked me this time was the bed cover - i arrived tired after the long drive from cairns & noticed a hard crusty mark & went to bed thinking someone had burnt it with a cigarette - it wasnt until the next morning when i was thinking a little more clearly after a nights; sleep that i realised it was feaces - POO!!!
the cleaners were very nice & apologetic & said the owner would probably send us a bottle of wine or something......nothing was sent, not even an apology!

Helpful?
8 Thank mollieCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooktown hotels
0.3 mi away
Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown
0.3 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#1 of 3 in Cooktown
128 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pam's Place
Pam's Place
#5 of 9 in Cooktown
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Milkwood Lodge Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Motel

Property: Seaview Motel
Address: 178 Charlotte St, Cooktown, Cook Shire, Queensland 4895, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cook Shire > Cooktown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cooktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Seaview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Cooktown
Seaview Motel Cooktown, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing