We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views from a comfy Motel”
Review of Seaview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaview Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cooktown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I love visiting Cooktown and enjoying the relaxed atmosphere and soaking up the history of the town. I always stay at the Seaview if I can as it has the best views and is easy walking distance to shops, clubs, pubs and the famous Jetty.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Hi Russell,
Thankyou for your review, and glad that you enjoyed your stay, at the Seaview once again.
And look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Seaview Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 172 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

Comfortable room reasonably priced though quite basic and not over endowed with space however there is plenty of room on the lawn outside. Laundry facilities are available for a few dollar coins. Easy walking distance to all restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IDMillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your time at the Seaview Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great spot to watch all the boats coming and going, view is magnificent.
Fish and chips down the road is also awesome. Take back to your room and enjoy on your private balcony with a glass of wine. We stayed in the deluxe room and it is very roomy, even the bathroom. Noise is not an issue as you cant hear any of the other guests unless you have your door open.

Room Tip: Upper level is more private
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hi Disseee,

Thankyou for your positive feedback.
The views are lovely, and the weather was good for when you where here,
Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The views are amazing! We stayed in a standard room, which I gather are the older rooms. Our room had a spectacular view of the inlet, as do all the rooms. The room itself was basic, but a typical 3 star. Clean and practical with an ok bed.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thankyou for your review.

Glad you enjoyed the spectacular views from the Seaview Motel.
and your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a Standard room on the ground floor. The view of the Endeavour River was great, but the room was quite basic although reasonably priced and clean. We found the bed hard and nowhere comfortable to sit in the evening. The Basic rooms are cheaper and smaller, but have a sink and microwave and arguably a better view from the first floor - go figure! Overall we had a great time in Cooktown.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hurrellclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for your review,
Glad that you enjoyed the lovely view, and your stay in Cooktown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

All I ever want out of a motel is that it is spotlessly clean, well maintained, well located and offers value for money.
This motel comes up trumps.
The room is basic but a reasonable size and everything works
But its location is what makes this place unique. We sat on the well manicured lawns outside our room and had a few coldies a we watched the sunset over the Endeavour River
The staff are friendly and helpful

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank olgazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your kind words.
We glad you enjoyed your stay at the Seaview Motel, and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Old motel in need of renovation. Standard room is very basic, for $. only jug & toaster supplied. Lots of small ants swarming the room. Was hot & stuffy. Suites backpacker type. Smoke detector went off when having a shower & other guest could hang out side of room smoking etc. This was very annoying. When brought to the attention of the staff, they didn't give a dam. So we packed up & found another place which was 100% better.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

After reading your review, we apologise that our Motel did not meet your expectations. However, we did our best to attend to the complaint that was brought to our attention, and it would have been appreciated if reception had been made aware of other issues before your premature departure, so that the problems could have been resolved. The Motel prides itself on its level of service.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooktown hotels
0.3 mi away
Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown
0.4 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#1 of 3 in Cooktown
133 reviews
2.1 mi away
Milkwood Lodge Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pam's Place
Pam's Place
#5 of 9 in Cooktown
44 reviews
16.2 mi away
Mungumby Lodge
Mungumby Lodge
#3 of 9 in Cooktown
42 reviews
0.6 mi away
River of Gold Motel
River of Gold Motel
#3 of 3 in Cooktown
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Motel

Address: 178 Charlotte St, Cooktown, Cook Shire, Queensland 4895, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cook Shire > Cooktown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cooktown
Price Range: $104 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Seaview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Cooktown
Seaview Motel Cooktown, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing