We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for the view ”
Review of Seaview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaview Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cooktown
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stay here for the view ”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a Standard room on the ground floor. The view of the Endeavour River was great, but the room was quite basic although reasonably priced and clean. We found the bed hard and nowhere comfortable to sit in the evening. The Basic rooms are cheaper and smaller, but have a sink and microwave and arguably a better view from the first floor - go figure! Overall we had a great time in Cooktown.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hurrellclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your review,
Glad that you enjoyed the lovely view, and your stay in Cooktown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    93
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
84
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

All I ever want out of a motel is that it is spotlessly clean, well maintained, well located and offers value for money.
This motel comes up trumps.
The room is basic but a reasonable size and everything works
But its location is what makes this place unique. We sat on the well manicured lawns outside our room and had a few coldies a we watched the sunset over the Endeavour River
The staff are friendly and helpful

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank olgazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your kind words.
We glad you enjoyed your stay at the Seaview Motel, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooktown, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Old motel in need of renovation. Standard room is very basic, for $. only jug & toaster supplied. Lots of small ants swarming the room. Was hot & stuffy. Suites backpacker type. Smoke detector went off when having a shower & other guest could hang out side of room smoking etc. This was very annoying. When brought to the attention of the staff, they didn't give a dam. So we packed up & found another place which was 100% better.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
After reading your review, we apologise that our Motel did not meet your expectations. However, we did our best to attend to the complaint that was brought to our attention, and it would have been appreciated if reception had been made aware of other issues before your premature departure, so that the problems could have been resolved. The Motel prides itself on its level of service.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We love staying here when we come to Cooktown as it has the best views in town, rooms are comfortable and the lovcation is very central! Staff are always very helpful and were more than happy to accommodate our needs and even gave me some dish washing liquid! Home away from home :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruiserkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
And glad that you once again enjoyed your stay at the Seaview motel,
and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here for the first time and will definitely come back. Our receptionist was very friendly and we were able to check in at 10am, giving us extra time to swim, enjoy the lovely gardens and the great view of the Endeavour River. Both children continued to comment on the view at all hours of the day...to me that says it all. The rooms were very well presented and comfortable .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind words. Glad we made you and your family's stay enjoyable. It is always nice to get good feedback. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport.Lancashire, England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Very good motel with a super view over the river.
Comfortable bed, serviced daily.
Tea and coffee supplies topped up daily
Clean and comfortable.
Lovely pool and gardens
Would definitely return and do recommend.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeanandlawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We are from NZ and have stayed at this motel on three previous occasions in the past ten years,

The views from the upstairs deluxe room that we pre booked are still as spectacular as we remembered with views over the Endeavour river (not the sea as the title of the property would indicate) and the room with its en suite was clean with a very comfortable bed. But with no cooking facilities whatsoever I feel that at $175 per night is a little overpriced..

However travellers should be aware of the very strict and rigid check-in time of exactly 2.00pm. We arrived at 12.40pm and were immediately told that the room was not ready. The receptionist didn't check on the status of the room but just told us that we would have to go away and come back after 2,00pm as they were very busy. As their website quite clearly states that check-in time is 2,00pm we didn't object but having travelled extensively in this sort of accommodation we thought that our treatment was a bit inflexible as we have found that most establishments will try a lot harder to allow you to check in slightly earlier than the advertised time particularly if they already have your credit card booking which was too late to cancel. As we knew the layout of the motel we drove round the back to where our room entrance was and found that there was no other vehicles whatsoever outside any of the rooms and that all rooms appeared to be ready for occupation as there was no sign of any cleaners. We did not pursue it any further but came back just before 2.00pm and were amazed to be again asked to wait for another five minutes or so until the exact time of 2.00pm when they eventually happily gave us a key.

This type of unfriendly treatment will make us think seriously about coming here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for your review feedback.
We do hope our guests feel welcome on arrival. It is regrettable that you were not satisfied with your check-in time experience on this visit. In the busier season, though, a check-in of 2pm is standard, with more flexibility possible in quieter times.

In reference to inactivity around wings/rooms, it should be mentioned that there can be internal room issues, requiring attention and a time frame, that are not obvious externally.
With respect, it could also be mentioned that guests not yet checked-in are not generally at liberty, unless otherwise advised, to enter or wander around Motel premises.

At the Seaview we do strive for good customer service and endeavour to make our guests' stay pleasant from arrival to departure.

We do appreciate your feedback and, once again with regret, we acknowledge and make note of your dissatisfaction.

With Kind regards,
Seaview Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooktown hotels
0.3 mi away
Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown
0.3 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#1 of 3 in Cooktown
129 reviews
2.1 mi away
Milkwood Lodge Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pam's Place
Pam's Place
#5 of 9 in Cooktown
44 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Motel

Property: Seaview Motel
Address: 178 Charlotte St, Cooktown, Cook Shire, Queensland 4895, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cook Shire > Cooktown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cooktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Seaview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Cooktown
Seaview Motel Cooktown, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing