We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit old and dated but great location, great view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaview Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooktown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cooktown
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bit old and dated but great location, great view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Not luxurious, but basic. This is an adequate motel. Biggest positive is the sunset view over the bay. If travelling from Port Douglas (as most people do), get there in plenty of time to relax watching the sunset. Bottle of wine, some nibbles, sitting in the gardens watching the sun set over the bay. Worth the visit for that. Then take a short walk down the road to one of the bars / restuarants. Not a huge variety to choose from and some may close early if not busy - even the bars (this was a new experience for an Irish couple!).

Small pool which is helpful to cool down in.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Couple-from-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    87
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
78
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nz
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed 1 night in this motel right on the waterfront with great views over the sea. Very comfortable unit, enjoyed the tables and chirs ont he lawn outside our door.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avoca063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

If you want a great, elevated view of Cooktown's Endeavour River mouth, and out to sea, this is really the only place to stay. The price you'll pay for each evening's appointment with the golden sunset over the water is that the motel itself is not particularly luxurious, although it is clean, well appointed and very adequate for the time you'll actually spend there.
There are several grades of rooms, some with self catering and pretty much all with THE VIEW. We stayed in a very spacious two bedroom townhouse with a well-equipped kitchen and two bathrooms. The staff were helpful and the service was very low key -- erratic even -- although the cleaning staff seemed to respond well to what needed to be done, rather than sticking to a set formula.
We arrived on a weekend and there were lots of young families and a large group of Harley Davidson riders installed. I was worried it would be noisy but everyone seemed to get on well and it was quiet by bedtime. Several tour groups also came and went during our visit, with a similar flurry of noise that settled down early.
Cooktown is well worth a visit. We stayed five days but could easily have settled in for a week. If you get the tourist information ahead of time you can plan adventurous activities in the mornings and still fit in some pool/relaxation/town-watching in the afternoons.
I wish I was back there right now!

Room Tip: Talk to the owner about the options
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussiesinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, the location in town is unbeatable with great sunset views over the river estuary from a large balcony (we had one of the delux rooms upstairs), perfect for sundowners. Rooms were clean and tidy with some nice new furniture, basic but excellent value for money. The breakfast room was closed when we were there but the rooms have a toasters and kits were availabe from reception for breakfast in your room.

Everything in town is easy walking distance.

We drove up from Cairns on the sealed road and back via the Bloomfield track (4WD required - we hired one from Cairns) - the Bloomfield track is great and a good introduction to this type of 4WD holiday

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank VixSkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

We travelled to Cooktown from Port Douglas via the inland road.
We had not booked accomodation as with low season, we thought we would go around and picked the best one we liked.
The trip is fantastic. In the rain season I recommend a 4WD. There was an overflown floodway and we had to wait 2 hours for the water levels to drop to 50CM so we could pass in our 4WD. Others had to wait another two hours as they were in sedans.
On arrival in Cooktown we immediately settled for the Seaview motel. The location is superb. Fantastic views over the Endeavour River.
Walking distance from the village where dinner at the RSL is recommended. Great value in a local setting with great atmosphere and pictures on the walls of many historic events.
Also walking distance from Restaurant 1770 for a great breakfast overlooking the river.
The motel rooms are clean with a good powerful shower and beds are comfy.
Management is friendly.
Views are fantastic.
Pool is clean and refreshing.
We recommend this motel for a historic stay in Cooktown.

We drove back via the coastal road and whilst doable, very tricky on one occasion crossing a stream which was a bit deeper than thought....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

We travelled by car from Cairns & it took 3 1/2 hrs, the road is sealed!
Stayed in aroom with a double bed & self contained, not flash but CLEAN! Excellent view of the river, lovely pool! Friendly staff & good price of $120 per nite! show your RACQ card to receive 10% off! They have a fridge that you can purchase alcohol! Go have dinner at the restaurant overlooking the water! Have a beer in one of the local Pubs as the locals are friendly! Visited the lookout where Cpt Cook visited! Overall a lovely w/e, 1 night is enough in Cooktown as there isn't much to do! But well worth the trip!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allisonj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We have just returned from our stay in Cooktown and spent one night at the Seaview Hotel. We booked a room that had one queen and one doube bed, bathroom ( shower only) and a small kitchenette, which suited us perfectly for our one night stay.
I think we stayed in the one of the older rooms (2.5 star), but this was more than compensated by the view we got outside out room ... SPECTACULAR. This is the place to stay if you want to watch the sun set!.
These rooms are basic, but are very clean. It looks like the decore is set in the late 80's, but hey ins't retro coming back into fashion anyway? The beds and pillow are very comfy and I personally had a great nights sleep.There are cheap beers and drinks for sale in the reception area and they offer a great priced breakfast. There is a pool, wihch although small, is clean and perfect to cool off in.
We heard a few grumbles from other visitors about their rooms.., but for $160 per night and a great view what more can you want. If you want this view with the luxury.. stay at Port Douglas and spend $400 per night.
We had a great stay!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janey_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooktown hotels
0.3 mi away
Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown
0.4 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#1 of 3 in Cooktown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pam's Place
Pam's Place
#4 of 9 in Cooktown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Milkwood Lodge Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Motel

Property: Seaview Motel
Address: 178 Charlotte Street, Cooktown, Queensland 4895, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cooktown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cooktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Cooktown
Seaview Motel Cooktown, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing