We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must return”

River of Gold Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River of Gold Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cooktown
Moore Park Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Must return”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Not only great hospitality but quality accommodation. Very clean,tidy and a pleasure to stay in. You know...one of those places you're happy to shower in without wearing thongs! The meals were the best I've ever had and a reasonable price, you have to try the crumbed calamari (I did twice). Very helpful and friendly hosts,thanks guys.

Room Tip: Try the calamari!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
22
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Townsville
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a lovely time. Mick and Lea were fantastic hosts. The meals served at the restaurant were huge and beautifully prepared. We enjoyed sitting around the pool after a day of exploring Cooktown. Great Motel, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsvmummuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooktown, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in one of the fully self contained rooms, very spacious, had all the necessary things for cooking utensils. Great views from front & back veranda's beautiful cross breeze. Wanted to stay longer.
Mick & Lee were fantastic hosts. Will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Mick and staff had a full house for the Cooktown and Cape York Business Conference in February, a month when monsoon heat and rains can produce tropical torpor in this part of the world. Not so at River of Gold Motel where I was treated like a princess with every wish catered for. Thank you. You gave me a great stay! I could not recommend the place more highly!
Christine, Atherton

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Being a plumber the smell that you getting from the bathroom is likely to be coming from the shower floor waste they sometimes dry out the water seal in the trap and allow the smell from the sewer to enter the premise routine topping up is required by turning on the shower for 30seconds each week im sure thats your problem

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylie876, Owner at River of Gold Motel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, however, I am very disappointed that you would wait 9 months to write a review about a problem that no longer exists. The motel has had new owners/managers for 6 months now and any problems such as you describe have been addressed and are no longer a problem. We have worked extremely hard in the past 6 months to build the motel up and have engaged on a major maintenance and repair program. We are also updating the rooms, we have a wonderful restaurant and bar with (we are told) the best meals in town and much more, that's why I find it so disappointing that you would post this review now, 9 months after the fact. I just hope users of Trip Advisor can see that this review is old and should have been done at the time and don't think that this is still the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here in 2010 - we loved it then & we love it more now. A wonderful 3 nights - quiet, peaceful & much enjoyed. Wonderful hosts - nothing a bother. Great restaurant & bar (closed in 2010.) Lovely & clean - pool just so good for a refreshing dip. Easy walk to shops & other eateries - we shall be back!!! Thank you so much Mick & Lyn - we appreciated all your hard work to make those staying with you have a wonderful time

Room Tip: We prefer a ground floor room so we don't have to get our cases etc upstairs, but I know Mick &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Qld, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in a family room over the school holidays. We could have cooked although as the food in the restaurant was so fantastic, we chose not to. You must try the calamari schnitzel with garlic prawns!
The rooms are basic but very clean and the hospitality second to none. Easy walk to the supermarket and shops. A nice bar table by the lovely pool. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca061970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooktown hotels
0.3 mi away
Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown
0.3 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#1 of 3 in Cooktown
129 reviews
1.6 mi away
Milkwood Lodge Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pam's Place
Pam's Place
#5 of 9 in Cooktown
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#2 of 3 in Cooktown
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River of Gold Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River of Gold Motel

Property: River of Gold Motel
Address: Hope Street | P.O. Box 392, Cooktown, Cook Shire, Queensland 4895, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cook Shire > Cooktown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cooktown
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The river of Gold Motel is situated in the centre of Cooktown with beautiful views across to the mighty Endeavour River. We cater for both business and pleasure. Our restaurant "Annan's" has seating for fifty as well as poolside dining in a tropical setting. Our unique and internationally acclaimed Stone grill dining along with a comprehensive A La Carte menu will have you returning over and over. Annan's also offers in house and outside catering for conferences and meetings. We are also very happy to cater for your pre booked luncheon whether it be business or birthday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your River of Gold Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Of Gold Motel Cooktown, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing