We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

River of Gold Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River of Gold Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cooktown
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed overnight at the River of Gold motel as other preferred options were booked out. It is a very basic motel and it lived down to our expectations. There was a terrible smell in the bathroom. The couple running the motel were friendly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kylie876, Owner at River of Gold Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I find it disappointing that people make comments like this, without having said anything to the people running the motel first. We have only just purchased the motel and are implementing a programme of upgrading, maintenance and general tidying up. We have a great new menu and the restaurant is open for dinner and breakfast. The response to our meals has been fantastic, in fact we have been told over and over again that they are the best in town. Our rooms are not basic by any means, they are a normal standard and normal size motel room and good quality for the price. Look forward to you giving us another go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
22
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whyanbeel, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Having travelled to Cooktown many times over the past twelve months and stayed in three of the other motels I can honestly say River of Gold has it all. Centrally located within easy walking distance to the Supermarket and main street.Rooms were clean, crisp white sheets, great steak at the restaurant what more could you ask for. I have no problem recommending River of gold and will happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dam19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glass House Mountains, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This was not a holiday motel. From the reviews I expected basic, but the room was positively cell-like, with only tge louvred by the door and one other tiny window, it was also dark and very smelly. The rooms were clean and bedding and towels spotless, but the smell was so obvious and since there was a plug-in air freshener in the bathroom I guess they knew there was a problem. However, once I explained the problems the owner/manager was very helpful and pleasant. I really thought hard about writing a negative review as the people were lovely, but it is only fair to let other travellers know that, the standard rooms at least, are very, very basic, and expensive at $115 a night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharonp1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was the perfect moderately priced place to stay one night in Cooktown, staff were friendly and a very clean, relaxed and quiet place to stay. Room had everything we needed and swimming pool was good. Good atmosphere and lots of parking. Nothing fancy but still a good amount of effort has been put into the place. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oyster86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoyed ou time in Cooktown and the motel was ok. The rooms are a credit to the cleaners but the owner/ manager might need a lesson in customer service. Can't comment on the restaurant as it apparently doesn't open any more and the pub down the corner he sent us to was terrible but the pizza ac

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallycools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We only stayed one night, but found the motel to be very clean and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Plenty of on-site parking and even though it was fully booked,it was very quiet at night. Located just up the hill from the start of the main street. We visited the James Cook Museum and Grassy Hill. It was amazing, standing on the hill where Captain James Cook once stood, taking in the view of the surrounding reefs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayyzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was a gem after a long road trip A very clean and quiet motel situate off the main street of Cooktown within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and hotels. Although limited for choices in Cooktown, this motel is well presented with friendly staff. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilK049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooktown hotels
0.3 mi away
Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown
0.3 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#1 of 3 in Cooktown
129 reviews
1.6 mi away
Milkwood Lodge Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pam's Place
Pam's Place
#5 of 9 in Cooktown
44 reviews
15.5 mi away
Mungumby Lodge
Mungumby Lodge
#3 of 9 in Cooktown
40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#2 of 3 in Cooktown
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River of Gold Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River of Gold Motel

Property: River of Gold Motel
Address: Hope Street | P.O. Box 392, Cooktown, Cook Shire, Queensland 4895, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cook Shire > Cooktown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cooktown
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The river of Gold Motel is situated in the centre of Cooktown with beautiful views across to the mighty Endeavour River. We cater for both business and pleasure. Our restaurant "Annan's" has seating for fifty as well as poolside dining in a tropical setting. Our unique and internationally acclaimed Stone grill dining along with a comprehensive A La Carte menu will have you returning over and over. Annan's also offers in house and outside catering for conferences and meetings. We are also very happy to cater for your pre booked luncheon whether it be business or birthday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your River of Gold Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Of Gold Motel Cooktown, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing