We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel room on the edge of town”
Review of Pam's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pam's Place
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice motel room on the edge of town”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in one of the private rooms. Room was clean with aircon and modern ensuite. Comfy beds. Staff friendly. Gave us a map of area with the key things to see. We wanted to see the museum and the powder room so it was a good help.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
15
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed in two motel units over a weekend and really enjoyed being an easy walk from everything Cooktown has to offer. Both double rooms were spotless and our ensuite bathroom was newly remodeled and lovely. The motel is at one end of the property and the hostel at the other--we didn't get to see the hostel so can't comment on it. The price was reasonable and the location on a quiet side street was pleasant. The owner was helpful when it came to recommendations for restaurants for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowcatsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

What a fantastic property, lush green gardens, nice cool pool with plenty shade, fantastic welcomeming owners, love the birds, location is good as it is slightly away from the town centre, away from the pubs and noise of a Friday and Saturday night,. We only stayed for 3 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The only draw back was not being able to use either the washing machine or cloth lines until after midday. If we are ever back up that way we will most certainly stay at Pam's Place again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onthemove062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I slept there only one night, but felt welcomed and had a nice room. I don't know if all the rooms are like the one I got, or maybe I was upgraded...I went for the dorm share, 25$/ night (YHA member), and got a nice cosy room with space, 1 fridge, air con, and only 2 bed in there! Pam's Place is like a big garden area around which the rooms are standing. There is a shelter for warm days. The kitchen looked good, though I went to eat in town. Maybe it's better you have a car to get to Pam'Place but more to hang around Cooktown...be sure you go to Grass Hill, the road is brand new (of course still steep!) and the view there is just amazing (I went 3 times in 24 hours...go for sunset!)
I thoroughly recommend this place! and try to stay at least 2 days in Cooktown, I regret I only had one day...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sopaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2010

The Place is located in walking distance to the town centre and oceanfront. All rooms were clean and nicely decorated. We cooked in the communal kitchen, which had all cooking utensils and fridges provided. The owner of the hostel was not only very kids friendly, but helped us with all queries we had. The Cooktown to Cairns shuttle service picks you up from Pam`s and you can purchase tickets at their office.
Great stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCSDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We booked to self contained rooms, which were not big, but clean and the airco worked fine.
Nothing fancy, but nice atmosphere. It's a short walk to the waterfront, and on the way you have seen almost everything there is to see in Cooktown. We spent a great afternoon near the water, where everybody was fishing. My husband got fishing lessons from the miniature Rex Hunt.
We took Willie's Guurrbi tour the next morning, and loved it.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Room was a bit small
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2007

Pam's Place in Cooktown offers the whole range of options: from the completely self-contained villa to a bed in a dormitory. It's a lively and friendly place with guests from all walks of life and many different countries adding to the interesting atmosphere. Scottie is a relaxed and generous host and it's just as likely that you'll meet him cooling off in the beautiful pool as behind the reception desk. I took a single room which was spacious, clean and air-conditioned as well as fan-cooled and equipped with a refrigerator. On arrival I was given a box of crockery and cutlery for my exclusive use which was a nice change from self-cook facilities in other places where I always had to hunt for some decently clean equipment. The kitchen was very spacious and offered individual storage space. The toilet and shower block was spotlessly clean, no doubt thanks to the untiring efforts of Yanky John, the resident factotum. There was a billiard room and a TV lounge and two internet terminals as well as a large communal room. The whole thing is set in beautifully landscaped grounds with their own cooler micro-climate created by big shadetrees. The whole place is great value for money! Beam me up, Scottie!
P.S. The attached picture is of Yanky John. Say hello to him from Peter when you see him!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank tongatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooktown hotels
0.7 mi away
Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown
0.8 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#1 of 3 in Cooktown
128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Milkwood Lodge Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#2 of 3 in Cooktown
168 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Pam's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pam's Place

Property: Pam's Place
Address: Cnr Boundary & Charlotte St, Cooktown, Cook Shire, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cook Shire > Cooktown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Cooktown
Hotel Class:3 star — Pam's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pam's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pam's Place Cooktown, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing