We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cooktown
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Pretty good overall”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The sovererign Hotel in Cooktown was good the pool was loverly, However the Blankets were hard and not a bit comfy the air con went on and off every 5 mins or it seemed so untill we turned it off toget some sleep .
The breakfast area was loverly to eat and overlook the street and river beyond. just some soft comfy blankets and the whole experience would be great

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    102
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
45
122
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The resort is very spread out so some rooms take a bit more effort to get to. Rooms are on several levels with quite a few stairs to some. We enjoyed the meals. There is a good view from the dining room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietriptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We didn't expect facilities as terrific as this in a small town! The Sovereign Resort is modern, clean, beautiful and makes for a fun stay away. It's central, the restaurant is gorgeous and the pub downstairs is a cool place to hang out and chat with locals and other visitors. Our one bedroom apartment was spacious and contemporary. The staff are super friendly, and prices excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We sat in the bar and had a drink while soaking in the atmosphere - a fundraising noight for one of the locals who had found themselves in hospital and needed support. A local community in action and we were glad to help. Then it was dinner on the balcony while the band continued below. A delicious meal as we watched the sun go down across the Endeavour River estuary. There was ample choice on the regular menu, a specials board with several choices that proved to be very satisfying. All in all it was a good place to eat and drink.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WombatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
289 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had lunch here with friends who recommended this as the best pub in Cooktown. Well we were not disappointed. We shared seafood platters for two all round and they were delicious. The calamari melted in your mouth and was so fresh. It also had prawns, fresh barramundi, chips and salad. This was just a quick stop on our way travelling to Cape York. We sat outside and enjoyed the view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annetr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Visiting Cooktown, staying at The Seaview, and were looking for a nice place for dinner on our first night. The 'half' Sovereign [you'd get the pun if you've been there] looked quite well maintained so we decided on dinner. Very limited menu; very MasterChef if you're into that - and we're not. Wines were expensive considering it is a PUB and service was slow. Our meals were nothing to rave about. Have had worse meals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hickster122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

As I write this, the music from the downstairs bar is blaring into our room. This will continue until very late tonight if last night is anything to go by.

The resort itself is nice enough, and the rooms seem ok, although we seem to be missing pieces of furniture from our room - we have chairs inside and out, yet no tables at all (just big gaps where they used to be) to sit at.

The service in the balcony bar is ordinary. And don't get me started on the clientele in the downstairs bar!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samstar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooktown hotels
0.2 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#1 of 3 in Cooktown
125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pam's Place
Pam's Place
#5 of 9 in Cooktown
43 reviews
1.8 mi away
Milkwood Lodge Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#2 of 3 in Cooktown
165 reviews
15.8 mi away
Mungumby Lodge
Mungumby Lodge
#2 of 9 in Cooktown
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown

Property: Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown
Address: Corner of Charlotte and Green Streets | PO Box 100, Cooktown, Cook Shire, Queensland 4895, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cook Shire > Cooktown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cooktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Hotel Cooktown
Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing