We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mungumby Lodge(Cooktown)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pam's Place(Cooktown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
125
123
36
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
123
36
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalcony restaurantthe main streetthe pubbottle shopbedroom apartmentsmall towncomfortable roomsthe ground floorreception staffmiddle of townplace to stayprawnst bone steakfree wifipool arealive bandlovely resort
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 296 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had lunch here with friends who recommended this as the best pub in Cooktown. Well we were not disappointed. We shared seafood platters for two all round and they were delicious. The calamari melted in your mouth and was so fresh. It also had prawns, fresh barramundi, chips and salad. This was just a quick stop on our way travelling to Cape York. We sat outside and enjoyed the view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank annetr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Visiting Cooktown, staying at The Seaview, and were looking for a nice place for dinner on our first night. The 'half' Sovereign [you'd get the pun if you've been there] looked quite well maintained so we decided on dinner. Very limited menu; very MasterChef if you're into that - and we're not. Wines were expensive considering it is a PUB and service was slow. Our meals were nothing to rave about. Have had worse meals.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank hickster122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

As I write this, the music from the downstairs bar is blaring into our room. This will continue until very late tonight if last night is anything to go by.

The resort itself is nice enough, and the rooms seem ok, although we seem to be missing pieces of furniture from our room - we have chairs inside and out, yet no tables at all (just big gaps where they used to be) to sit at.

The service in the balcony bar is ordinary. And don't get me started on the clientele in the downstairs bar!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samstar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our son was working in Cooktown for a short period, so the rest of the family (3 adults) were looking for 2 bedroom & 2 bathrooms in town. Our son had a quick inspection of the Seaview and The Sovereign, and recommended this place. We were in unit 105 - ground floor on the main street. Both bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms, kitchen is minimal with microwave, bar fridge, toaster, kettle and sink. The ground floor units have complete screens around each unit, so private from the street and other units. The unit was very clean with only the occasional tiny spider on the ceiling, no mould, so full marks to the cleaners. Not sure how old the hotel is, but everything seemed reasonably new. Floors are polished concrete (at least in the ground floor units), which make a lot of sense in the tropics.
Nice resort style pool, not huge, but more than adequate. There's a gas BBQ at the pool which we used a few times.
Minor things to note -
While we were there in late Jan/early Feb, there were some renovations going on in the hotel section next door. However this didn't cause us any issues.
Car parking is mainly on the street in front of the units. There is a bit of off street parking, but the parks near the street units is fairly tight and not worth the effort if you have a largish car.

If you need 2 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms, I'd say these are a good choice.

Room Tip: If you want a view, the best unit is on the north east street corner. Ground floor units on the street have no view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PealBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Cooktown is probably the last major town in the tropical North West of Australia as you can get. It is therefore a remote location.

This is a real gem of a property & the fact that the owners have kept it in such good condition given this is in the tropics after all is a very good thing.

Location is on the Main Street of Cooktown.

Reception is good & the staff are very helpful.
Rooms are clean, modern & the air conditioning works a treat! For this who are used to the tropics & only want a fan there is one of these in the room too.

Breakfast is nothing flash but is acceptable.

There is a nice side resort pool as well.

I would come back again without hesitation.

HINT: there is a very unique gift shop almost across the road called Croc Shop Cooktown Souvenirs Tel: (07)40695880 run by Linda Rowe and I bought a whole heap of very unique made in Australia items such as an Aboriginal carved rain stick. Had tried to write a review of this but Trip Advisor seems to only want to review hotels, restaurants & attractions who, they can ask for marketing dollars from. Hopefully it does not go too far down this track or I may have to find somewhere else to share my reviews.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews