We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Hospitable and Helpful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooktown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Gosford, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Hospitable and Helpful”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

As a disabled patron, the Park did all it could to accommodate me and even moved me to a different cabin after I found it difficult to sleep in a cabin too close to general facilities where there was a great deal of family activity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maws98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    40
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
52
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Big 4 Holiday Park in Cooktown is a great tourist park. Friendly service, clean, well maintained and great facilities. The bathroom facilities were better than most , there was a large amenities block that consisted of ensuite style rooms each with shower, sink and toilet all in the one room. The actual grounds were beautiful and each site was a generous size. We were very happy to stay there and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwiwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights in this park in a Cabin. It was quite expensive but as it is high "Grey Nomad" season I guess it was to be expected. As the road from Cairns to Cooktown is now bitumen all the way it is a long but easy trip for any car. Vans and RV's can do it easily which is why the park was full of all types of tow along accommodation.. The staff were absolutely great. So friendly and helpful. The information pack is such a wonderful extra. Lots more parks should take a leaf out of this parks "extras". Thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Cabin 3 is a little noisy as there is a "speed dip" right beside it so it is bump bump all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorraineD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesea, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We travelled in July ,which is high season. The park was full all the time, which is a good indication of satisfaction. It is a long road to Cooktown and this park is a great place to wind down. Great pool area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharptraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed on a powered site for two nights but wish it could have been longer. It was a lovely park with roomy powered sites . The modern ensuite style amenities were great and I did like the concept of having a couple of toilet only bathrooms at the end of each block. Most parks don't have this and if you are only wanting the loo and some-one is in the shower it can be very inconvenient. The staff were very friendly and helpful and guided us to our site as well. Some one had told me that I would be bitten by sand flies, but this never happened. Maybe it depends on the time of the year that you are there that this happens. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Cooktown is really the last outpost and to find a park such as this was quite pleasing. The cabin was a good size, clean and well appointed. The staff were great. There were relieving managers and they are to be complimented on the servcie they provided. Jenny was the lady, but I dont recall her husbands name.
The park is just a short walk from town, is shady and has good facilities.
My wife left her hat there when we left and we received a phone call from Jenny telling us that the hat was there. We asked them to hold it for us until we got home (about 3 weeks later) and when we phoned to say to send it, it was packed and sent without delay. Great service. Thanks
Cooktown has some interesting attractions. We did Willie's tour (a must), visited the museum, Grassy Hill, Had a feed and drink at the Top Pub as well as the Soverieign resort and coffee and breakfast at Capers cafe.
A great experience and made that much better by the Big 4 Caravan park

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandybillc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHPManager, Manager at BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park. Your positive feedback is certainly passed on to all staff members. The team is here to make your stay as memorable as possible and when someone goes the extra mile to help out, it is always a bonus.
Cooktown, which is steeped in History, has much to offer the travellers to the Region.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Cooktown in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have stayed in Cooktown at least 12 times and every time have camped at the Big4 in Cooktown. Over the years the prices have increased and I've watched the prices go up with a cringe.

The reasons I keep coming back are simple: the amenities are clean and tidy and some of the best I've come across on camp sites. The camp kitchen is large, lots of chairs and tables, fridge, 3 hot plate cooking areas and gas stove. The pool is large and nice. The showers (unisex) and clean, warm running water and in good condition. A very safe campground and I've never had any issues with noise.

I do however recommend against camping around camp site 45 should it have rained as it can get very muddy on that side of the camp ground. Last time I stayed I couldn't put the tent up as the grounds were so muddy and choose to sleep in the car instead. Would have been nice to be able to swap sites however I was told the others sites were booked.

I would suggest to add more light to the pathways as it can get very dark when you try and find your way to your tend from the camp kitchen. Take a torch until then.

Overall, a more expensive camping experience however you do get very good amenities for it. Hope the prices don't go up more.

Room Tip: After the rain, stay away from sites near 45, as they are rather muddy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zullli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooktown hotels
0.8 mi away
Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown
0.9 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#1 of 3 in Cooktown
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pam's Place
Pam's Place
#5 of 9 in Cooktown
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milkwood Lodge Rainforest Retreat
1.1 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#2 of 3 in Cooktown
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park

Property: BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park
Address: 31 - 41 Charlotte St, Cooktown, Cook Shire, Queensland 4895, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cook Shire > Cooktown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Cooktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooktown Holiday Park is situated in 8 acres of lush tropical award winning gardens. A variety of accommodation from motel, cabins and villas to large campsites, accommodating tents, caravans and large motorhomes - we are RV friendly. A modern amenities block, a large shaded swimming pool adjacent to our camp kitchen voted one of the best in Australia. FREE Wi-Fi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
BIG4 Cooktown Holiday Park Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing