We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet B&B with lovely host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillcrest Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Cooktown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sweet B&B with lovely host”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hillcrest Guest House. We only stayed one night but Katrina made us feel completely at home. She picked us up from the airfield, gave us a little tour of the town and provided us with some excellent tips for short walks to explore the area. The room was beautifully decorated and comfortable and meticulously clean. Same goes for the shared bathroom - you could have eaten of the floor. The house is located on a hill in short walking distance to the little town centre. We had breakfast on the terrace overlooking the garden before Katrina dropped us at the airfield the next morning. Would happily stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    29
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
58
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a great stay at Hillcrest and were made to feel very comfortable. Katrina was extremely caring and kind and went out of her way to make us feel at home. The guest house was spotless, and the only slight downside was sharing the toilets and showers a few metres down the hall. Loved sitting in the garden and sharing the environment with the birds and other local wildlife.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Katrina Wright has done a wonderful job at creating an ambience of welcome, charm, history and comfort. Quiet, cool and family friendly, this is the place to go for a "home away from home" stay at the base infamous Grassy Hill. VERY clean and spacious rooms with either ensuited or share bathroom facilities available, the tea and coffee making facilities in every room are nothing compared to the central heart of the home - the shared kitchen. Katrina's breakfast fruit salad, yoghurt and breads were amazing and you will not be hungry afterward! An absolute surprise and highlight for me was the size of the shower heads! They are HUGE <3 I will go back and will also make use of the event venue facilities and catering available as of next year. Find Hillcrest on Facebook too for more pictures and unsolicited comments. https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hillcrest-Guest-House/404277343025607?fref=ts

Thank you, Katrina. It was wonderful to spend time with you again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Junk-Wave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hillcrest is a meticulously renovated queenslander with spacious, tastefully decorated, faultlessly clean guest rooms. Self contained studios are also available. The guest house is in the perfect location at the base of grassy hill within easy walking distance of the waterfront and Main Street. Katrina and Ray are the perfect hosts, I could not fault our stay here. Breakfast of homemade banana bread, assorted breads, pastries and cereals as well as freshly prepared tropical fruit salads and local coffee is to die for. The guesthouse features a great swimming pool and awesome outdoor entertaining area where you can spend the day snoozing or reading on a comfy daybed. Do yourself a favour and book a stay at Hillcrest should you find yourself in Cooktown.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great and there are rooms with additional bunk beds etc if you are travelling w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location, wonderfully clean, peaceful, attractive tropical gardens and space. Not to mention Tracy, the extremely friendly 'fill in ' host while Katrina was in Cairns. We used the very well presented communal kitchen and BBQ to cook the steaks we bought and sat around the pool not seeing a soul. That night we watched the rugby on the large outside tv in the balmy heat. The following night we had fish and chips on the jetty watching the locals try to catch fish.
The Cooktown museum,lookout at Grassy Hill and Botanical Gardens were all very good.
Memorable 2 nights.

Room Tip: Recommend all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tastraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I recently had a short stay at Hillcrest and totally enjoyed it. The accommodation is excellent with good clean facilities and lots of areas to relax. Katrina was the perfect host; friendly, helpful and efficient. Loved this placed. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The studio is roomy and comfortable. ..and has everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy1534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed two nights at The Hillcrest Guest House earlier this month. We could have stayed much longer! Katrina was a delightful host and the rooms, garden and swimming pool were just beautiful. Breakfasts consisted of home-made freshly baked fruit bread and delicious home-made paw paw mousse as well as a generous selection of cereal, yoghurt, juice and toast. Would highly recommend. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LupeAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooktown hotels
0.2 mi away
Sovereign Resort Hotel Cooktown
0.8 mi away
Pam's Place
Pam's Place
#5 of 9 in Cooktown
44 reviews
1.9 mi away
Milkwood Lodge Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#2 of 3 in Cooktown
166 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Guest House

Property: Hillcrest Guest House
Address: 130 Hope St, Cooktown, Cook Shire, Queensland 4895, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cook Shire > Cooktown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cooktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillcrest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Guest House is an original Queenslander built in 1880. The house has recently been renovated to create a cool, welcoming feel, with original polished timber floors and beautiful tropical gardens. All rooms upstairs are shared facilities, there is also a kitchen and laundry which guests are welcome to use. There is one self contained unit and three en-suite units - detached from the house. The swimming pool is 9 metres long and was the first swimming pool in Cooktown where the school children were taught to swim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hillcrest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Guest House Cooktown, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing