We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An interesting place with a good restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gidgee Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gidgee Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Cloncurry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“An interesting place with a good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

An interesting complex built in part with recycled materials, the rooms were spacious, well furnished with most of the facilities that one would expect in a country motel. There is a large restaurant as part of the motel complex with a variety of offerings; the focus with many of other visitors that have commented has been the steaks that certainly were good although the four in our group did not share the superlatives by some other visitors commenting in this forum and thought that they were somewhat overpriced. Certainly a place to stay again in a future visit bit it will be worth exploring some of the other eating places in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geodali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    46
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
34
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed for one night en route Brisbane and would have done the same on the return trip but the hotel was full booked. The rooms (2) were fine, albeit not cheap, but tortally clean and comfortable. The restaurant was absolutely superb, two of our party had steaks which they declared were the best ever, I had a chicken dish and made the mistake, or not, of choosing a fresh mushroom sauce with it- they did as ordered and joined in the hilarity when I christened the dish "Chicken A La Bitumen" it did not look too flash but melted in the mouth. The Wine menu was a mite overpriced but the house wine very acceptable. Restaurant staff charming, efficient and immensely cheerful. A very good meal which makes you forget the prices. The place is a bit special due to its mainly rammed earth brick construction, the restaurant a bit cavernous still the food was excellent. Did'nt have time for breakfast but one would always go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydnpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

At $155 per night for a double room, this place is hardly good value with its paper thin pillows, barely-there tv reception and tired rooms.
However, the attitude of the owner/manager was the worst I've ever come across. We had a dessert sent to our room which consisted of a mass produced cold caramel tart, cream from an aerosol can and caramel ice cream topping (aka butterscotch sauce, allegedly). When checking out I mentioned to the receptionist that the dessert was very ordinary, who then promptly told me that I was wrong and that it was really nice. The owner heard this conversation, strolled over and loudly declared 'I don't give a [--]'. He went on to tell me that he owns many motels which are all successful, his restaurant is regularly booked out and that he 'doesn't give a [--] what I think' and proceeded with a quite aggressive and bullying rant declaring his opinion of my opinion. He swore at me many times and stated that he doesn't care / doesn't give a [--] on several occassions. It was quite astonishing, I've never encountered such a display in customer service before.
We then went and had brekky at a lovely locally owned cafe (Cuppa's - you rock) which sweetened our previously unsavoury experience at the Gidgee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Davina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

After a recent trip it was decided to stay at the Gidgee - have stayed before but the restaurant wasn't open the previous trip.

Food ordered was cooked to perfection, rib eye on the bone and accompanying sides from the nearby bay marie was plentiful and very tasty.

A very nice meal followed by a great room, spacious and clean as well as noiseless due to being back off the main road as I had a back unit.

Room Tip: Pick a back unit if available - have never stayed in front units but road trains may be a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the best accommodation in town if you are going for a short stay. The only downside is there is no kitchen.

The food is the best in town and the steak is pretty amazing. Friendly staff and close to town but not too close that its noisy.

Don't put clothes on the bathroom floor as cleaners tend to use a whole lot of bleach - but at least you know its clean.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms that have doors to go outside onto the "patio". They are a bit bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed in a motel room for one night on a road trip. The construction is interesting and lends a nice vibe to the place. The red rammed earth walls look good and the air conditioner was quiet and effective. Large room and very large bathroom. Unfortunately the bathroom smelt a bit and was let down by detail. Some fittings were still present from what was obviously meant to be a towel rail (would have been useful) and the walls were marked. The beds were comfortable. We went to use the pool but found a sign on the gate saying it was closed due to vandalism and to enter at your own risk! The room had a good size flat screen tv and a table with chairs. We didn't eat at the restaurant as it was too expensive for us.
The property as a whole is lovely and feels welcoming. Would stay again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank YellowDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The rooms are nice and the story behind the construction is a good one.. The rooms are spacious and very nicely appointed. The meals in the restraunt are good as well however the prices are excessive( Who pays an extra $3 for Dianne Sauce) compared to other similar class motel/restraunts in nearby regions and servings were not what you would call generous in size. I was very impressed with the rooms right up untill the point where we had to pay our bill. I had a simple request to split the billing to which i was treated so rudely and arrogantly. They way in which Mary Kate spoke to us was nothing short of appalling and when I made it clear I was not impressed with her attitude she simple said ' Dont Stay here Then" I was DISGUSTED ... I travel for work right through out Qld and have never ever been treated so poorly... I explained to her that this had not presented any problem at any other establishment along our journey.. She replied with " This is not anywhere else this is the Gidgee Inn" as if to claim it was like the Taj or something...
The Gidgee Inn is NOTHING SPECIAL and I will not stay there again. Overpriced and underserved.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TVLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cloncurry hotels
15.3 mi away
Discovery Parks - Cloncurry
Show Prices

Been to Gidgee Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gidgee Inn Motel

Property: Gidgee Inn Motel
Address: Matilda Highway | Intersection of Railway St & McIlwraith St, Cloncurry, Queensland 4824, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cloncurry
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cloncurry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gidgee Inn Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A touch of 4 star outback luxury! Cloncurry's premier destination for accommodation, dining and functions. 40 spacious rooms including Executive, Queen and Twin with ceiling fan and air-conditioning. Cool down at the end of a hot day in our crystal clear, salt water pool with BBQ facilities. Relax, enjoy your meal and take in the atmosphere in our open plan jarrah timber and rammed earth inn. We strive to make every visit a unique and enjoyable experience. Whether it be a business or social event, we offer a range of room, equipment and catering options to suit your requirements. We are committed to making your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Gidgee Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing