We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chinchilla Downtown Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chinchilla Downtown Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Chinchilla
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great room ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I love this place I stay the rooms are fresh and clean and big. Great night sleep to be had . My only complaint is they open there restaurant for breakfast only when they are in the mood. I've stayed there 8-9 times and it's been open twice. First time was a Buffett second time it was on order only. Other times on check in I got told if I want breakfast they can give me cereal to take back to my room. Apart from that great place

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheMatanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
1
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this motel in April 2014 and observed it is either new or been renovated. The room was certainly modern compared to some Australian country town motels, but the price of $199.50 a night is simply ridiculous. Speaking to a number of people who class themselves as locals, seemed to be well aware of the motel 'rip off' prices and put it down to the large mining industry population in Chinchilla. Be aware, the price I have mentioned is only for the room and your asked to obtain your own small bottle of milk from the reception fridge. The price does not include breakfast. Overall, a clean modern style room with poor room noise insulation - you clearly hear other room occupants banging and clanging. Be warned, if you stay at a motel at Chinchilla, be prepared to pay the same if not more for a room than you might in the city. Purely out of principal, my next business visit will be organised so I am able to travel home the same day - Mr Chinchilla Greed is not getting my hard earned money.

Room Tip: Enquire with other motels to see if you can obtain a better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RtjL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I couldn't ask for a nicer place to stay, and when you consider this place is out bush (out in the country), well, it's an absolute gem.

The room and the bed were HUGE - King size bed in a room large enough to not make it looked crowded or cramped. Extra pillows in the wardrobe are a little luxury which not many places offer.

There is a little kitchenette with a microwave to reheat meals (no cooking allowed), with crockery and cutlery provided as well.

There was also a lounge (couch, sofa), coffee table, work desk with chair, big plasma (or LED, I'm not good at this stuff) television, and a fabulous bathroom with a huge shower and twin vanity sinks.

Spotlessly clean, which impresses me no end, as well as no road noise to make for an easy, uninterrupted sleep.

The only suggestion I could possibly make is to improve the coffee in the room. I'm sorry to say that international roast is not coffee, and it was a choice of this or decaf. Otherwise, this place is a real treat that I will come back to and highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecnalubma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Travelling on Business. The rooms are very, very spacious. Small kitchenette area, including a sink, small fridge, microwave. Big plasma, lounge area, and free wired internet access, with good speeds.
The bathroom is really nice, really well laid out as well.
The area is quite; note this is no where near the Warrago highway, which is what you need, as the noise from the trucks is massive.
It is very close to a number of eating options, including the Club, which is the main hotel in town. The Indian next door is also very good.
Just down the road is the municipal pool and gym; the gym is only $5 entry, and very well equipped. It can get busy, so you need to work out a good time to be there.
People at the front desk are very friendly as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The biggest hotel room I have ever stayed in fantastic plasma TV (huge). Loved the KING sized bed..... Downside no bath to relax in......... The Staff were very friendly and could not be more helpful. Clean and fresh....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunday2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We found the hotel itself to be very clean, fresh, spacious and easy to find. Check in was easy and the man was helpful and friendly. The biggest issue we had was other tennants who spent hours during both afternoons sitting just outside our door in what appeared to be the communal smoking area located in front of the rooms. They were arguing and swearing so loudly that it made it impossible to relax and enjoy a quiet afternoon in our room and we had the keep the window shut so as to keep the stench out and use the blanket on the door bottom. It is a shame that no effort was made by the management to change this. We could even hear the carry on from the car par behind the motel when we visited for shoppong so I guess you had to be deaf not to hear it. The dozens of butts left on the ground even in front of our room made it a very unattractive area. The musical chair parking was also an issue for us as our room spot seemed very popular, and even when queried with the receptionist she said the numbered parks didn't matter as everyone just hehe parked where they wanted.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kar558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Pretty much all you could ask for in a motel. Clean quiet and spacious in the rooms. Modern decor, small fridge and a sink. Large shower. My only gripe was a lack of wifi, but there are LAN ports in the rooms. Really can't fault it otherwise. Perfect for business travel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chinchilla hotels
1.0 mi away
Stonewood Villas
Stonewood Villas
#7 of 10 in Chinchilla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chinchilla Motor Inn
Chinchilla Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Chinchilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acacia Motel Chinchilla
Acacia Motel Chinchilla
#3 of 10 in Chinchilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kings Park Accommodation
Kings Park Accommodation
#1 of 10 in Chinchilla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chinchilla Motel
Chinchilla Motel
#6 of 10 in Chinchilla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Motor Inn
Central Motor Inn
#8 of 10 in Chinchilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinchilla Downtown Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinchilla Downtown Motor Inn

Property: Chinchilla Downtown Motor Inn
Address: 60 Heeney St, Chinchilla, Queensland 4413, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Chinchilla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Chinchilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chinchilla Downtown Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're traveling to Chinchilla for business or pleasure - or even a bit of both - consider Chinchilla Downtown Motor Inn your home away from home. When you stay at the Chinchilla Downtown Motor Inn, you can take advantage of free internet in addition to our clean, air-conditioned rooms and comfortable beds. Proudly situated in the heart of Chinchilla's CBD, the Chinchilla Downtown Motor Inn is close to local bars, restaurants, banks and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Chinchilla Downtown Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing