We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chillagoe-Mungana Caves National Park

Chillagoe-Mungana Caves National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,970.10*
and up
Outback Cave and Lava Tube Day Tour Scenic Flight from Cairns
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Chillagoe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

The booked a Tour which proved very interesting and entertaining, but don't go if you have a fear of spiders, as there were plenty of them!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    26
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whittlesea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Took a little Toyota Yaris for the 3hr drive from Port Douglas to Chilagoe. Roads are sealed for most of the way so the Yaris managed the job OK. Some great scenery to take in along the way and dodging cattle and wild pigs on the roads all added to the experience. We did the Trezkin and Royal Arch tours and they were worth it. The caves were beautiful and our guide Luke was great. The kids loved it too (12 & 10). We also did the Balancing Rock walk but felt the self guided cave walks were for the more experienced so didn't tackle them. The smelter and spring fed water hole are also worth a visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank TheJohnnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“cave tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

spent an interesting couple of days exploring the amazing at chillagoe. The tour was great - very informative and well-organised. Our teenage son loved it ad he's pretty hard to entertain when away from the PS4.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cave tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our guide was very informative and the caves we saw were spectacular. We were also able to visit some caves without a guide. The price of the tour was quite reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If you go to Chillagoe do a caves tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Limestone caves that are some of the best I have seen in Australia. Eddie our aboriginal tour guide was excellent. Quite a few steps but more than worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DougLismoreNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chillagoe-Mungana Caves National Park also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Chillagoe, Queensland
 

Been to Chillagoe-Mungana Caves National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing