We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average steak and very slow service”

Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn
Cuisines: Australian, Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
454 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Average steak and very slow service”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Cattleman's Restaurant is probably the best in Charters Towers so it does get busy and I would advise making a booking. My table of 4 all ordered steaks. Most were overcooked and the meat was average. It was hard to get service and our food took a long time to arrive. The decor has a certain charm about it but they do need to give it a good clean, get rid of the dirty fish tank, dead plants and fake plants.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top service and close to best steak in Australia”
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Yes I am serious. We had tried several other places to eat with little enthusiasm shown to us. Not so here. They were busy but welcomed us and continued to treat us well and in a timely manner. The eye fillet steak was perfectly cooked and of the very best quality. Would always recommend a visit if in Charters Towers.

Helpful?
2 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I like the food, too bad we had to wait for 30 minutes just to get a waitress to come to our table and take note our order.

Helpful?
Thank Emmy4812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good steak place”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Had a very enjoyable dinner here with a group of work colleagues. Great steaks and cooked as requested. Good wine list. Oysters were large and surpisingly good for somewhere so far from the sea.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flynn7331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Only used the restaurant here, stayed next door.

Great tender steak,
good service,
good atmosphere

  • Visited May 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gs-aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn also viewed

Charters Towers, Queensland
Charters Towers, Queensland
 
Charters Towers, Queensland
Charters Towers, Queensland
 

Been to Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing