We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Private Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Loved it. You have a choice of rooms - upstairs and downstairs and each room has an ensuite. Plus there is a communal kitchen upstairs. The rooms are very cosy and good value. Lovely wide veranda although we didn't get much time to enjoy it. Trish, the hostess was very welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyalhotel, Owner at Royal Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

We so appreciate your lovely review of our hotel and we thank you
Look forward to seeing you again
Until then take care
Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 159 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a unique, very old (1888) hotel in Charters Towers, an old mining city, lovingly restored by its current owners. We called them for a booking and once we got there, found out we had been upgraded to the loveliest imaginable room, with a four-poster bed, and lots of trinkets and niceties in the room, beautiful curtains, old cupboards, lovely old lamps. Such a special experience. The bed was good, we had an excellent shower and even a bubble-bath.
Around the hotel is a veranda (also upstairs) where you can sit and watch the sun set over this little gold-dust town. The lobby looks like a museum, with an old (working) pianola, and lots more.
There's a huge kitchen you can use to cook your own meals if you wish, and make coffee and tea (also provided in rooms). The hotel is located right in the middle of town, with restaurants and sights close by.
The owners are gems and lots of fun like their hotel, extremely helpful, relaxed and welcoming (leasurely chat and a glass of chilled white wine upon arrival).
Very, very much recommended. Staying here is already worth the trip to Charters Towers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomandKiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyalhotel, Owner at Royal Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review
We appreciate all input and lovely to receive such wonderful compliments
Take care
Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

What a magnificant old worldly rooming house. The rooms leave you with a feeling of stepping back into another age. The rooms are large and comfortable, (ours had an ensuite with spa) very tastfully restored and furnished to suit the period around late 19th early 20th century.
Very friendly hosts and great service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay in this historic gem of a hotel. I arrived late in the day and got a budget room facing the rear for $60. My high-ceiling room had a flat screen TV and a bar fridge, and I slept well in a comfortable double bed. There was air conditioning and a ceiling fan, but I didn't use them. The shared toilet was right outside my room, with the bathroom down a passageway.
A lot of construction workers and contractors stay here, but it was very quiet after about 9 pm. There is a large car park at the rear, and the building security is very good.
The staff are very helpful and friendly, and I felt more like a guest than just a paying customer. A highlight was having breakfast and a cup of tea on the verandah ( I brought my own cereal, milk and fruit juice). There is an upstairs lounge with a TV and free coffee and tea, comfortable chairs and a few books and magazines to read. There is a lot of historical memorabilia and tourist information downstairs, and the old Stock Exchange is just a short walk away.
I really like old hotels with verandahs, and the next night I stayed at the Lyceum Hotel in Longreach, which has a nice verandah but does not match the Royal for comfort or ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opening onto the verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stickman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyalhotel, Owner at Royal Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your comments
Royal Private Hotel played an interesting part in the history of Charters Towers and we like to hear that our guest can immerse themselves in the memorabilia of yesteryear whilst that are in today's busy world
Look forward to greeting you again
Till then take care
Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our second three-day stay at the Royal with Trish & Tony as the friendliest Hosts. The Hotel was built in 1888 and has the features of that period still in-tact all around you. We have stayed both times in room #4 on the ground floor. This particular room has a Spa Bath within a generous bathroom off the main room with very high ceilings, a four-poster beautifully comforatble luxury bed, a generous-sized flatt-screen TV and all the other amenities you could need and want. The first floor kitchen has space to spare and facilities to cook just about anything effortlessly. The verandah adjoins as a place to eat with a view over the township. This address is central to everything, and if a period-style experience is tempting, you can go wrong here - thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask if room 4 is available if you want a Spa and don't want the stairs. Take advantage of the Ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyalhotel, Owner at Royal Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review
We at the Royal Private Hotel really love hearing that our guest enjoyed their time at the hotel
Till next time take care
Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This trip to Outback QLD we have stayed at 5 old (heritage) hotels. Most have been very basic. This one was in the RACV guide; thought we'd have a look. Wanted something nicer for last night of our holiday. Hit the jackpot! Welcomed warmly by stylish host Patricia and shown several choices of rooms, each decorated individually in delicious, lavish heritage style, each with verandah access. Our room was a steal at the price, with room, fridge, large TV, separate toilet, separate bathroom with shower and spa. Very quiet. Hotel also offered pleasant guest lounge upstairs and a fully equipped spotless kitchen and fridge for guest use. We ate our meal on the verandah, after enjoying drinks (provided our own, it's now a dry hotel). Our car was safe overnight in the lage fenced backyard. As soon as we had settled in we were presented with a tray with quality biscuits and Harris coffee bags, tea bags, cups, saucers and mugs. We made ourselves afternoon coffee and revelled in the delightful afternoon sunshine on the back verandah. Our host was attentive, so generous in her manner, ready to offer suggestions for things to do - including the info that singalongs of an evening were a possibility in the main reception area (the former bar) with a working pianola there. After a very comfortable night's sleep, we took our leave reluctantly. We live a long way away otherwise we'd be back often! Thanks Patricia, you have made the Royal a very special place we'll always remember!!!

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room opp reception. It was on the street but it's a quiet end of town so was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyalhotel, Owner at Royal Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you Marj
I t gives all of us at the Royal Private Hotel great encouragement to continue with our theme and our service to our patrons
It is lovely to know that the people who stay with us at the Royal love it as much as we do
Look forward to seeing you in the future
Take care and once again thank you for your very special comments
Patricia Tony and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stopped by one night and found the service we received brilliant. We got delayed in our arrival and the owner, waited for us to arrive to check us in. She has created a wonderfully historic hotel, which has huge personality. If we had more time I would have enjoyed to stay longer! Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: 4 has a wonderful large corner spa bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillsy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charters Towers hotels
1.6 mi away
Kernow Charters Towers
Kernow Charters Towers
#1 of 7 in Charters Towers
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Park Motel
The Park Motel
#4 of 7 in Charters Towers
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn
Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn
#5 of 7 in Charters Towers
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Heritage Lodge Motel
Heritage Lodge Motel
#2 of 5 in Charters Towers
73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Charters Towers Motel
Charters Towers Motel
#3 of 7 in Charters Towers
27 reviews
1.8 mi away
Big4 Aussie Outback Oasis Cabin & Van Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Private Hotel

Address: 100 Mosman St, Charters Towers, Queensland 4820, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Charters Towers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Charters Towers
Price Range: $64 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1888, the Royal is now a family owned and run Hotel offering a warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Situated in the heart of the township, the Royal is within a short walk to shops, restaurants, medical centre, visitors information centre and licensed venues. Charters Towers is a one and a half hour drive west of Townsville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing