We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable piece of history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Private Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“A comfortable piece of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay in this historic gem of a hotel. I arrived late in the day and got a budget room facing the rear for $60. My high-ceiling room had a flat screen TV and a bar fridge, and I slept well in a comfortable double bed. There was air conditioning and a ceiling fan, but I didn't use them. The shared toilet was right outside my room, with the bathroom down a passageway.
A lot of construction workers and contractors stay here, but it was very quiet after about 9 pm. There is a large car park at the rear, and the building security is very good.
The staff are very helpful and friendly, and I felt more like a guest than just a paying customer. A highlight was having breakfast and a cup of tea on the verandah ( I brought my own cereal, milk and fruit juice). There is an upstairs lounge with a TV and free coffee and tea, comfortable chairs and a few books and magazines to read. There is a lot of historical memorabilia and tourist information downstairs, and the old Stock Exchange is just a short walk away.
I really like old hotels with verandahs, and the next night I stayed at the Lyceum Hotel in Longreach, which has a nice verandah but does not match the Royal for comfort or ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opening onto the verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stickman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyalhotel, Owner at Royal Private Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments
Royal Private Hotel played an interesting part in the history of Charters Towers and we like to hear that our guest can immerse themselves in the memorabilia of yesteryear whilst that are in today's busy world
Look forward to greeting you again
Till then take care
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    41
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
69
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our second three-day stay at the Royal with Trish & Tony as the friendliest Hosts. The Hotel was built in 1888 and has the features of that period still in-tact all around you. We have stayed both times in room #4 on the ground floor. This particular room has a Spa Bath within a generous bathroom off the main room with very high ceilings, a four-poster beautifully comforatble luxury bed, a generous-sized flatt-screen TV and all the other amenities you could need and want. The first floor kitchen has space to spare and facilities to cook just about anything effortlessly. The verandah adjoins as a place to eat with a view over the township. This address is central to everything, and if a period-style experience is tempting, you can go wrong here - thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask if room 4 is available if you want a Spa and don't want the stairs. Take advantage of the Ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyalhotel, Owner at Royal Private Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review
We at the Royal Private Hotel really love hearing that our guest enjoyed their time at the hotel
Till next time take care
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This trip to Outback QLD we have stayed at 5 old (heritage) hotels. Most have been very basic. This one was in the RACV guide; thought we'd have a look. Wanted something nicer for last night of our holiday. Hit the jackpot! Welcomed warmly by stylish host Patricia and shown several choices of rooms, each decorated individually in delicious, lavish heritage style, each with verandah access. Our room was a steal at the price, with room, fridge, large TV, separate toilet, separate bathroom with shower and spa. Very quiet. Hotel also offered pleasant guest lounge upstairs and a fully equipped spotless kitchen and fridge for guest use. We ate our meal on the verandah, after enjoying drinks (provided our own, it's now a dry hotel). Our car was safe overnight in the lage fenced backyard. As soon as we had settled in we were presented with a tray with quality biscuits and Harris coffee bags, tea bags, cups, saucers and mugs. We made ourselves afternoon coffee and revelled in the delightful afternoon sunshine on the back verandah. Our host was attentive, so generous in her manner, ready to offer suggestions for things to do - including the info that singalongs of an evening were a possibility in the main reception area (the former bar) with a working pianola there. After a very comfortable night's sleep, we took our leave reluctantly. We live a long way away otherwise we'd be back often! Thanks Patricia, you have made the Royal a very special place we'll always remember!!!

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room opp reception. It was on the street but it's a quiet end of town so was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyalhotel, Owner at Royal Private Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you Marj
I t gives all of us at the Royal Private Hotel great encouragement to continue with our theme and our service to our patrons
It is lovely to know that the people who stay with us at the Royal love it as much as we do
Look forward to seeing you in the future
Take care and once again thank you for your very special comments
Patricia Tony and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stopped by one night and found the service we received brilliant. We got delayed in our arrival and the owner, waited for us to arrive to check us in. She has created a wonderfully historic hotel, which has huge personality. If we had more time I would have enjoyed to stay longer! Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: 4 has a wonderful large corner spa bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillsy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I'm always looking for something with a bit more character than a run of the mill hotel and this one really fits the bill. It really ticks the heritage box as well - often when you think of old rennovated hotels in old mining towns you expect it to be a bit grungy, but this one was perfect - they managed to rennovate it so everything works and is clean and gorgeous to look at, but they haven't lost any of the old world charm. The lady running the place was extremely helpful and welcoming. The room was fabulous. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nag088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyalhotel, Owner at Royal Private Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
It is a pleasure to see your hotel through some one else's eye
We strive to ensure our guest to get a feel of old world charm and as this hotel --being 125 years young this year has a wealth of history to offer to guest.
Thank you for your kind words
We look forward to seeing you again
Till then take care
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We arrived here in the late afternoon after an exhausting drive from Winton and were looking for somewhere to stay 'on spec' and believe ourselves to have been lucky enough to find the best accommodation in Charters Towers! We had a very friendly welcome from the owner who has a lot of interesting historical artifacts displayed around the public rooms and the overall impression is one of warmth and comfort.The bedroom was large and extremely comfortable, charmingly furnished with spotlessly clean country-style furniture and large flat screen TV. A huge bathroom with spa and a separate toilet were a bonus. It was a pleasure to stay here and was value for money too. Would go out of our way to stay here again. Many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welltravelled63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyalhotel, Owner at Royal Private Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We like to think that our hospitality is enjoyed by weary travellers and it is a pleasure to ensure that you enjoy your stay at the Royal Private Hotel
Pleasure to see you again
till then-Take care
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was passing through Charters Towers and decided to stay here for a night. We arrived in relatively late, but were greeted almost as if the staff were expecting us. The knowledge of the surrounding area and where to eat was excellent. The room had a rustic charm and was spacious, well appointed and very quiet. I would definitely stay here again if I was passing through Charters Towers in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sismith17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaroyalhotel, Owner at Royal Private Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your review on trip advisor.
we always think it is nice for guests to arrive and receive some helpful information such as eating places,areas to visit etc and it is great to hear that guests appreciate that
look forward to greeting you again -until then take care
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charters Towers hotels
0.4 mi away
The Park Motel
The Park Motel
#3 of 6 in Charters Towers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aussie Outback Oasis Cabin & Van Village
2.0 mi away
Heritage Lodge Motel
Heritage Lodge Motel
#2 of 5 in Charters Towers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Charters Towers Motel
Charters Towers Motel
#2 of 6 in Charters Towers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn
Cattleman's Rest Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Charters Towers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.2 mi away
Charters Towers Tourist Park
Charters Towers Tourist Park
#4 of 5 in Charters Towers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Private Hotel

Property: Royal Private Hotel
Address: 100 Mosman St, Charters Towers, Queensland 4820, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Charters Towers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Charters Towers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1888, the Royal is now a family owned and run Hotel offering a warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Situated in the heart of the township, the Royal is within a short walk to shops, restaurants, medical centre, visitors information centre and licensed venues. Charters Towers is a one and a half hour drive west of Townsville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing