We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely park, great pool, clean bathrooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charters Towers Tourist Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charters Towers Tourist Park
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely park, great pool, clean bathrooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We loved that park! The amenities were super clean (except for one night when a large family walzed through... not the parks fault) and very new. Good size and location of amenities block. Good water pressure!
Nice laundry with everything you need.
The pool was the best! Great to cool down on hot days (not sure if they cool it down but the water had a great refreshing temperature).

Park staff very friendly and hard working. As other reviews stated - the park is still under updating progress. And you can see that they are working every day to make it even better (but don´t expect construction noise or other.. their work did not disturb our stay). You can see their plan of action posted throughout the park and they already transferred it in one of the loveliest places we´ve been to! The only place that (from my point of view...) is left to need an update is the camp kitchen - which is already on their agenda.

Would stay there again and again!

Room Tip: A lot of shade throughout the day when you stay under the big mango tree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CayeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    29
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
50
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
S
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

The most important thing to us are clean amenities and they were super clean in this park. At the moment they're building a new pool area and we're sure by the time it will be finished it will be a great place to cool-down. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The park itself was average to say the least, but the attitude of Maxene, presumably the co owner left a great deal to be desired. She was extremely rude and made us feel very uncomfortable about staying there, I don't know if she was having a bad day but the next morning I visited the kiosk and her husband was on duty, his attitude was little better, couldn't wait to get out of the place. Definitely won't be going there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 63Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
215 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Not a bad little caravan park, we had an excellent spot at the back near the sports oval, so it was good for walking the dog. Toilet and Showers are clean in a type of portable unit. Notices every where saying work in progress. We got discount for being Top Tourist Members, we stayed 3 nights. It was raining when we arrived and roads around park were muddy, but dried quickly. Concrete slabs or lawn area available, good laundry, swimming pool. All in all a good caravan park.

Room Tip: Sites out the back near sports oval is good if you have a dog. Charters Towers is a lovely town wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bak748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We enjoyed our overnight stay here. Check in was easy with help to settle in to the small van site. Very friendly atmosphere with good camp kitchen. Clean toilets and roomy showers that are well maintained. Very restful and a good place to stop overnight.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Office staff were pleasant on check in. Ensuite van site was a good choice. Ensuite was presentable but could do with an update [this is in progress throughout the park actually], pool area was clean and tidy and in good location. Park amenities were clean and in very good condition. This park is a work in progress and it shows. well priced. kiosk supplies well stocked.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trudih5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

The cabins at this campsite appeared to be clean and tidy, however as it got darker the cockroaches came out. At least 5 were running around the floor and in the cupboards...... it was disgusting! When we told the owners we got a simple 'oh sorry'. Would definitely not recommend this place.......

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NatandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charters Towers hotels
2.4 mi away
Aussie Outback Oasis Cabin & Van Village
1.2 mi away
Royal Private Hotel
Royal Private Hotel
#1 of 5 in Charters Towers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kernow Charters Towers
Kernow Charters Towers
#4 of 5 in Charters Towers
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Affordable Gold City Motel
Affordable Gold City Motel
#6 of 6 in Charters Towers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.6 mi away
Heritage Lodge Motel
Heritage Lodge Motel
#2 of 5 in Charters Towers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Park Motel
The Park Motel
#3 of 6 in Charters Towers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charters Towers Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charters Towers Tourist Park

Property: Charters Towers Tourist Park
Address: 37 Mt Leyshon Rd, Charters Towers, Queensland 4820, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Charters Towers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Charters Towers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charters Towers Tourist Park 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Charters Towers Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing