We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two night stay”
Review of Beachcomber Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachcomber Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cardwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at this motel three years ago just before the 2011 cyclone which destroyed much of Cardwell, in one of the motel units right next to and facing the sea. As our last trip was such a pleasant experience we booked two nights in advance in one of the newly constructed family units also facing the sea . If you like a quiet peaceful position with excellent views away from all the activities associated with noisy holiday makers then this is the place for you. The unit was very clean and spacious and contained everything which we needed except for any internet connection which wasn't a problem in view of the length of our stay. However it is worth noting that up until the point of our stay at the Beachcomber we had stayed in eight previous establishments in our touring holiday and this was the first one with no internet capability. The reception staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamhennessy, Owner at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay ,apart from the internet issues!.In the five years plus that we have owned the Beachcomber we have had major issues with various internet providers.We have paid a considerable amount of money to a number of companies offering all sorts of promises.We are currently working with a local company who can hopefully offer a reliable, consistent service.Alternatevly, on your next stay please advise reception and we connect you via our office service.

Regards
Graham Hennessy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Beachcomber Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 149 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Beachcomber - one night in an executive motel room and one night in a queen motel room. Both rooms were very clean and recently refurbished and had quiet air conditioners. The queen bed was softer and more comfortable than the king bed and the executive room had a more modern bathroom, but both were clean and functional. Both rooms were on the upper level and had magnificent ocean views. There is a street between the motel and beach but it is pretty quiet. They have a beautiful restaurant downstairs with tables inside and outside on the grass and a happy hour from 4.30 to 6.00pm every day. We ate at the restaurant both nights and the food was fabulous. It wasn't cheap, but I am happy to pay for good food! I would definitely stay here again! We looked around the caravan park and it is clean, well maintained with plenty of shady sites and a very nice swimming pool. They also have some large 3 bedroom cabins which have lovely ocean views and look fairly new. The staff were very friendly and helpful and allowed us to leave our car there for 4 days while we did a hike on Hinchinbrook Island, which we really appreciated!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meldig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamhennessy, Owner at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is the place to stay in Cardwell. Grahame and Sandy keep this place spotless.
We stayed here 5& a half years ago. Yasi smashed them and their up and running.
Great service, great food on site and a happy hour to boot.
Clean ammenities and ground. Great sites. We will be back.
Thanks guys. Well done.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozza1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamhennessy, Owner at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for your great review.We pass on all reviews to our staff and trust that they appreciate all comments from our valued customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visited The Beachcomber again on our way home from our northern trip and stayed a few nights.Had a beachfront motel unit, spacious, clean and polite staff, could not ask for more ,will most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamhennessy, Owner at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay at our property.We appreciate any feedback from our guests and look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Beach comber caravan park on our way home from Cape York. We booked in and then extended our stay at short notice. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The pool was excellent. We ate at the restaurant one night and enjoyed a top class, reasonably priced meal. The men particularly enjoyed the types of oysters served. It was peaceful and in a great location. You could walk to the beach and the local IGA.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamhennessy, Owner at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for the positive review of our property.We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the dining experience at the Beachcomber and can now advise that we have two fully qualified chefs on the team to ensure that we continue to offer great food at reasonable prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Have to agree I can't fault this place. Lovely laid back friendly staff. Everything you could possibly want is at your finger tips. The location is spectacular. It's a trap though. You'll never want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim011155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have been trying different places in North Queensland to camp for a while now and haven't found anywhere we wanted to go back to, until now. Beachcomber in cardwell will be our holiday destination from now on. Right from when we booked months earlier until we checked in, nothing was to much trouble. The service is a grade, we were a bit late for breakfast and they just got the stuff out again, with a smile, nothing is to much trouble, and the kids love it. We are here for he school holidays, and booking again for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardwell
0.5 mi away
Cardwell Beachfront Motel
0.2 mi away
Cardwell at the Beach
Cardwell at the Beach
#3 of 5 in Cardwell
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kookaburra Holiday Park
Kookaburra Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Cardwell
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
139 reviews
22.5 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
147 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motel

Address: 43a Marine Pde, Cardwell, Queensland 4849, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cardwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cardwell
Price Range: $76 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Beachcomber Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing