We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cardwell experience”
Review of Beachcomber Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachcomber Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cardwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Beach comber caravan park on our way home from Cape York. We booked in and then extended our stay at short notice. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The pool was excellent. We ate at the restaurant one night and enjoyed a top class, reasonably priced meal. The men particularly enjoyed the types of oysters served. It was peaceful and in a great location. You could walk to the beach and the local IGA.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamhennessy, Owner at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for the positive review of our property.We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the dining experience at the Beachcomber and can now advise that we have two fully qualified chefs on the team to ensure that we continue to offer great food at reasonable prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 151 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Have to agree I can't fault this place. Lovely laid back friendly staff. Everything you could possibly want is at your finger tips. The location is spectacular. It's a trap though. You'll never want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim011155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have been trying different places in North Queensland to camp for a while now and haven't found anywhere we wanted to go back to, until now. Beachcomber in cardwell will be our holiday destination from now on. Right from when we booked months earlier until we checked in, nothing was to much trouble. The service is a grade, we were a bit late for breakfast and they just got the stuff out again, with a smile, nothing is to much trouble, and the kids love it. We are here for he school holidays, and booking again for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed here for business. I stayed in an executive hotel room, and was very impressed. Everything was very clean and tidy. The only negative I would comment on was the shower. The type of shower head found here is the type you would find a cheaper hotel. It would have been nice to have a bit more water flow/pressure so the suds could wash out of my hair better.

The restaurant was also fantastic. It was hard to decide what I wanted, but I went with my all time favorite of calamari. I always judge a restaurant on how they cook their calamari - and it was absolutely delicious, melt in your mouth.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived in Cairns from Perth at 4am and drove to Cardwell with my 92 year old mother-in-law. When I spoke to Graham a few weeks before to make the booking he said we were welcome to check in early if our rooms were available. Arriving in Cardwell very exhausted at 9am we had breakfast at the local bakery and rang the Beachcomber to see if we could check in and they were quite happy for us to do so. The rooms were clean and fresh with a magic outlook to the ocean. At $98.00 per night the price was very reasonable. We ate in the restaurant and the food was good (calamari was great!) and the only criticism would be that the servings were too big!!
We own accommodation so are always interested in how things present. Look forward to seeing Cardwell again when all the foreshore work has been completed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theirelands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Spent one night in an executive room and found it tidy and clean. The real sell for us was the restaurant, was going to the pub initially before a local recommended the food at beachcomber's. Wow, price was a little more expensive than you would pay at the pub but the meals well and truly made up for it. One of the best reef and beef I have ever had and big portion as well. The other guest at table had Atlantic salmon and a seafood basket style meal(not sure what it was called ) but we all left very impressed..... Also you must try the duck spring rolls.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Fredndust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Way to expensive. Over rated and waited 55 mins for meal. A lot cheaper and affordable else were. Way to far away from cardwell itself. Service was pretty slack. Rooms were ok but could tell that cleaners were not very interesred in customer service and cleanliness. Would never stay again

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamhennessy, Owner at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, however I feel that a number of issues need to be clarified.I cannot understand how you can claim that "we are way to expensive" when our current room rates range from $95/dbl for a standard beachfront room to $120/dbl for an executive beachfront room.These rates more than favourably compare with any other in town and considerably cheaper than many other locations (apart from backpacker style accommodation).All our rooms have either a balcony or terrace overlooking the ocean,free Foxtel sport and movie channels, and underwent a partial or complete refurbishment following Cyclone Yasi.Executive rooms have been totally refurbished and feature new contemporary furnishings, professionally designed bathrooms and fittings,king size beds and microwaves etc.Our accommodation has proved to be very popular with not only the travelling public, but also business travellers and government employees.Prior to this review we have had numerous positive comments , particularly about the rooms being good value and especially with regards to the great location on the beachfront.As for waiting 55 minutes for a meal in our restaurant I can only apologise , but due to its popularity there are on occasions very busy times where there may be a longer than normal wait for meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardwell
0.2 mi away
Cardwell at the Beach
Cardwell at the Beach
#3 of 5 in Cardwell
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cardwell Beachfront Motel
22.5 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#5 of 22 in Mission Beach
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kookaburra Holiday Park
Kookaburra Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Cardwell
79 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motel

Address: 43a Marine Pde, Cardwell, Queensland 4849, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cardwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cardwell
Price Range: $73 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beachcomber Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing