We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay.”
Review of Beachcomber Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachcomber Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cardwell
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good stay.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for one night travelling south. We were made very welcome even without a reservation. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was adequate and comfortable. Great view out to the sea. Got a great pizza from the dining room. A few workmen about renovating from 8am who loved hammering on metal pipes. In short a good place to stopover. No problems here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornbeefhash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    54
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
29
73
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tolga, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and i have just spent 4 days in a villa, we could have spent a lot longer, if we had the time.What a fantastic set up these villas are, with the ocean and Hinchinbrook island views, and the stunning sunsets.It is a place we will go back to time and time again.
thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angle Park
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A truly great spot, our beautiful powered site was lovely. The boys loved roaming the park nice camp kitchen and tv area. Really enjoyed the happy hour and yummy pizza. Looking forward to coming back the view over to hichinbrook was glorious

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Coreen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Don't stay one night, stay more, this place is excellent. We stayed in the newly refurbished motel rooms overlooking the beach, beautiful. The room was immaculate and the food in the restaurant was awesome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked two nights here and could have easily stayed longer. We had a first floor room and loved the view. The room was clean, comfortable and quite roomy. A great spot to watch the sunrise over Hinchinbrook Island. The restaurant is good and they have a happy hour each evening. Great pizzas also from the restaurant. Ask the reception staff to have a look at the photos of the damage from Cyclone Yasi. My only negative was the lack of water pressure in the shower.

Room Tip: Go for a first floor room if possible.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank haphol-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We dicided to stay here for just one night on our North Queensland trip, but would've been quite happy to stay longer.

This place is across the road from the road anf the motel is part of a larger complex, caravan park etc.

The room was spotless, everything was like brand new, this place was totally devastated during last years cyclone and it's a credit to the local community what has been accompliced in such a short time.

The bed was comfortable, nice small terrace in front of the room and overall a place we would recommend.

On another note though, the staff member which booked me in for the night appeared to be inconvenienced by my arrival, it tended to interupt her conversation which another staff member about the obviously important subject of the weather, ergo I stood around for about 5 minutes till she deemed I waited long enough and attended to my needs, which was just in time, as I was on my way out to look elsewhere.
Take note of this owners, these people are the 1st contact with your guests.

Apart from this , the place is very good.

Cardwell still shows many scars from last years disaster and support from travellers is needed to keep the place going.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LazingAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed three nights in a brand new three bedroom villa with fantastoic uninterrupted views across the Hinchinbrook Channel to Hinchinbrook Island. There were only two of us but the villa was fantastic value.
The Beachcomber is between the highway, which goes straigth thropugh town, and the water which is a huge plus as other accommodation would be noisy and crossing the busy highway can be a chore.
The complex itself consists of a cavaran park, motel and self contained villas and cabins. The motel units face the water and I'd say would be a pretty good option as well.
Our villa had two double bedrooms and another bedroom three beds - a single and double bunks.
There was a large, well equipped kitchen, dining room and lounge room, all open plan. The bathroom was large and well set out.
Everything was spotlessly clean.
Outside was a huge covered deck with large doining setting and those sensational views. The water, if you wanted to try to catch a fish, was about 30 metres away.
The management and staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
There was also a great looking bar and restaurant which we didn't use but lots of other guests did.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and consider it a real find.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardwell
0.2 mi away
Cardwell at the Beach
Cardwell at the Beach
#3 of 5 in Cardwell
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cardwell Beachfront Motel
0.4 mi away
Kookaburra Holiday Park
Kookaburra Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Cardwell
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
132 reviews
22.5 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
143 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motel

Property: Beachcomber Motel
Address: 43a Marine Pde, Cardwell, Queensland 4849, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cardwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cardwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Beachcomber Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing