We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Beachcomber Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beachcomber Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cardwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Management need a holiday. They are obviously making too much money to add pleasantness to their list of amenities. They were rude and unreasonable and very misrepresented on their website. The camp kitchen was filthy and only one washing machine was working. some of the toilet and shower facilities were out of order and apparently had been for some time. They portray themselves as a very family friendly park on the website but this is a far stretch from the truth. They have some poorly maintained peddle cars and a pool. I would not recommend this facility to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Jg680225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamhennessy, Owner at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

In responding to this review I would like to point out that the real issue was about our refund policy.Should a guest decide to leave early we are happy to provide a credit for a future stay but we cannot provide a refund, particularly during the peak season when we could have rented the site to someone else.We accept that for a day or two one washing machine was available because we had the other two being repaired in Ingham, and at the same time we purchased a new machine which was delivered early the following week. These circumstances were totally out of our control and we did the best we could to resolve them.It is not in our interest not to have our washing machines or dryers operating as they provide additional income to the business.
Our cleaners clean the camp kitchen on a regular basis but we do rely on people using the facilites to attempt to clean up after they have used it.That may or may not have been the case on this occassion.As regards to the carts , they are maintained and apart from the occassional tyre requiring additional air we have not had any complaints.Following cyclone Yasi a great deal of money (mainly insurance) and effort has gone into bringing the park back to or better than its original condition.We are more than happy to accept constructive criticism and will endeavour to continue to improve the beachcomber and address genuine concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 151 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have never spoken to anyone with a tone as rude as the owner. Due to this, and regardless of accommodation standards, I'd only stay here if totally necessary.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
5  Thank redbanchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a recent fishing trip to Hinchinbrook. The Villa was large with 3 bedrooms and plenty of room to move. Breakfast on the patio at sunrise looking out to sea and Hinchinbrook Island was gorgeous. The beds were a bit hard for our liking but they are brand new after all. We also had dinner in the restaurant and it was great. We believe that we should all support Cardwell and the surrounding communties and we have been doing so since Cyclone Yasi. The Beachcomber has done a great job in rebuilding and will be better than ever.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barraqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stay here when I travel for work and it is one of the best places I have stayed. I am always made to feel welcome and at home. Nothing is too much trouble and the owners and staff are always happy to help me with my requests. Keep up the great work.

Room Tip: ironing facilities, hangers, cutlery and hairdryer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sherbetms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We just called and in got a room for a couple. It was clean and tidy, great value for money, the lady on reception was excellent and showed us some photos of Cyclone Yasi damage. The room was excellent value considering the damage that was done to the motel from Cyclone Yasi only six months prior. I'd stay there again and any travellers should do the Aussie thing and help these guys get back on their feet after the huge disaster they had. If you dont believe me, ask the receptionist to see the photos of what they had to deal with. Good old Aussie battlers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kdsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We had driven from Townsville into the post-cyclone coast. We started looked for a motel at the town before Cardwell. Everything was full as were most places in Cardwell with reconstruction staff. We thought we were going to have to drive all night to Cairns. Then we found this motel and caravan park. It had been damaged by the cyclone - we never realised how much until net morning. But the motel room we had was clean (no carpets of course), the room had all we needed for a stop over. And most amazingly they had a very good restaurant reasonably priced and very pleasant - with really friendly staff. The motel still hasn't received any insurance and so is unable to refurbish and reconstruct - so stay there and help keep it in business.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the flood damaged ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

The property comprises, motel, cabins (Called Villas) and Caravan Park. We had a long car journey, and coming on dark we would not have chosen this property under other circumstances. Our accommodation was in a villa which suggests to us at least something more grand than a cabin style. Basically a larger demountable style cabin, with an attached front wooden porch, and inside living area were higher than average ceilings. Inside fittings comprised two dusty ceiling fans, small oven unit with two rusty hot plates, battered bar fridge, microwave oven, a tv which was smaller than the microwave. Bedding comprised a double and 3 stacked bunk beds. One redeeming feature was the linen, crisp laundered sheets and two fluffy towels. There was a battered awning over the kitchen window. At AUD $95 per night we had found much better value and condition for the money in our travels. After booking in my partner commented that the receptionist was grumpy, probably ready to go home.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hitchiker_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamhennessy, Owner at Beachcomber Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2010

In response to the review we would like to reply to some of the issues raised by the writer.
Firstly, we purchased the property a bit over two years ago and realised that it would require a an upgrade as the property had little capital expenditure spent on it over the previous few years .To date we have installed new sliding doors,split air conditioners and flat screen televisions in all the motel rooms.Refurbished the pool area with new surrounds,turf and pool furniture.We have also planted numerous palms and other vegetation through the camping area and installed new powerheads.
More recently we have just completed a total refurbishment of the old Fishermans Cottages, with new bathrooms,new kitchens,polished floors,modern furnishings,split air conditioners and flat screen televisions.New verandahs have been built to take in the magnificent ocean and island views.These cottages have been renamed as Oceanview Cottages and have proved very popular since the upgrade.
.We have also commenced an upgrade of the studio cabins with new paintwork,lighting and soon to be installed new kitchens.
Further upgrades are planned for the other cabins in the near future and a new play ground will be installed near the pool area in the next few weeks.
Our restaurant has also received a much needed upgrade with the installation of a walk in cool room and freezer,new seating and just last week new outdoor furniture.
We accept that the review was basically accurate but hope that should the writer return some time in the future, the improvements to the Cardwell Beachcomber Motel and Tourist Park wil be appreciated
P.S The name Villa was inherited by us and we have now renamed the Villas as Cabins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardwell
0.2 mi away
Cardwell at the Beach
Cardwell at the Beach
#3 of 5 in Cardwell
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cardwell Beachfront Motel
24.5 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#4 of 22 in Mission Beach
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kookaburra Holiday Park
Kookaburra Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Cardwell
80 reviews
22.6 mi away
Tully Motel
Tully Motel
#1 of 1 in Tully
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motel

Address: 43a Marine Pde, Cardwell, Queensland 4849, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cardwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cardwell
Price Range: $72 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beachcomber Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing