We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeliefable und wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kamp-Lintfort, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbeliefable und wonderful”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Our Family stayed at this wonderful and magic place for two nights. Rob and his friends made us feel very comfortable. We enjoyed the interestingly designed rooms, the nature-near bathroom and all the sounds and smells. We tried tropical fruits for breakfast, fed the birds in the garden and enjoyed the jungle every minute. If you go there make sure that you book a 4wd tour, night walk or something similar, so you get information about the nature and the way people live there.
Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BineBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    22
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
92
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was a very relaxing and wondrous place to stay. Rob was an experienced and effortless host - the breakfasts were truly delightful and were samplers for many of the local fruits we would not have otherwise tasted. The coffee was excellent (Dutch strength, thank you Rob!). We stayed in the room overlooking the frog pond with the outdoor bathroom. It was exquisitely hand-crafted and we were very comfortable. Rainforest Hideaway was close to many attractions and to the fabulous restaurant Whet.

Room Tip: The room with the outdoor bathroom is divine
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mishrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Located pretty much as far as you can go north without a 4wd, the rainforest hideaway provided an excellent spot to explore the daintree. We had the room with the outdoor bathroom and it really was liberating. Rob and his partner provided a beautiful breakfast of tropical fruit along with cereals and toast. Everything looks like it was made with great care and the 20 years he took to make this retreat proves it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katiec8805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Rob has done an amazing job with this place and works hard to maintain it. We had the cabin with the indoor plumbing because we were a little sceptical of the outdoor bathroom. However, everyone who stays there seems to enjoy the experience. Rather than eating in the guest lounge, we would prepare our coffee, toast and take this along with the sampling of native fruits to our veranda. There we could sit, overlooking the fish pond, and relax and take in all the sights and sounds of the rainforest. Rob and his guest artists have created some amazing sculputures along the trail that are well worth seeing. Thanks for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dillnbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just got back from a fantastic and unique two day stay at Rainforest Hideaway. What an adventure! Rob was a very welcoming host and the accommodation itself was fantastic. The breakfast of fruits was out of this world and worth the stay alone for just this! We got to see a family of cassowaries along with a whole host of amazing wildlife. As others have said, Rainforest Hideaway has a lot of character which makes it the place that it is and I would highly recommended it for anyone visiting Cape Tribulation. We stayed for two nights and felt that it wasn't enough - try to stay for three or four if you have the time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGbarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We didn't actually stay at Rainforest Hideaway, but at the Jungle house down the track - but we did enjoy the beautiful surrounds here - and the amazing sculpture trail. What a beautiful property and so full of wonderful wildlife, amazing sculptures and jsut a peaceful place to be ( if the sounds of nature are what you find peaceful) Well worth a visit - but make it worthwhile and stay a while - so much to do and see - and so close to all of Cape Tribs other attractions. Rob and his lovely partner made us very welcome. Thank you.

Room Tip: try the jungle house - but not if you are a 'five star' girl!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeEsperance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

A unique and wonderful place to stay. Rob is an artist who has built two guest houses and an art trail through the forest.

The guest houses have huge character, highlights include a Balinese inspired outdoor bathrooms, hand carved wooden furniture and a lovely elevated guest lounge with balcony to the rainforest garden and water features.

His creation is totally unique - you will not find this anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toodrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Tribulation
14.1 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
#2 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#1 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
538 reviews
10.1 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
8.4 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Hideaway

Property: Rainforest Hideaway
Address: Lot 19 Camelot Close, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Tribulation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique accommodation deep inside the world's oldest rainforest. Solar powered eco-accommodation without some of the luxuries and facilities of the big resorts, but comfortable and located within walking distance of beach, restaurants, shop and National Park boardwalks. On the two hectare property there is a sculpture trail showcasing sculptures created by the owner and several visiting artists, fishponds and a beautiful freshwater creek. This place is owner-built and owner-managed, and your host is always happy to provide you with tips on where to go and what to do and book any activities you'd like to do. Prolific wildlife is another feature of this property, especially the cassowaries that frequently visit the place. You can make your holiday action-packed with the local tours such as snorkeling, jungle surfing, horse riding, sea kayaking etc. or total relaxation by hanging out on the property on the seats on the sculpture trail, or in the hammocks around the house. Keep in touch with the outside world through free Wifi. If you are an artist you might even like to add your own creation to the sculpture trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Rainforest Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Hideaway Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing