We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We didn't actually stay at Rainforest Hideaway, but at the Jungle house down the track - but we did enjoy the beautiful surrounds here - and the amazing sculpture trail. What a beautiful property and so full of wonderful wildlife, amazing sculptures and jsut a peaceful place to be ( if the sounds of nature are what you find peaceful) Well worth a visit - but make it worthwhile and stay a while - so much to do and see - and so close to all of Cape Tribs other attractions. Rob and his lovely partner made us very welcome. Thank you.

Room Tip: try the jungle house - but not if you are a 'five star' girl!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeEsperance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 147 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

A unique and wonderful place to stay. Rob is an artist who has built two guest houses and an art trail through the forest.

The guest houses have huge character, highlights include a Balinese inspired outdoor bathrooms, hand carved wooden furniture and a lovely elevated guest lounge with balcony to the rainforest garden and water features.

His creation is totally unique - you will not find this anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toodrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place was simply magical.

By far my favourite part of my trip to Cairns. I only wish I had spent more time here and less in Cairns.

Everything about this place was epic!

Having said that, it's not going to be for everyone...WARNING...the bathroom and shower are OUTSIDE...it has to be one of the coolest bathrooms I've ever seen, but I can imagine if you're afraid of the dark, or noises in the bush, then this wouldn't be for you. But I loved it!
Apart from the epic Bathroom the Queen bungalow we stayed in was very simple, just a bed and power socket really. But again I loved this too, it was more than big enough for the both of us to enjoy. And with the awesome common area just a few meters away with a great veranda/patio including a hammock, it was just the coolest place to hang out and have a few drink in the evening.

Rob was a great host, and I highly recommend taking his advice about going on the bushwalk/trail that he's created around the place, it was awesome. Love the creek and bbq and bar area that he's created in the bush.

I'll definitely be back here again, just a question of which of the awesome rooms to stay in. The Yurt looks like a must do.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarnSmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenslandTreefrog, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed the place, and our efforts in creating this unique place are appreciated. And as some guests have said; this place is not for everyone, and they are right, you need a bit of a sense of adventure to stay here, but why would you leave home to travel if you don't have this?
Too many boring resorts everywhere, that's why we created Rainforest Hideaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had some trepidation about the Rainforest Hideaway - particularly the open bathroom, but that was such a treat. Made me want to redesign our bathroom and put in a rainforest.
The Hideaway is great. The work that has gone into developing it is staggering. We stayed for four nights and regretted that it was that short. If you get the chance to stay here - grab it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Rainforest Hideaway is a totally relaxing place to spend time away from the rush of life in big centres. Situated in 5 acres of rainforest, the Hideaway has cabins and rooms with ensuites. Rob is the ultimate host. There are numerous bush trails which offer easy walking and beside the trails are great numbers of concrete sculptures from a hiding courting couple to couches complete with realistic cushions and a bridge sculpted into a very large goanna. The continental breakfast on the verandah included tropical fruits such as passionfruit, rambutans, sapido, black sapote (chocolate pudding fruit). There is a choice of cereals, home made yoghurt and toast. All in all a wonderful experience. Highly recommended. The free wifi is an added attraction if you can't totally leave the city behind

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cichlornis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

During our trip through North Queensland we spent 4 fantastic days at Rainforest Hideaway. Remembering it - it still seems like a dream: Secluded in the rainforest with its beautiful vegetation and animals we couldn't believe our eyes when we stepped into our cosy cabin with the incredible outside bathroom. The stress level of the past months at work instantly sank to the level of zero - everything was so idyllic. Taking a shower beneath the rainforest leaves listening to the birds and frogs was better than any wellness farm.
Although there's much to see and do at Cape Tribulation, we spent very much time at Rainforest Hideaway. You could really get lost on the sculpture trails bearing surprises around each corner. Simply relaxing on Rob's backyard sofa in the afternoons was an adventure: The stone had soaked up the warmth of the sun and gave you a great feeling. One day we were especially lucky: The cossowary living on the premises came to say hello.
Let's not forget the breakfast: We experienced a real Aussie toaster and tasted all these tropical fruits - our favourite: chocolate pudding fruit.
Rob was always helpful organizing tours for us and giving fantastic advice, e. g. visiting the Daintree Icecream Factory.
To come to an end: Ansolutely stay at Rainforest Hideaway for more than a day or two: Go snorkeling on an Ocean Safari, do a nightwalk in the rainforest and go on a crocodily spotting trip on Cooper Creek.
It will be an unforgettable experience - we will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christiane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had the weekend free after a conference, decided to head up to Cape Trib to get away from Cairns. After a great lunch at Whet, the lovely girl in charge recommended a couple of places to stay and phoned ahead for me. The pole house was available at Rainforest Retreat: sold!!

All the sights and sounds of the rainforest to yourself, a little creek to swim in, paths and sculptures. An evening shower made the forest canopy dripping wet, a few branches fell during the night and the birds were beautifully noisy.

Outdoor shower wouldn't run hot but no bother really.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank fourfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenslandTreefrog, Owner at Rainforest Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here, and I am happy to hear you enjoyed our place.
The only reason I can think of that the outdoor shower did not run would be that a wind gust would have blown out the pilot flame on the hot water unit, we would have lit this for you if we would have been alerted to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Tribulation
14.2 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
576 reviews
10.1 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
0.4 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#9 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
#1 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cape Trib Beach House
Cape Trib Beach House
#2 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
573 reviews
8.5 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Hideaway

Address: Lot 19 Camelot Close, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Tribulation
Price Range: $107 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique accommodation deep inside the world's oldest rainforest. Solar powered eco-accommodation without some of the luxuries and facilities of the big resorts, but comfortable and located within walking distance of beach, restaurants, shop and National Park boardwalks. On the two hectare property there is a sculpture trail showcasing sculptures created by the owner and several visiting artists, fishponds and a beautiful freshwater creek. This place is owner-built and owner-managed, and your host is always happy to provide you with tips on where to go and what to do and book any activities you'd like to do. Prolific wildlife is another feature of this property, especially the cassowaries that frequently visit the place. You can make your holiday action-packed with the local tours such as snorkeling, jungle surfing, horse riding, sea kayaking etc. or total relaxation by hanging out on the property on the seats on the sculpture trail, or in the hammocks around the house. Keep in touch with the outside world through free Wifi. If you are an artist you might even like to add your own creation to the sculpture trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Rainforest Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Hideaway Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing