We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rainforest Wonderland!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainforest Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Rainforest Wonderland!”
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Was my favorite place to stay during my entire trip! For the following reasons:

1. A real rain-forest retreat :: off the beaten track, quiet, solitary, private, peaceful and immersed in rain-forest cover, yet close walking or driving to everything (including the Whet Restaurant which is the best restaurant in Cape Tribulation). A perfect balance.
2. Eco-friendly :: a completely sustainable environment, solar powered, low-flow water, etc.
3. Very cool owners :: a Dutch couple own it, have lived there for 15 years and run the B&B for 8 -- they know the area very well, including the wildlife and the best places to go
4. Delicious tropical breakfast :: included with room, amazing local fruits and a selection of cereals, teas, coffee, etc. (uncommon to have this in Australia I found -- not like the US)
5. Affordable :: very competitive pricing with surrounding hotels, resorts, and other rain-forest lodges (in our case it was cheaper than the others)...however, a smaller, more personal experience

SO, if you want a romantic, tucked away, non-touristy, eco-friendly experience I highly recommend you check in!

  • Liked — It had character and immediately stood out from the rest we looked at.
  • Disliked — Off-season pricing wasn't as low as I thought it would be, everywhere though, not just here
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladolceveta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    22
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
92
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We spent a few days at this property in August 2007, and simply loved it. Set in dense rainforest, it is possible while staying at this property to imagine that you are the only people around. It's hardly quiet though - the forest hums with birds (up in the canopy so you often can't see them, just hear tantalising cries) and the sounds of the wind moving through the various levels of plants.
It wasn't a sanitised experience - if you like your forest locked behind strong glass walls while you sit in airconditioned comfort, this won't suit. But while we were there, the weather was perfect, while there were dozens of insect species in the area, we didn't get bitten (mozzies are thankfully scarce), and while we met a few small marsupials, none of them were in the least dangerous.
We barely saw out hosts in the time we were there - which was as we wanted - but they were available when we needed something. We intend to come back for a much longer stay next year.

  • Liked — The rainforest
  • Disliked — Lack of a frdige probably - but it's better to put up with that than with a big noisy generator.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cassie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2007

If you want to get away from the crowds and enjoy nature this is the spot. All you hear at night are the creatures in the rainforest. The facility is spotless and one of the most unique places I have ever stayed. The hosts are very helpful and personable. They made calls for us changing some of our reservations elsewhere and were very understaning when we had to change our schedule slightly. Our entire family enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — setting
  • Disliked — limited electricity
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tribeportlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2007

We wanted to live the rainforest and we looked for something special and cossy, but not very expensive.
We stayed for two nights in the room in the main house who has a private access.

All was clean and ready when we arrived late night. Rob was waiting for us and explained about the place.

He has done everything with his won hands!!! the beds, the house, the other rooms outside the house...The rainforest is everywere and you hear it when the sun is raising in the morning.

You can have a lovely breakfast with tropical fruits, cereal, toast, etc with the birds (we didn't get to be lucky enought to meet the cassowary).

Two lovely green tree frogs were waiting for us the second night and did lots of pics of them!

  • Liked — is not an usual accommodation
  • Disliked — not being able to use the hairdryer
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosabcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2006

I cannot begin to describe this experience. This was our first trip to Australia that took about a year to plan and the Rainforest Hideaway was the highlight of the whole trip. it really is getting back to nature. The place is in the middle of nowhere. The drive up the coast from Cairns is spectacular and it's the last post before the road turns into a track for 4 wheel drive vehicles only.
I stumbled across Rob's website whilst surfing for something different and we certainly got that! This is a small place run entirely by Rob and his lovely partner Delphine is on hand to offer spa treatments (she does a wonderful massage). There are only four guest rooms. One attached to the main house which is open plan to the rainforest. it has two living rooms and a kitchen and reception area with plenty of information about what to do and see in the area. Then there are two log cabin rooms with on suite (round the back of the cabin a private outside bathroom with only a rope fence between you and the rainforest!) and a cabin with one whole wall missing just covered in mesh so you have a real feeling of sleeping right in with nature. We opted for an en suite log cabin.Obviously the accomodation is basic but it is clean and even after staying in a luxury hotel before arriving we soon got used to it. There are no wardrobes so we didn't bother unpacking. The room had a bed, clothes pegs, 2 bedside tables and a bench and that was it. The outside bathroom was a real shock to start with and the first night I found it hard to sleep because of all the rainforst noises, trees swaying, branches creaking and birds calling. But having a hot shower in a morning outside amongst the trees is something you have to experience, and by the end of our four day stay we'd really got into rainforest living. The breakfasts were good with fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt and toast and plenty of good hot coffee. Rob was a fantastic host and really helpful with local services and trips. It was nice to mingle with the other guests at breakfast and we had a pleasant evening playing jenga and having a few beers with a young couple from Japan. Rob stocks the fridge up with wine and beer at very reasonable prices. There are a number of restaurants and bars in the area but they are not open all day long so beware. On our arrival we struggled to get something to eat as some of the places on the way up had closed for lunch but not opened for dinner. We eventually found Mason's a shop come snack bar that has its own natural swimming hole round the back just before you get to the Rainforest Hideaway. Other places are PJ's, which is a complex for travellers with a good bar - cheap beer and reasonable food. It's very laid back. We can also recommend the Dragonfly restaurant and bar. We enjoyed an excellent curry and steaks there. Cape Tribulation is a truly wonderful place. We went jungle surfing on arial slides through the canopy led by a fantastic group of young people. We went crocadile spotting on the Daintree River but just taking a walk on the many beautiful beaches and through the boardwalks was amazing. On the way to our next destination we went to the Discovery Centre where you can go round the boardwalk and see the beauty of the rainforest. We were lucky enough to see a cassawary emu type bird with a black neck and spectacular brilliant blue plume. Altogether a fantastic experience in an awe inspiring place.

  • Liked — Outdoor living
  • Tips/Secrets — You definately need a car
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CASTLEFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

The Rainforest Hidaway was built by a guy called Rob over the past 13 years and features a 4 unique lodges and rooms slap-bang in the middle of the Cape Trib rainforest. We stayed in the main lodge which is a single wooden room (double bed) with a bathroom and toilet built on the side of the lodge facing out to the rainforest. Honestly, going to the toilet and looking out into the rainforest is a pretty great experience!

Each morning you can go to the main house and have breakfast and chat to the fellow guests and Rob and his partner, Delphina. Breakfast consists of local tropical fruit (gorgeous), home made yogurt and cereal and toast. All very relaxing and the bonus is that each morning a Cassowary comes in and joins you (it keeps it's distance!) - trust me, this is a pretty rare experience, most Aussies would kill for this, but we had it every morning.

This is true eco-acommodation - all electricity is solar powered so there's no fridge in your room, instead you use the gas powered one in the main house, and you can't use things like hair dryers. Being in the rainforest, obviously expect it to be humid and there to be creepy-crawlies everywhere - but there's no mosquitoes or any dangerous creatures in this rainforest, so it's all gravy. Rob keeps everything immensly clean - we had a 6 month old baby with us (the first baby ever to visit apparently) and we had no problems at all.

Rob will make all the tour bookings for you and Delphina is on hand for a crystal healing massage (recommended!). Cape Trib is a beautiful place - we recommend the Rum Runner Reef tour (100% living reef) and the Crocodile Tour on the daintree river (bargain at $23). To top it all, on our way back from the reef we spotted 4 humpback whales, and two of them came within a few feet of the boat. Unbelievable experience.

I totally recommend the Rainforest Hideaway - don't be scared, we had a baby and had no problems - it's clean, relaxing, friendly and a totally unforgettable experience. We stayed for 5 nights, I wish we'd stayed longer.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steelcity_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Tribulation
14.1 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
#2 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#1 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
538 reviews
10.1 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
8.4 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Hideaway

Property: Rainforest Hideaway
Address: Lot 19 Camelot Close, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Tribulation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique accommodation deep inside the world's oldest rainforest. Solar powered eco-accommodation without some of the luxuries and facilities of the big resorts, but comfortable and located within walking distance of beach, restaurants, shop and National Park boardwalks. On the two hectare property there is a sculpture trail showcasing sculptures created by the owner and several visiting artists, fishponds and a beautiful freshwater creek. This place is owner-built and owner-managed, and your host is always happy to provide you with tips on where to go and what to do and book any activities you'd like to do. Prolific wildlife is another feature of this property, especially the cassowaries that frequently visit the place. You can make your holiday action-packed with the local tours such as snorkeling, jungle surfing, horse riding, sea kayaking etc. or total relaxation by hanging out on the property on the seats on the sculpture trail, or in the hammocks around the house. Keep in touch with the outside world through free Wifi. If you are an artist you might even like to add your own creation to the sculpture trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Rainforest Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Hideaway Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing