We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This place is amazing! It's a family owed tropical fruit farm with little one bedroom/bath cabins nestled between the banana trees. They give you so much fruit for breakfast that my mother and I were able to eat it everyday for breakfast and lunch. I ate the best mango of my life there and when the rest of Australia was paying 9.99/kg for bananas due to crop damage we were getting 2-3 with our breakfast every morning. They help you book all of your tours through them which is nice since there is almost no cell service. If you are looking for a few days off the map then this is the place: solar power, no cell service, no Internet, walk to the beach every morning and just lay around. We loved it so much we spent an extra night there rather than go back to cairns. If you are going to the Daintree then bypass every other place and go straight here and then stay for 4-5 days.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodlover0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 147 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have booked this accomodation for only 2 nights after looking for something more individual and we have enjoyed every minute of it together with my 2 sisters and my 16 year old niece. We have booked two cabins for the 4 of us and were sitting together out the front veranda each night after dinner enjoying the tranquility of this place watching the stars and listening to the sounds of the jungle. The owners Dawn and Collin were very helpful in our every day organisation trying to see and explore as much as we can. The provided morning fruit basket was a feast for us with lots of different and exotic fruit. Besides the provided muesli it was a perfect start for the day. The kitchen was tidy and there were always Dawn or her husband around to help making coffee or answering questions or just having a chat. The cabins were very comfortable, the beds had very good mattresses.
We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We booked this accommodation on the back of other reviews on Trip Advisor, and we weren't disappointed. The owners, Dawn and Colin couldn't be more welcoming, informative and friendly. We stayed in the house, rather than the chalets, and within minutes of arrival our children (daughter aged 14, sons aged 12 and 10) were off exploring. They were captivated by the rainforest and all the creatures to identify - we even saw a cassowary. We'd stayed 5 days in Port Douglas prior to our 2 night stay, and with hindsight wished we'd done it the other way round. If you love nature and the outdoors, there's so much to see and do. If you like lots of home comforts, internet access and nearby restaurants, it's not for you. But for solitude, bbq'ing under candlelight, playing scrabble with the kids and quality family time whilst listening to the sounds of the rainforest, it will take some beating.
It is an absolute gem and exactly what trip advisor is for - we'll be back.

Room Tip: Due to 5 being in our part, we stayed in 2 large rooms in the house. However, otherguests confirmed...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at the Cape Trib farmstay cabins for only two nights.
We wished we could stay longer. Our cabin was one of 3 and we had a delightful view of Mt Sorrow from the front of our cabin.
The bathrrom and cabin were spotlessly clean and very cheerful and bright.
Included in our overnight stay was an exotic fruit basket for breakfast.
I even had the rare and very expensive bananas to eat.
Ii was soo relaxing to sit on our cabin porch in the evening and watch the twillight approach while we sipped on a wine. Back to nature, peace and quiet.

I highly recommend staying in these cabins.
Our hosts were very helpful and booked us on a coopers creek croc tour.
I do recommend the croc tour as a outing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenthemother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Cape Tribulation is a special part of the world, know as where the 'rainforest meets the sea' it is a truly beautiful area. My friend & I were without car so chose Cape Trib Farmstay because of it's central location to the small shop opposite PK's & proximity to Whet (an excellent restaurant). True to it's description we had a cabin whose only view was of Mount Sorrow neslted in amongst lush fruit trees and skirted by rainforest. They've kept any 'human footprint' to a minimum. No manmade walkways to our accommodation, no tv and they ask you not to use a hairdryer due to being powered by solar. Just perfect!! Beds were comfy and the cabin had a cottage feel. Vicky was a lovely host (even running us to PK's on the morning of our departure to catch our bus), full of information about the area and provided us a simple yet exotic breakfast (even though most fruits were out o season we had a delicous range to sample each day). Highly recommended for those who desire tranquility ,simplicity & quality. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misskja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at the Farmstay for just one night, but would have liked to stay for another (they were booked, unfortunately). It was great. If you are looking to come to Cape Trib, don't be put off by the idea of staying on a "farm". The cottage was extremely comfortable, though small, and the bed was amazing. Dawn, the owner, is extraordinarily helpful. She greeted us warmly with tea and helped us make the most of our brief visit by telling us about the walks, excursions, and side trips available to us. Would definitely stay here again, and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mybabypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Stumbled across this gem after our initial booking at a camp site fell through. I concur with other positive feedback that it's a hippy-esque environment for people that don't take themselves too seriously. The cabin was neat and clean with electricity, toilet and hot shower. The farm itself was a wonderland to explore with 4000 trees on it.

Dawn and Colin and their lovely family made us feel very welcome. They even took my friend's mother (who doesn't speak English but got along with the hosts like a house on fire) out fishing on a boat. We werer so well looked after that we ended up staying two extra nights.

THe hosts have the farm to look after most of the time so don't expect them to be on standby. But they would go out of their way to advise you on your trips and make your stay comfortable.

Have been recommended the place to my friends ever since!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneZhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Tribulation
14.6 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
556 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rainforest Hideaway
Rainforest Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#9 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
357 reviews
8.8 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
10.4 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Trib Farmstay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Trib Farmstay B&B

Address: 3939 Cape Tribulation Rd, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Tribulation
Price Range: $123 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Trib Farmstay B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Trib Farmstay is a unique bed & breakfast accommodation establishment set amongst a 30 acre tropical fruit orchard at Cape Tribulation in the Daintree, Far North Queensland. Both the iconic Cape Trib (Kulki) Beach, and the stunning Myall Beach are very close - a 10 minute walk to "Where the Rainforest meets the Reef." All the best Cape Trib adventure activities, restaurants, and walks are within 5 minutes' drive. This is a natural retreat for eco travelers, bird watchers, animal/nature lovers and guests who seek a true Australian and family environment in which to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Cape Trib Farmstay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing