We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow service, overpriced un-inspiring food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Tribulation Beach House Bistro

Cape Tribulation Beach House Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slow service, overpriced un-inspiring food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Granted that the Beach House is in a remote location but this is no excuse for serving up ordinary food at inflated prices. Breakfast took 45 minutes for scrambled eggs and bacon to appear! Staff were in short supply at brekky with one person taking orders, money and cooking the food and taking it out to tables! Note to management, a sign explaining the breakfast options would really help people ! The whole place is a bit run down and unloved, I would recommend by-passing the bistros for a cafe or hotel nearby.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Prue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    38
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cape Tribulation Beach House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

My family visited Cape Tribulation Beach House in June 2014. The restaurant ambience was excellent and the food even better. The best steak I have had! Service was with a smile and the staff were great. The beach was literally a couple of steps away from the pristine beach. Imagine sitting on the beach under the shade after a fantastic meal, and watching a sailing ship pass by. Then walk along the beach with not a care in the world. That was our experience. Wish we had stayed overnight at the Cape Tribulation Beach House, unfortunately we were departing Cairns the next day. A must see and visit to this restaurant when you are in Cairns (and visiting the Cape Tribulation area).

To make it easier for fellow travellers here is a link to the website:

http://www.capetribbeach.com.au/

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sapp D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive & service varies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

The food was a bit pricey but it was very good. We ate late at night, the food was great. When we ordered breakfast the four of us were almost served one at a time so we ended up watching each other eat. So make sure you order together so it's all ready at the same time.

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place with amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We are a family of 4 travelling Australia for 6 weeks.

We had 4 days in Cape Trib and found this restraint to be our favorite.

The staff were brilliant and the food is fantastic. It is right on the beach.

Just to show how friendly the staff are.....we really wanted to buy a cricket set while we were in Australia but could not find one. The staff just lent us a set , no worries and no hassle.

Food well priced, well cooked and beer was always good.

Thank you one and all

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
217 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice setting but food pricy and what else is there to do here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

You feel like you are in a Disney themed restaurant only this one is in a real rainforest. And no beach view??
A comfortable place to sit even if you brought your own lunch, but menu pricy I thought.
Clearly this is meant for backpackers with the various lodges around, but not quite for me then.
Lovely, but short, beach walk with clear white sands.
Personally I couldn't see what else you would want to do here and staying up to an hour or two is fine. Any longer?? Not for me.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Tribulation Beach House Bistro also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Cape Tribulation Beach House Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing