We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great party place and great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PK's Jungle Village
Western Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great party place and great Location”
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I stayed at cape trib with my partner for 4 nights and it was excellent. The staff were wonderfull and helpfull with what to do in the area. I had heard a few bad reports from previous years but I still went and dont regret it at all. If your looking to get away from the busy life and relax in the jungle or if you are looking to party away from the citys then this is the place for you. The Staff put on a beach party afterwards and it is something i wont forget..two thumbs up!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katy84ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    67
    59
    51
    60
See reviews for
43
78
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

... I stayed at PK's as part of an two day/one night package trip from Cairns. I originally had booked the doormstyle room, but for about 20USD I upgraded to my own room. I came here suggested by a friend of mine and I had a really good time. The rooms were okay, of course small and not four star hotel like, but hey it's a hostel in the middle of the rain forest. It's in a beautiful natural setting (beach really close by and wonderful), so I liked the little huts/bungalows set back in a lush green scenery and to me it fit perfectly into the rain forest area. Afterall going there is a trip to explore nature at it's purest and not a trip to Vegas. They offered all kinds of acitivities, horseback riding, jungle surfing, guided night walks etc. I read a lot of these bad reviews here and yes the rooms and facilities could have been cleaner, but I think its is a harder task for them, especially if you are there in the rainy season, everything is just wet and damp and muddy all around, well it's the rain forest. But most likely most of the tourists stay a night or two on an excursion side trip from Cairns, so for a short time, it was totally okay. To me the staff was great, especially the one girl who worked reception (I forgot her name - it was May 1 to May 2), was incredibly nice and helpful. They were dealing with more extreme than usual tarantial rain fall, longer than the regular wet season, so unfortunately they had a power outage overnight in parts of PK's. That girl had to break the news to guests and was extremly nice and helpful about it, she even gave me her own personal flashlight for the night to find my way through the PK Village. The PK'S Jungle Bar did have power, so everybody gathered there for the evening and it was a lot of fun to meet travelers from all over the world as well as very fun chatty locals. The food at the bar was okay and the staff also friendly. Pricewise, well I found it not to much different than other places in Australia, i.e. Ayers Rock etc, but I also live in NYC, so I am not "spoiled with daily life expenses bargains".

I say, if you are a little more on the high maintenance side, this is not your place for sure. But if you like outdoors activity, love to go camping, hiking, fishing, it's a great place to be.

I had a fun time there and would definitely go back.

A. New York City.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2010

The staff wasn't friendly or helpful. There are lots and lots and lots of teenagers there so if you bring alcohol they will confiscate it from you. We had a room for 2 people with shower, for the same price you can get much nicer rooms. Our room was tiny! If you want to drink something you have to go to their bar where you'll find very unplesent bartenders.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Tribulation hotels

Roscommon, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Don't bother staying here!! Cape Tribulation is a gorgeous place but any other hostel had to be better than this. Our room was literally a shed with a few beds thrown in it. Kitchen is absolutely dire, filthy with no utensils, ugh it was disgusting. The bar and kitchen were an absolute rip off and the internet was a joke-$9 for an hour!!

The staff took the biscuit though, the blonde girl behind the bar was so rude and clearly hated her job and took it out on customers. The ones in reception spent the whole time either talking to each other or on the phone to their friends and it killed them to help you.

There was a comment book that had all these complaints in it and they obviously read it but took no action to improve anything. Oh and the girls in reception had tipp-exed out a few of the complaints about themselves and wrote stuff over them like "The girls in reception are hot". Sad.

I recommend spending your money some where else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _neisey_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2009

PK's Jungle Village was a great get away from the city life, the sights in cape trib are unlike anything you have ever seen. During my stay here the locals to me under there wings showing me all the the great sights that you only get to see through living there. Over my time here got to see all the wildlife, go horse riding and see the great beauty of the the beaches and rainforest. I found the service here fantastic, all the staff were friendly and helpful. Its atmosphere is great all week long, with the manager out mingling with everyone on the weekends. I did find the rooms to not be the biggest however you don't really need that much space, when the only time you spend in your room is sleeping. I found the service here extravagant, by the time it came to leave I didn't want to go. I could only find one flaw at this jungle getaway, which was a homeless man with his toy unicorn (charlie) who he can be seen talking to. But altogether It was a great stay and i will definatly be going back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbman_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

If you like...
* smelly, dirty toilets...
* rude staff...
* MASSIVE spiders....
* crappy rooms
* unsightly showers
Go to PKs...

We stayed for 15 minutes and headed back to Cairns for the best night out!
Funny thing is you can get an unreal clean hotel room with a pool and excellent facitilies in Cairns for $70 a night.... PKs was $95.. what the??
We stayed at Cairns Plaza and found it very well worth the 3 hour trip back from a lovely DAY TRIP to Cape Tribulation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank loulou1979Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay, Devon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Really wish we hadnt decided to stay in Cape Trib and had headed back to Cairns or Port Douglas after a day trip. We were recommended to come here by a friend (did not thank her afterwards!). We had a tiny tin hut which was damp and smelly.
The hostel is a very short walk to the beach but there is nothing to do here! The staff were quite rude and abrupt, the food which is served was horrible and expensive, there is a small mini mart by the hostel which sells (expensive) and limited stuff (we ended up having doritos with cheese and bbq sauce for tea!) and there was no atmosphere here. The kitchen was tiny and very dirty with hardly any utensils. Could not wait to leave this place after one nights stay (we had originally booked two nights so thank god we reconsidered).
Sorry but cannot recommend this place.

  • Liked — Nothing, maybe its close proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurapoo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Tribulation
14.5 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
546 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#8 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
0.1 mi away
Safari Lodge
Safari Lodge
#9 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
24 reviews
9.8 mi away
Daintree Crocodylus
Daintree Crocodylus
#1 of 2 in Cow Bay
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK's Jungle Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK's Jungle Village

Property: PK's Jungle Village
Address: Cape Tribulation Road (PMB 7), Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cape Tribulation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PK's Jungle Village 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PK's Jungle Village offers comfortable, affordable accommodation for families, backpackers and adventure travellers. We offer a range of accommodation from campsites and dorms through to private ensuites. All of our rooms have air conditioning. Located in the heart of Cape Tribulation, PK's is the perfect base to explore the Daintree. Our friendly reception staff can help arrange tours and activities in the area, we have an on site bar and restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as an IGA supermarket located just next door. Best of all...the beach is just a 2 minute walk away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your PK's Jungle Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pk`s Jungle Village Hotel Cape Tribulation
PK's Jungle Village Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing