We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“time away in the tropics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PK's Jungle Village
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“time away in the tropics”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in Pk's jungle village for six days. We rented a bungalow with ensuite bathroom set at the back of the backpacker's resort in a lush garden.
The people here were fabulous and the setting is very beautiful. There were a few niggles however. The rooms and air conditioning were noisy, the pillows very poor and the food needed thinking about. The menu was short and only one change was made during the time we were there, the toast at breakfast was white packet loaf which seems very out of date.
Despite these annoyances the beach, the people and the lush tropical jungle were worth returning to.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the resort were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank di j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankVDHeijden, Owner at PK's Jungle Village, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Di J,

Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback about your stay at PKs Jungle Village.

Your feedback is very valuable to us and I will endeavor to address your concerns about the air-conditioning, pillows and breakfast menus.

Thank you again for your stay with us,

Kindest Regards,

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    66
    57
    51
    58
See reviews for
42
77
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

So the hostel was good however unfortunately it was ruined by one rude French/Canadian guy with dread who worked there on reception. I have never met anyone with such bad social skills and he should definitely NOT be working in any position where any customer service skills are required because he has NONE!!! Ruined the stay there to be honest which is a shame. I was with 3 other people who also felt the same so all in all ... maybe have a staff rethink!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimclarke89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankVDHeijden, Owner at PK's Jungle Village, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Kimclarke89,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your stay at the PKs Jungle Village.

I am sorry to hear you've had a bad experience with one of our staff members, and I would love for you contact me so that I can hear about your experience in more detail , could you please call me on 07 4098 0040 so that I can get to the bottom of this?

Kindest Regards,

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

After a fantastic experience on our previous trip to P.K's we were very disappointed when we returned a few weeks ago. The reception was chaotic and the girl behind the counter was obviously out of her depth. When we were finally given our key (after 23 minutes....sigh) we found our en-suite room (it must have been 35 degrees inside)...the sheets had not been changed and the bathroom had the signs of being cleaned ( hygiene paper over the toilet) but was dirty. When we returned to reception to ask for some clean sheets we were referred to the " Manager"( I put this in italics as the arrogant young man in a basketball singlet with gold chains, baggy pants and his cap in backwards advised me he was the owner) who offered us a drink voucher and said he would be right on it. 2 hours later a very stoned kid took 45 minutes to change our sheets and wipe the toilet. As we returned from a below average meal in the restaurant we passed what we were later told was the staff quarters, the " manager " and 2 scruffy boys were smoking something other than tobacco. Needless to say we didn't stay the 4 days we had pre-paid. We checked out the next morning and are still trying to get out money refunded. Such a shame.......

Room Tip: I have nothing positive to say about P.K's
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankVDHeijden, Owner at PK's Jungle Village, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Chelle,

I am sorry to hear that you've had an unpleasent encounter with the front office staff at the PKs Jungle Village, however, I am very suprised to hear about the "Manager" you refer to, as I am the only Manager on site and our staff are in no way allowed to wear basketball singlets and caps.

Your comment regarding "stoned kids" seems very suprising to me as well, as we have a strict zero-tolerance policy for illegal substance use at PKs Jungle Village.

However, I would like to know more about these incidents and therefore invite you to call myself (Frank) on 07 4098 0040 as I would like to get to the bottom of this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Tribulation hotels

Logan Village, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a voucher which we found in an information centre in Cooktown otherwise overpriced accommodation for what you get. Had a double room with ensuite great first night no one else in our 4 separate room accommodation separated by only walls. There is no privacy once you have neighbours in adjoining rooms unless you like to listen to someone else snoring, coughing, moving about and passing wind lol. Great location though close to beach and nice dining and bar area, big tv for viewing if needed. Found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. Definitely a great place for campers and backpackers and those wanting some time with nature.

Room Tip: take you own camper/caravan/tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madonna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankVDHeijden, Owner at PK's Jungle Village, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Madonna,

Thank you very much for leaving feedback about your stay at the PKs Jungle Village.

We value your feedback enormously as this is what drives us to keep improving the Cape Tribulation experience!

Kind Regards,

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Sound, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I didnt know what to expect when I booked into PK's Jungle Village - but was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The common area/dinning/bar area was spacious, fun and clean. The food was much nicer then most hostels, however, expensive. The cabbins were basic cabbins, nothing special, as were the shower area and kitchen area. They had a gorgeous pool area and the grounds were kept in great condition. Behind the main hostel bit, theres the camping area, which looked nice as well. Theres also a little pathway leading down to the beach - which is a must see if youre at PK's. Overall, this hostel was nice, clean, and fun and I would go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenNicole91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankVDHeijden, Owner at PK's Jungle Village, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi LaurenNicole91,

Thank you so much for leaving your feedback about your stay at PKs Jungle Village.

We value your feedback as we try and make everyone's Cape Tribulation experience the best that we can!

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

It's rare that I ever rate any where poorly but this place was poor. The reception was chaotic and the French receptionist not interested and only concerned about me paying a $20 deposit in cash. As I was camping I asked what the deposit was for? I never received a a satisfactory reply and can only assume the deposit was a bonus for the staff if I forgot to collect it the next day as was told that it could only be collected between very narrow times? Next was the potential for credit card fraud, so pay attention dear reader; I offered to pay with my credit card, but it was not processed there and then. I was told to write down my card details on a piece of paper including the expiry date and the three digit security code. No way would I be so stupid so I paid cash, but I wonder how many guests, especially young and vulnerable backpackers, find that their card details are used for fraudulent transactions? This was a disgraceful lack of security. The bar was dreadful with a stoned youth trying his best to grope every female in sight and the staff just ignored him. The cooking facilities for campers in the campers' kitchen consisted of two gas rings for all campers, a filthy microwave oven, two broken kettles and a dead electric hot plate ( no pans provided). The bins were overflowing with rubbish and whilst eventually eating outside I saw my first Australian rat running around the kitchen , and no it wasn't a rare marsupial , it was a rat. Do your self a favour and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raadjjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankVDHeijden, Owner at PK's Jungle Village, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi raadjjh,

Thank you for providing your feedback about your stay at PKs Jungle Village.

I am sorry to hear you've had a bad experience upon check in, however, the $20 cash deposit is required when guests pay their stay with cash and acts like a bond for your stay, just like any other hotel would put a hold of a certain amount of money on your credit card in case of damages etc..

Our check in process requires guests to put down credit card details, this is the same in 99% of hotels in Australia, so I am not quiet sure why this would call for accusing our staff of being involved in fraudulent activities.

Lastly, PKs Jungle Village has a zero-tolerance for illegal substance abuse on it's properties for both guests and staff alike.

I invite you to please give me a call on 07 4098 0040 as I would like to learn more about your experience and find out where and who you dealt with in order for us improve our business.

Kindest Regards,

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I found this an over priced cabin. The sheets were stained, the beds are worst than terrible. There are no windows. The bathroom is in desperate need for a screwdriver.

On top of this, the continental breakfast does not include coffee.

On the bright side, the beach is beautiful surrounded by unbelievable mangroves

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argis61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Tribulation
14.5 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
346 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#1 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
9.8 mi away
Daintree Crocodylus
Daintree Crocodylus
#1 of 2 in Cow Bay
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
#2 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK's Jungle Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK's Jungle Village

Property: PK's Jungle Village
Address: Cape Tribulation Road (PMB 7), Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cape Tribulation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PK's Jungle Village 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PK's Jungle Village offers comfortable, affordable accommodation for families, backpackers and adventure travellers. We offer a range of accommodation from campsites and dorms through to private ensuites. All of our rooms have air conditioning. Located in the heart of Cape Tribulation, PK's is the perfect base to explore the Daintree. Our friendly reception staff can help arrange tours and activities in the area, we have an on site bar and restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as an IGA supermarket located just next door. Best of all...the beach is just a 2 minute walk away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your PK's Jungle Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pk`s Jungle Village Hotel Cape Tribulation
PK's Jungle Village Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing