We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PK's Jungle Village
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Terrible hostel!!!
We had an awful experience at PK’s Jungle Village.
The staff is the most unknowledgeable and rude ever!
We arrived at 5.10pm, 10 minute after the official closing time.
At the bar/front desk no one was there and a couple of guys were playing pools at the bar pool table. They saw me right away. After walking around for a while looking for someone to talk too ….I discovered that one of these guys is the front desk guy!! He, very annoyed as I interfered with his pool game time, finally tells me to wait and go to look for the staff on duty in the kitchen.
The girl comes out and checks us in. We pay 28 AU$/each for a 4-bed mix dorm, (more expensive that a 6-bed mix dorm) that we will occupy in 3 people. When we get to the room ….it is a 6-bed dorm!
Hopefully, the manager is passing by chance by bicycle and, when I ask him what the deal is, he tells me to go back and ask again to be assigned a 4-bed dorm, which happens eventually.

The room however stinks of mold and humidity like hell, and it looks worse than the first barracks I slept in when I entered in the army! Plus …it has only one tiny window ….with no mosquito net ….come-on guys!!! We are in the tropics and in a forest right!!!

But the worst is the kitchen, which is basically unusable. 2 gas stoves working out of 6 ….to serve the WHOLE HOSTEL GUESTS!!!! Fortunately is almost low season and only about 30% of the hostel is full, but we still have to wait in line for the privileged to access the stoves for cooking. Then the final blow! The kitchen does not provide any plate or cutlery ….which you have to rent at the front desk for 20$ deposit!!!!! However, at the front desk they do not have any “real” kitchen supplies …..except for little plastic plates and forks (for free)!!!!!!
Finally, the cooking pots and tools in the kitchen then are inexistent! Only 2 pots and 2 fry pans, not other cooking tools available!!! Bottom line, the kitchen is unusable.
The sad part is that the kitchen is unusable because the hostel has his restaurant/kitchen and we are sure that the trick is to prevent the guests to cook their own to food force them to pay for the expensive meals at the hostel kitchen.

Although cape tribulation is a fantastic location ….We left the next morning for the perfectly organized, lovely managed and divinely located Crocodylus forest village, 20 Km south of cape Tribulation.

Take home message: unless you like a party place to get drunk in the forest (why you would do that? ….just do it in a party city, right!!), stay away from PK’s Jungle Village!

Room Tip: Go to Crocodylus Forest Village .....we had a blast!!! :-)
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giorgio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for PK's Jungle Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 310 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed in a double room with an en-suite and it was lovely. It felt very secluded despite being a fairly large resort, just watch out for the spiders, they are huge!! The room was very clean and it was nice having the outside seating where you could chill out. From PK’s you can go on walks through the rainforest, or easily get to the beach and the shops on site were very convenient –didn’t come across any others. The restaurant was good, and the pizza amazing. One evening my partners food came out way before mine after the orders got mixed up, but the staff were very apologetic and I wasn’t charged for my dinner or breakfast the next day! The staff are helpful and recommend activities for us to do. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniferj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Nice place with swimming pool. Rooms were okay but we had no air con, so bloody hot.. Overall we enjoyed the meals there and had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MereldeBoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We got a double room which was a swetty box, aircon did not work very well at all and sounded like a tractor. Not a lot of sleep was got ! ( informed reception) Sheets were musty, the bathrooms were basic. I would have hated to see the budget, suppose to be smaller if possible !
Bar looks really nice, but the awful music they had on was so bad and loud no one could mix and talk to eachother. In a beautiful rainforest more chilled out music,, instead of really heavy dance would be an idea, everyone left the bar cause the music was so bad and loud.
Girl in reception was nice and friendly, but the bar staff were unfriendly and unintrested. Seemed they didnt want customers there.
The place and the surrounds have a possibility to be great.. its a pity a few things are letting it down, being some of the staff and the rooms could be nicer. Seems to be run cheap.

Room Tip: Stay at another hostel
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d9959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We've eaten here on several occasions when travelling in or through the Daintree. Good solid meals well prepared and fast service. Don't expect gourmet but stick to the ribs and value for money. The teenagers are full after :) Always plenty of people watching available - which is half the fun. Pleased to notice the place had been given a spring clean between this visit and the last.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssenceOfGoodTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed at a 4 persons dorm that had a very very bad mould smell. matrasses are old ans sheets need replacement.
Bathrooms were very old and dirty.
Food for dinner was not worth eating. (we ordered lasagne and they served us 5 minutes later, must be microwaved- and even then it's not even as good as microwaves lasagna and believe me i tried a few)
Service was ok, nothing bad, but definately not anything special. They didnt know the organisation we booked through and made that very clear to us on arrival. (we booked through the main tourist inforation centre in Cairns)

Overall not impressed. Cape Trib is absolutely fantastic, but I will never return to PK's

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liezannu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

some people will find something to complain about even when in the middle of paradise. the facilities are basic but this is reflected in the price. The staff are mega friendly, the views are awesome, the place is well maintained. The bar is very reasonably priced, especially due to the fact that there are few/no other options... and the new bar manager is fabulous at making cocktails.

I would recommend this place to anyone who is up for a great time and those of u who arent- stay at home!!!

Love Meg
x

Room Tip: if u want luxury pay more.. if you want budget go dorm. and dont blame the staff if ur roommates are...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg-a-doodle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Tribulation
14.5 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
557 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#9 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Safari Lodge
Safari Lodge
#8 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
26 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
0.2 mi away
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
#1 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK's Jungle Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK's Jungle Village

Address: Cape Tribulation Road (PMB 7), Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cape Tribulation
Price Range: $39 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — PK's Jungle Village 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PK's Jungle Village offers comfortable, affordable accommodation for families, backpackers and adventure travellers. We offer a range of accommodation from campsites and dorms through to private ensuites. All of our rooms have air conditioning. Located in the heart of Cape Tribulation, PK's is the perfect base to explore the Daintree. Our friendly reception staff can help arrange tours and activities in the area, we have an on site bar and restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as an IGA supermarket located just next door. Best of all...the beach is just a 2 minute walk away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your PK's Jungle Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pk`s Jungle Village Hotel Cape Tribulation
PK's Jungle Village Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing