We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice restaurant”
Review of On the Turps

On the Turps
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our international chef will tantalise your tastebuds with Mediterranean style quality food using the finest of local ingredients. Dine with the bandicoots for dinner and enjoy breakfast and lunch overlooking the magical Cooper Creek.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Lovely restaurant in an attractive hotel setting looking into the forest. Good food and service. Not a budget meal but value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeriX2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    42
    11
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quite good”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

On the Turps is close to what a Daintree tourist facility should be. Its tucked away in the jungle with a little creek right next to the outdoor dining area. Unlike several other eateries, the generator is out of hearing range & the only audible sounds are those provided by nature. General presentation was fine and prices quite reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wow what a meal!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and i have just finished what we both think is one of the best meals we have had in ages! The setting in the rainforrest is great and the food is to die for. Great sized meals and reasonably priced. We will be letting all our friends headding this way know about this spot. Thanks for a great night on the Turps!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbuchan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food, beautiful setting”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went to this restaurant with my boyfriend, we had three courses each and they were all delicious. Definitely go for dishes with locally sourced produce if you can, you can't go wrong with courses involving tropical fruit or barramundi. The rainforest setting is fabulous as well, and the ambience is really special. When we were there someone proposed to their girlfriend, which gives you an idea of the sort of setting to expect! There is even a friendly bandicoot that wanders about while you are eating, very endearing. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Lovely setting, nice menu with a range of food which was great quality. Good wine and friendly service. Would recommend it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank OSull123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Turps also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to On the Turps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing