We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, beautiful setting”
Review of On the Turps

On the Turps
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our international chef will tantalise your tastebuds with Mediterranean style quality food using the finest of local ingredients. Dine with the bandicoots for dinner and enjoy breakfast and lunch overlooking the magical Cooper Creek.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food, beautiful setting”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went to this restaurant with my boyfriend, we had three courses each and they were all delicious. Definitely go for dishes with locally sourced produce if you can, you can't go wrong with courses involving tropical fruit or barramundi. The rainforest setting is fabulous as well, and the ambience is really special. When we were there someone proposed to their girlfriend, which gives you an idea of the sort of setting to expect! There is even a friendly bandicoot that wanders about while you are eating, very endearing. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    43
    11
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Lovely setting, nice menu with a range of food which was great quality. Good wine and friendly service. Would recommend it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank OSull123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had some very delicious meals at On the Turps”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We recently stayed at the Heritage Lodge and Spa for three nights. The meals in the restaurant were so delicious that we ate there every night.
Try the crab and prawn dim sims, the steak, roasted tomato and goats cheese tart and the soup of the day. The accompanying bread is so delicious.

Excellent service as well. The wait staff are very attentive and friendly.

Dining in an outdoor (undercover) restaurant in the Daintree is something special...especially when you are visited by Barney the Bandicoot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jules d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“beautiful river setting”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Breakfast overlooking the river such a lovely way to start the day, looking down at little turtles and fish swimming in the pools, birds singing and butterflies amongst the trees. Delicious food and friendly service. Excellent dinner as well, although the variety of cream soups not very appealing, especially when you just want a simple light meal. Worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sahara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“RECOMMENDATION COMES WITH SOME RESERVATION”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were recomended (oddly enough by the National Parks Authority) to go for lunch and wow so glad that we did. From the moment that we walked in we were really looked after. There were a couple of tour groups there but we were made to feel really special. Beautiful location over the river. Well done guys the Lamb was superb.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodFoodTaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Turps also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Diwan, Cape Tribulation
 

Been to On the Turps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing