We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great toasted sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mason's Cafe

Mason's Cafe
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mason's Cafe offers fresh food,featuring local produce where possible. Open for lunch and dinner (may be closed in the low season)we sell burgers, steak sandwiches, fish and chips and a range of reasonably priced meals and drinks. Cakes and desserts are made onsite.We specialize in Crocodile, Emu and Kangaroo Burgers, and also offer offer a tasting plate that includes all three.We serve Tichum Creek Coffee and Daintree Tea, both sourced locally.Mason's Cafe is not 'full service' we ask that you order at the counter and you are called when meals are ready.
Cooroy, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great toasted sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

A good little cafe for a quick toasted sandwich, which was very nice. The service was bit slow for such a simple order though.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    82
    61
    35
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice place - amazing menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We limited ourselves to coffee (pretty good) but they also have a very fey menu including crocodile and kangaroo burgers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hopingfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average food. Had better, had worse. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here due to offer of exotic burgers as in kanga, croc, emu, wild boar, camel etc.
The patty was fine but the 'extras' were to be honest somewhat overwhelming. Too much carrot and beetroot for my liking and the filling was so huge the bap couldn't cope.
If we go again I would be more specific with my order, as in no X and no Y...
Setting was fine and on a hot day you have the option of dripping into the private waterhole.
On the plus side the liquor store next door to the cafe has a good selection of beers and wine at reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank Howard N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Stop by because saw the sign for " the best burger".... Very expensive (around 13$) for only the burger which is full of salade tomate comcomber, meat dry and overcooked, bread too soft, no enough sauce. Cherry on the cake the burger comes without french frites.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zyryec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a tasty lunch of hamburgers. Its worth taking the time to have a swim in their beautiful bit of river too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brianna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mason's Cafe also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Mason's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing