We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Cafe' a little misleading”
Review of Mason's Cafe

Mason's Cafe
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mason's Cafe offers fresh food,featuring local produce where possible. Open for lunch and dinner (may be closed in the low season)we sell burgers, steak sandwiches, fish and chips and a range of reasonably priced meals and drinks. Cakes and desserts are made onsite.We specialize in Crocodile, Emu and Kangaroo Burgers, and also offer offer a tasting plate that includes all three.We serve Tichum Creek Coffee and Daintree Tea, both sourced locally.Mason's Cafe is not 'full service' we ask that you order at the counter and you are called when meals are ready.
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“'Cafe' a little misleading”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was delighted to be able to sample crocodile having not seen one, but was surprised with the paper plates and plastic cutlery.

If you were backpacking and hungry you'd be very happy to find this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mahuia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truelocal5, Manager at Mason's Cafe, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
I am pleased you enjoyed tasting Crocodile. When deciding on service level many things in a remote location need to be taken into account. If we served everything on china, we would need a commercial dishwasher, and this would dramatically increase our power costs. Metal cutlery has always been available on request. Also, with an a-la-carte restaurant 1km up the road, we feel that our level of service is appropriate to offer people a choice of venues. This small community is struggling, and there is little to be gained by all trying to be on the same level. You should also note that the plates used are eco friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    82
    61
    37
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No clue what they sell, clean your table yourselves”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Burgers were good and really big with a lot of vegetables. The way the girl at the bar shouts the meals is barely understandable and upon asking whatbshe said, my wife was pretty badly talked to. Looks to me like at Cape Trib some people should go and worm in the US or Caymans to learn what a customer is. Good food is only half of the equation bad service and very rude people can change the whole game

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Achim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truelocal5, Manager at Mason's Cafe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
First of all I am pleased you enjoyed your burger. The staffmember in question is from Liverpool on a work visa, and yes she has an accent. It is against Australin workplace rules to discriminate against people based on an accent. She is one of the most timid people I have ever met and doubt she was intentionally rude, however this is something I take seriously. At no point do we advertise table service, however we do clear tables after people leave. Unless it is is very busy we deliver food to the table, however it is not always possible and at that point we call people. Wages and costs are very high in the Daintree, and we believe it is better to have less staff and reasonable pricing, and most don't seem to mind. I wish I lived somewhere where cheap staff were available but I don't.....
We don't have waiters, and we do employ people with accents, but if you want a great burger or meal featuring local products come on in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
239 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Okay for a quick bite”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a quick lunch. Got a basic burger which was pretty big but not much choice if you are a veggie. Prices reasonable for the area and seemed popular with tourists.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alfielanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truelocal5, Manager at Mason's Cafe, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for your positive review. We get many compliments at the counter, but few bother to take the time to go on here. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers, a must stop”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The burgers here are great! We had the works burger and it was a definite treat. We will be back on our next trip through Cape Trib.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dandybars45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truelocal5, Manager at Mason's Cafe, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your food. We usually have our vegetarian options listed on a separate menu but a virus has infected my main computer so have not been able to print it yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Croc burger”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a find! Mason's cafe was excellent, hidden away up in Cape Trib. For a small local cafe the croc burger was amazing and service was good and friendly. Anyone who complains about flies at a cafe in Far North QLD has clearly never been anywhere tropical before. Loved the place and would gladly visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NomadLily7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truelocal5, Manager at Mason's Cafe, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
So happy you enjoyed the Croc Burger! We plan to add Buffalo, Camel and Wild Boar to the menu next season, if I can source it. Thanks for your comment re bugs in FNQ, while we obviously try to limit flies, they are part of life here, as are lots of other bugs. Hope we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mason's Cafe also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Mason's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing