We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day trip with Mike Darcy”

D'Arcy of Daintree 4WD Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 4WD tours up the Bloomfield Track to Wujal Wujal falls and Cooktown and around the Daintree Coast. Personal and intimate, each tour is tailored to offer the small group a special insight and unique experience of this wilderness paradise. Standard tours depart from Cape Tribulation (including free pick-ups from the Cow Bay area): half day to Wujal Wujal falls and full day to Cooktown. Private tours can be designed to special interests and family requirements.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Oakland, California
1 review
“Wonderful day trip with Mike Darcy”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I recently went with Mike for a day trip up through the Daintree Rainforest. Mike was a terrific guide who is not only fun to spend a day with, but he showed us all the very interesting and cool spots along the route. His knowledge of the flora and fauna is vast and he shared his love of this area with us for the day. Mike also gave us tips on the spots to stop on our way back that turned out to be very special nature walks in the rainforest. We would recommend Mike's tours to anyone interested in exploring the area in depth. We were so glad we heard about Mike and could spend the day with him.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank terry_meyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gilching, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mike D'Arcys 4WD tour one highlight of our stay in the Daintree”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our full day tour with Mike tracking Captain Cook was full of sights and information that we would otherwise not have got. Mike is very knowledgable and fun to talk to. He quizzed us on what we had already learnt about the rainforest after a two day stay in the Daintree. He knew everything about the Bloomfield track which even had a traffic light at the time of our trip. We thoroughly enjoyed Keatings Lagoon before we reached Cooktown. It was full of water lilies and Jacanas (jesus birds) hopping from leaf to leaf - very impressive and a magical place. The Coral Trout fish and chips we had upon Mike's recommendation in Cooktown were the best we had on our 7-weeks trip to Australia. The spectacular landscape at Archer Point as well as Wujal Wujal falls (no swimming because of crocodiles) will stay in our memories long after our return to Germany. And finally Mike's recommendation of the book "Into the Blue" by Tony Horwitz was a great read giving a more detailed insight of Captain Cook and his travels.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ursula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We recently had my parents from Germany here with us in Australia and they wanted to do a trip up the Bloomfield track to Cooktown. After a little research we contacted D'arcy of Daintree and, after a nice conversation with Trish, booked the trip.

What to say next... We had the most enjoyable day travelling together with Mike up the Bloomfield track (and back)! His knowledge of the area and the explanations he offered about the rainforest and its inhabitants and the beautiful spots he showed us, it was all just amazing! It never felt like we're on a schedule, it felt like we were just exploring the area.

We can wholeheartedly recommend touring with Mike, it was an excellent experience.

Thanks again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expert guide in stunning Daintree”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We did the half day tour and it was one of the best things we did on our entire trip in Australia! The Daintree is a magical place and we felt very lucky to be able to learn about it from Mike who is a genuine local expert who is very friendly and knows everything about the area so could take us to the best places. It was great fun to experience some of the best parts of the legendary 4WD-only Bloomfield Track! Mike's vehicle was very comfortable and he even emailed us photos of the trip afterwards. We self-drove from Port Douglas to meet Mike and group in the Daintree in the morning - this was an easy drive and made for a great day trip as at the end of the trip we were able to collect our car and go to some of the other attractions in the daintree on our way back to Port Douglas. Next time we will do the full day trip to Cooktown!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 615Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Extremely knowledgable, friendly host and an awesome chance to go where only 4 wheel drive can go!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was initially hesitant to pay money to do a tour (as we are not "tour" type of people and had already blown our travel budget) BUT all the locals really recommended this tour and I thought it was important to learn a bit more about the area since we had travelled all that way to experience FNQ. They all said that Mike was incredibly knowledgeable (he is!) and that it was a bit of something different to do in the Daintree (it was) and I'm really glad we went. We opted for the half day trip (which did not go to Cooktown) but did go north of Cape Trib making several stops along the way to learn about the land, flora/fauna, and a special tour with one of the elders of the Wujai Wujai Aboriginal community and to their special waterfall. Mike was fantastic, i cannot believe that all the information can exist inside of one person, he knows everything but moreover, is such a fantastic educator. it was a pleasure to listen to him and learn from him- he has such a lovely disposition and is genuinely excited about the area he lives in. His enthusiasm is infectious. He is also a bit of a local celebrity (a claim i'm sure he would deny adamantly!) and writes for the local newspapers and his amazing photographs and unique insights into the land are a regular feature in publications around the area. unfortunately we did not see any crocs on our trip that day (we were hoping we might) but i know they have been spotted on many a trip before us! i really felt that i gained a much deeper understanding of the land, the area, and the tour with the aboriginal elder was ABSOLUTELY fantastic and an experience i was so grateful to have encountered!!! mike was beyond generous with his time as our tour ran over a bit (which we were thrilled about) and oh man, wait til you try his wife's homemade banana bread and biscuits- you should be so lucky! all in all, a fantastic day with an utmost stellar guy, we are so glad they made the move up to cape trib all those years ago, i highly recommend going on one of mike's tours or atleast flagging him down for a great chat about the area if you can't make a tour. thanks guys!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beachbum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'Arcy of Daintree 4WD Tours also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to D'Arcy of Daintree 4WD Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing