We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent local knowledge, relaxed, flexible and great home cooked snacks!”

D'Arcy of Daintree 4WD Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 4WD tours up the Bloomfield Track to Wujal Wujal falls and Cooktown and around the Daintree Coast. Personal and intimate, each tour is tailored to offer the small group a special insight and unique experience of this wilderness paradise. Standard tours depart from Cape Tribulation (including free pick-ups from the Cow Bay area): half day to Wujal Wujal falls and full day to Cooktown. Private tours can be designed to special interests and family requirements.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent local knowledge, relaxed, flexible and great home cooked snacks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

We did a 4WD tour with Mike and were so relieved to find him after going on a few larger tours where we felt more like we were on a production line than relaxing on holidays. There were only 2 of us in a large 4WD and Mike was very friendly and informative and happy to answer questions - he was also happy to let you sit back and enjoy the sights. We were able to see things that we wouldn't have known about otherwise and his home cooked morning tea was great. We spent 10 days up and around Cairns/Cape Trib and this was the best thing we did while we were there.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank ruthoo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“D'Arcy of Daintree 4WD Tours is a great way to see the rainforest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Mike is a wonderful, interesting, knowledgeable guy, who really cares about the Daintree, and obviously enjoys what he does. He's also a very safe driver. We had a great time with him. I highly recommend taking a tour with D'Arcy of Daintree.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank spacecadetsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly interesting, informative, exceptional wildlife spotter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Dan is very knowledgable and friendly, loves answering questions. Clearly loves what he does. Would recommend this tour to everyone. We did the sunset tour. Much better than the nightwalk tour with other companies. What amazing wild life!

Helpful?
1 Thank Chocy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A "must do" for all who visit the Daintree”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Mike Darcy is a delightful, energetic and extremely knowledgable guide who made this day trip to the Daintree very special.
Nothing was too much for Mike and his love of the area where he lives and works was evident. He knows all the best spots to see and explore that the other tour operators miss!!!
A yummy morning tea at Mike's tropical rainforest hideaway is provided by his lovely wife.
In all this is such a thoughtful and well planned tour that does allow for extra exploring if time permits!!
A "must do" for all who visit the Daintree is a tour with Mike D'Arcy!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbounre
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A “Five Star” Trip to the Daintree”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

The D’arcy of the Daintree 4WD tour was recommended to us by the Saltwater Apartments in Port Douglas. We were picked up from Port Douglas and wound our way north to the Wujal Wujal Waterfall. Mike lives and breathes the Daintree. You see the Daintree through the eyes of someone who loves this country and this made our trip a wonderful experience. Mike has great knowledge of this area the flora and fauna and knows the best spots to stop. He knows all the locals and this adds to the experience. The rain forest, unspoilt beaches, fan palm gallery, Bloomfield Track and the Art Centre where the indigenous artists were working were just a few highlights of the tour. Lots to eat as well, delicious ice cream, lunch at the Whet Restaurant, afternoon tea, coffee, cake and ginger biscuits at his rainforest home and if you dare you can taste an ant as well. Hope to get back and do the Cooktown tour.
Thank for a great day, John and Diane Anderson

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'Arcy of Daintree 4WD Tours also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Daintree Region, Queensland
 

Been to D'Arcy of Daintree 4WD Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing