We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eerie, fascinating, amazing”

Daintree Entomological museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$153.00*
and up
Cape Tribulation and Daintree Rainforest Day Trip from Cairns or Port Douglas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jungle Bugs And Butterflies
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Eerie, fascinating, amazing”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I never thought that I would visit an insect museum. And yet, here I was parting with my hard earned dollars to see a whole museum of creepy-crawlies. I was not disappointed! The layout of the museum gave you a fascinating look into the world of entomology and showed the dazzling display of colours and shapes of the insect species. We also saw enormous stick insects and beautiful butterflies. It is an odd place to visit and strangely worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank algrant13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    17
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting place”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed this place. It was very interesting with lots of different species of both butterflies and bugs. It was a great story of how the museum all started and where all the bugs came from. Unfortunately there was not much information about the bugs. It is worth visiting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only for bug/butterfly lovers”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I'm not a massive fan of bugs(my partner is), so i went begrudgingly.
I was a bit hesitant considering the small size from the outside, but I learnt a few new things and really enjoyed the butterflies. They are from all over the world and very colourful.
We also saw some week old stick insects and learnt about the pandanus peppermint insects.
The lady is very welcoming and helpful also.

You have to remember, this is a private collection so the original owner spent a lot of time to collect and build this.
Its great if you like bugs and butterflies!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KangaEmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bega
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fantastic collection”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Absolutely mind-boggling collection of insects and butterflies - yes pinned and catalogued! There were also some live stick insects and leaf insects and peppermint stick insects which we had never seen before. Woman working there was friendly and quite knowledgeable. Person who set up museum no longer works there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank fernmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great for bug enthusiasts but not if you like your bugs alive!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was recommended to us as a great place to see bugs and butterflies. Having wondered at the butterflies we had seen I was excited to think we could go to a 'bug house' and see them all up close etc. but I was thinking of them being alive......I did not realise that this museum has lots of dead, pinned and catalogued bugs etc. great if you like that, and I probably got the wrong end of the stick - but it wasn't for us. We were shown some live stick insects and bird eating spiders - but then on to the museum which I personally did not enjoy. Doesn't mean that it's wrong for everyone though!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daintree Entomological museum also viewed

 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Daintree Entomological museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing