We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cape Tribulation Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Lovelly little campsite, with good facilities on the beach. Great spot with good clean facilities, powerred hook ups and best of all a bar serving pizzas from a wood burning oven on site. We included one night here on our touring itinery and wished we had made the time to stay longer as was paradise. We were particularly jealous when we visited the beach before we left and saw that some clever campers had made a fire and took their kettle to the beach for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phlipfolop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 236 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Cape Trib Camping is a great place to camp. It is right on the beach. Excellent campers' kitchen - large, covered, lots of chairs and tables, power to charge things, gas stove tops, bbqs, rainwater and a large fridge (wander over to the camp kitchen in the powered sites area if you need a freezer). The sites are grassy and the pub/cafe/store on site has great prices. The campsite is large and right next to the long sandy beach. I even noted that some young people had a campfire on the beach (don't know if that is in the rules but it looked great under the swaying palms right on the beach).
This place gets booked out so don't just roll up at the end of the day. If you know you are going to want to stay that day - ring in the morning before 11 am and secure a site. I guess on some busy days that may not even be enough as this is a really popular place.The unpowered sites are first come best spot. So ... don't arrive too late even if you do have a booking. But you can always move to a better spot in the morning when others move on.
You may think $40 is a lot for an unpowered site, but we thought that the location, the great facilities and the reasonable priced bar / cafe made it a great choice.
I thought that Cape Trib would be very undeveloped but there are shops (an IGA) and restaurants around so you can buy anything you have forgotten to bring with you. The camp site also has a small shop for all the basics.
I highly recommend that you spend at least two nights (we spent 3) as there is plenty to do and see. We took a Mike D'Darcy trip which we also highly recommend. We did all the boardwalk walks and both icecream places are good.
You will find reception very intermittent on the Cape and the Daintree generally. If you walk to the north end of the beach - we found good reception there.
Have a great trip - you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank JSW1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

A special beautiful paradise spot that brings the best out in you. The safari tents were basic but great for the purpose. We stayed in the family units, numbers 1 & 2. Slightly overpriced but stiil good value because of close beach location. Kitchen facilities were also very good. The Sandbar restaurant provided good company and a great atmosphere. Will certainly return to this very special place. Loved it! If you love the rustics, you'll love this place! Thanks Cape Trib for a great time.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank gorrygarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

As my girlfriend doesn't like camping we stayed in the safari tent. It is basic but clean (though it smells a bit). The camp grounds are nice, with a well equipped kitchen. But the reason to come to this place is the overwhelming nature experience. Without mobile phone reception, close to the beach and in the rainforest, it's a perfect getaway from the daily stressful life.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank PeterBelgium17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed in a lot of campsites on our trip and this was our favourite - we had an unpowered site for our tent and could choose from a huge area in amongst the trees, 30 seconds walk from the beach. there was a big camp fire lit every night to encourage people to meet, the kitchen/amenities were good and well kept and the family had recently built a beautiful bar complete with wood burning pizza oven! whilst we were there they had Italian pizza chefs fresh off the boat who made all the dough by hand - best pizza I have tasted in years! They also organised a wine tasting night on the verandah of the bar where they had representatives from 3 wineries in the barossa valley come up and do tastings/we were provided with nibbles all night for $25. The staff made us feel very welcome and were helpful with booking trips for us around cape trib - the horse riding was excellent!
recommend this place to everyone!
Alice and Graham

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham-Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This was the perfect place to spend a couple of nights with a bunch of friends keen to escape the reach of mobile phone reception and the stresses of the daily grind.

The location is beautiful, with just a strip of lush rainforest separating the camp grounds from the beach. The stinger risk is still too high to be swimming in the ocean at this time of year - and the crocs would have kept me out of the water anyway - but there's an amazing little swimming hole with crystal clear water just down the road.

The amenities were clean and reasonably well-maintained, and the showers were the best I've used in any camp ground before. We also enjoyed the communal campfire and the large shelter with barbeques and big tables (and even a fridge). The deck area by the bar was great, and the pizzas were to die for - the prawn one, I think it was called 'Reef' - was one of the best pizzas I've ever eaten.

There's plenty to do in the area - horse-riding, jungle-surfing, partying at PK's backpacker joint - but we were more than content to sit around, drink beers and enjoy being away from the real world.

A tasty tip: If you're driving up from the south, you'll pass two ice-cream joints after crossing the Daintree River. Stop at the second one (it's called Daintree Ice-Cream Company, on the left side of the road, as you head north). Delicious home-made tropical fruit ice-cream like nothing I've ever tasted outside the rainforest.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samdukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Cape Trib Camping, powered camp site, able to choose which site we wanted, amenities were clean, hot showers, bar with nice cold drinks. Special mention to Sharee who checked us in, she was so friendly and helpful, booked us on Ocean Safari reef tour, highlight of our stay but can't forget the wood fire pizzas, yummo! Literally 2 min walk from our campsite to the beach, definitely recommend a stay here, we most certainly will return!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank JFandAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Tribulation
14.0 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
572 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cape Trib Beach House
Cape Trib Beach House
#2 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Safari Lodge
Safari Lodge
#7 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#9 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
363 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
8.8 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Tribulation Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Tribulation Camping

Address: Cape Tribulation Road | Lot 11, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Cape Tribulation
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Trib Camping - beachfront camping in the World Heritage Rainforest. Powered and Unpowered sites catering for campervans, tents, motorhomes, camper-trailers and caravans. Reception open 7 days offering tour booking service for all local tours in the Daintree region, maps, books, board games, payphone, ice, bait, souvenirs, basic toiletries, local organic coffee and snacks. Facilities Include : * 2 x fully equipped camp kitchens with free BBQ's, gas cook-tops and fridges * 4 x amenity blocks with hot showers & laundry facilities. * Caravan Storage * Licensed bar and Woodfired Pizza * Woodfired Bakery Online booking or by phone - walk ins welcome. Come visit Where the rainforest meets the Reef !! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Tribulation Camping Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing