We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Tribulation Camping
Nearby Hotels
Cow Bay Hotel(Cow Bay)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Daintree Rainforest Retreat(Cow Bay)(Great Value!)
$101
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Daintree Ecolodge(Daintree)
$255
$213
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Tropical Resort(Port Douglas)
$116
$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saltwater Luxury Apartments(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$404
$366
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$152
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra On The Inlet(Port Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
149
67
14
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
67
14
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood fired pizzacamp kitchencamp groundpowered sitegreat pizzaclean facilitiessand barpizza restaurantidyllic locationbeautiful beachswimming holemyall beachcamper vanbloomfield trackamazing spotstayed nightsstayed longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 239 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Amazing people that run it,very friendly and really helpful.could have stayed for a couple of weeks was the high light of our trip.I would highly recommend this place to anyone the pick of the sights/camp grounds to stay out.they have just opened a great bar and they do amazing wood fired pizzas.love it and will deferantly come back again!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieJames24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I'd rate this place 5 stars if it wasn't for one thing - the lack of soap in the toilets. Come on, why do some holiday parks overlook this? Who wants to go to the toilet and not wash their hands properly????

Apart from that... this place is in a fantastic location, right on top of an amazing beach. The kitchen is great, the laundry is great, the showers are great (except for when they went out on my partner when she was in the middle of having a shower - apparently they had a blowout in the kitchen... unfortunate for her, but an accident of course), the staff are super bubbly and helpful which makes for a great experience, great kiosk with all we needed, the owner even seems to be on guard for people coming into the property... we were coming back to the campsite early in the morning and she was out there asking me if she could help me (in a suspicious way of course). It's a good thing to see she cares!

They are in the middle of adding a new kitchen to the southern end of the camp, and what appears to be some kind of bar/cafe thing where they have a wood fired pizza oven. This looks interesting!

Here is another tip - offer wireless internet in the campsite. You can buy kits to do this... would be great in a place where there is no mobile reception!

Will mark in my calendar for next year to book this place, and will remember to bring my soap on a rope so I can wash my hands after going to the toilet :p

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolandQuast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed overnight in Safari Tent. Good clean toilets and clean camp ground. Lots of families and couples, no rowdy groups. Tent was good and clean. Tents are close to each other, but all campers are relatively close to one another. Generater does run all night and can't hear sea due to hum. But all of Cape is run off generaters. Great location by the sea.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueleighC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Well equipped, reasonable, enormous camp kitchen, wonderful location - 100m from the beach and 500m on either direction to different walks. Nice grassy lawns to pitch your tent. Rainwater harvested drinking water. two sets of BBQs and gas stoves. Huge fridge. Really friendly staff who guided us to great tours and sites. Best deal for 25 dollars we got in Australia.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

I booked this place in deference to my boyfriend who likes camping - I do not!! The compromise was the safari tent. Despite the weather being a bit mental, a consequence of going at the beginning of the Wet season, I thought this place was great. Can't beat the location, it's a 2 minute walk to the beach which was really cool. Although I was a bit nervous about the croc signs scattered around - as noted above I'm a bit soft.

The staff are really friendly and happy to help. We were given a bag with plates, bowls, cutlery etc to use in the camp kitchen which was brilliant as we didn't have any of that stuff on us.

The camp kitchen was much more than I expected. Couple of decent burners, couple of BBQs, hot water, drinking water, washing up liquid, big fridge and plenty of benches and tables. There was a camp fire every night too.

The place was dead quiet people-wise, it was the animal noise that was the thing! Amazing once you're tuned into it all though.

The safari tent was absolutely fine, roomy enough for two. Bed more comfy than I thought it would be. Two chairs and a table on a little veranda-type affair. Also a clothes line for towels, laundry etc.

Bathrooms absolutely fine. Good showers and very clean. No issues at all.

My boyfriend used the laundry - again no probs.

Lots of stuff to see and do in the area although beware that the Daintree Ferry costs $21 return so if you need to make a few trips then it adds up.

We saw lots of wildlife including crocs, a cassowary, bush pigs, beautiful birds and butterflies, not so beautiful toads.

Overall, loved it despite the stinking hot weather, humidity, rain and thunder. The tent, the kitchen and the bathrooms all felt very solid if that makes sense. One thing I just thought of, it would be great if they added their own little basic bar/eating place - it's not necessary though as there are other places to go. Just nice to stay there of an evening out of laziness really.

It was brilliant to clear the head, do lots of reading and appreciate and learn about the absolutely beautiful rainforest. Would definitely stay again and that is a huge compliment from someone who really hates camping! :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aligs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews