We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 great days at Ferntree”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 great days at Ferntree”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Looking for 2 nights accommodation during a filming trip to the Daintree Research Observatory, Ferntree Resort was by far the best choice. Great location, spacious rooms and bathrooms, onsite restaurant made for a relaxing stay, with friendly and easygoing host Kevin generously extending checkout time for the crew, much appreciated after the sweaty shoot in the rainforest.
Reto Vetterli, Producer Swiss TV

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Reto V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    130
    67
    25
    16
See reviews for
113
130
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Lovely place, very friendly staff and good facilities. Free wifi was useful and the pool was great.
The room was quite basic but had everything I needed. Great location and the staff were very helpful, advising what to do and where to go. I had a lovely time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jcw241177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We only stayed one night and it was off season (very wet), so we cannot rate everything, but: even though it was raining all day long we really enjoyed our stay there: it felt so close to nature...very unique. Staff was friendly, breakfast was very good and the rooms (budget in our case) are really good value for money: very spacious, everything there that you need, clean but yes...you are in the rainforest, don't expect not to see any insects anywhere around the huts!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jules79_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed at the Ferntree Lodge recently had a nice time in the rainforest. Wildlife everywhere nice pool and some good walks to the beach and in the forest. very good value with very helpful managers and staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Umm stayed here - then left to another resort in the area. I would just avoid the grounds need work, the staff are in one word - rude - especially the reception person. I was not happy with the place, especially because of location - I was told on beach - ummmmmm no not really.

Better options, this place is not what they say it is in their marketing,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

What should have been our greatest ending of our Aussie trip ended with a deception. We booked ahead from cairns in the tourist information. After a month living in a car, we would like to have a great stay in Daintree.
Great location.
But.
Very poor service. Our first room was full of ants becuase they forgot to kills the ants. Restaurant was closed becuase there was no chef. Pool closed becuase no time for cleaning. Products over dated during breakfast (even after complaints from other customers the day before). Dirty selfservice kitchen (molds in fridge, products 4 months over dated). After complaining at the reception, no solution was offered. The only thing this guy could say.... " Uhhh yeah we are understaffed, I havent got a day off since 3 weeks."
If so, i should pay less since there is no service!!!
He couldnt do anything for us, and he would email us. We left with great fury because we didnt had the feeling he was hearin what we were telling him.
After a month, we never received any email.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We literally stayed in 3 different places in Cape Tribulation but Ferntree was by far the best! Their rooms are high quality and better than we expected! Family friendly and we loved it! Just like the pictures and they have all the essentials! A nearby cafe for breakfast and dinner too. The reception is well managed as they can book all your tours and know everything local about the place. The kids have free wifi so thank god for that and there are 2 pools for swimming too! We wished we had stayed longer, great place it is! Highly recommend it next time you go to Cape Tribulation!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koko k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Tribulation
14.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
530 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#1 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
538 reviews
8.5 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
PK's Jungle Village
PK's Jungle Village
#12 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
299 reviews
6.5 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
10.1 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferntree Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferntree Rainforest Lodge

Property: Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Address: 36 Camelot Close, Cape Tribulation, Queensland 4873, Australia (Formerly Ferntree Hostel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cape Tribulation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Cape Tribulation
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferntree Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by 28 acres of lush rainforest, Ferntree Rainforest Lodge boasts 2 swimming pools and an on-site restaurant and bar. The lodge offers guests a volleyball court, games room and communal area. The tour desk can arrange Zip-lining in the Rainforest Cannopy, Kayak Tours, Great Barrier Reef trips, Crocodile tours and guided Rainforest walks. Overlooking the pool, the Off The Grid at Cape Tribulation- Bar & Restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner daily. You can choose between Pizza, Steak, Barramundi (local fish), Croc Tail,salads or vegetarian dishes. We also have a great Kids Menu for under 12's. All accommodation is air-conditioned and includes a refrigerator. Some rooms include a complimentary light tropical breakfast consisting of breads, fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt and juice. Ferntree Lodge is less than 1 kilometre from both Cape Tribulation Beach and Myall Beach. Port Douglas Airport is 80km away. There is no mobile phone service in Cape Tribulation or approximately 30min radius of the resort...We offer guests a paid Wi-if service and public phone in our communal games area so you can stay in touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ferntree Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing