We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turtles !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Safari

Ocean Safari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ocean Safari offers an exhilarating ride to snorkel the pristine untouched Great Barrier Reef off the Daintree Coast at Cape Tribulation. This half day eco tour visits two different snorkel destinations, each with an extraordinary array of marine life and coral species.The tour begins at Cape Tribulation beach where guests board the vessel bound for the tropical waters of the Great Barrier Reef. After an exhilarating fast ride of approximately 25 minutes guests are ready to snorkel two fabulous locations at Mackay and Undine Reefs. On most days the rainforest can be seen along the mainland beach whilst snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, home to an abundance of marine life as well as beautiful hard and soft corals.The Ocean Safari vessel takes a maximum of 25 passengers allowing guests to experience tropical paradise and the pleasure of a small group. The vessel is based on the original design of a rescue craft and is a rigid inflatable boat driven by 700hp engines. The experienced Skipper and Eco Host ensure the trip is filled with fun and appreciation of the Great Barrier Reef and the coastal rainforest of the Daintree, two world heritage areas side by side. Magical memories like these sometimes only happen once in a lifetime. The Ocean Safari check in office is at the Turtle Rock Cafe and Safari Lodge, Cape Tribulation Road and a courtesy bus pick up from Cape Tribulation accommodation is included. Ocean Safari has Advanced Eco Accreditation.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Cow Bay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Turtles !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Flat sea, quick trip to reef, excellent instructions and assistance by crew, Thank you!
Several turtles, they come real close, did one wink ? Thousands of tiny, wildly coloured fish, great coralformation and variety and plenty of time to see it all. And everyone seemed to smile on the way back to Cape Tribulation !!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank SunshineCowBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    775
    51
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A highlight of my life! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

My snorkelling trip with Ocean Safari early this year is one of the main reasons I am going back to Far North Queensland next month! I love snorkelling but don't have the opportunity to do it very often - so this was a real treat :)

The staff were wonderful (I had been a little nervous to begin with) .. but in the end I realised I was the last one back to the boat!

We went to two different places and both were as beautiful as each other. Within 5 minutes of being in the water I found an amazing giant turtle. I could go on and on about how amazing I find the whole underwater experience.. I loved it. We found that Ocean Safari provided us with a wonderful opportunity and I will be joining them again in a few weeks. Enjoy!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank carrots33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent - Ocean Safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

Location brilliant, fast if bumpy trip out to reef, small group so much nicer than being overwhelmed by numbers. Barrier Reef wow, snokelling with guidance and help from very friendly charming young crew was brilliant, and felt safe. Would recommend going on our experience, it was certainly a highlight of our trip.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jals1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic reef adventure.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

This was by far the best reef snorkeling experience we had on our recent visit to Queensland. Small group, great knowledgeable crew and the location was just fabulous. The reef was pristine in this location (and long may it remain so). We really enjoyed our trip to and from the reef and were fortunate enough to see loads of marine life - including lots of turtles - just great - thank you Ocean Safari.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nijinsky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best reef trip EVER.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

i have been to the great barrier reef hundreds of times and this was the best reef trip ive EVER been on, hands down. best staff, shortest trip to get there, clearest water, most wildlife; i cannot rave about it enough. Deano was soooo helpful and with the low numbers the staff have the time to give you that extra bit of attention. CANT WAIT TO GO AGAIN!!!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank _misdivine_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Safari also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Ocean Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing