We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude lack of responsibility”
Review of Ocean Safari

Ocean Safari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ocean Safari offers an exhilarating ride to snorkel the pristine untouched Great Barrier Reef off the Daintree Coast at Cape Tribulation. This half day eco tour visits two different snorkel destinations, each with an extraordinary array of marine life and coral species.The tour begins at Cape Tribulation beach where guests board the vessel bound for the tropical waters of the Great Barrier Reef. After an exhilarating fast ride of approximately 25 minutes guests are ready to snorkel two fabulous locations at Mackay and Undine Reefs. On most days the rainforest can be seen along the mainland beach whilst snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, home to an abundance of marine life as well as beautiful hard and soft corals.The Ocean Safari vessel takes a maximum of 25 passengers allowing guests to experience tropical paradise and the pleasure of a small group. The vessel is based on the original design of a rescue craft and is a rigid inflatable boat driven by 700hp engines. The experienced Skipper and Eco Host ensure the trip is filled with fun and appreciation of the Great Barrier Reef and the coastal rainforest of the Daintree, two world heritage areas side by side. Magical memories like these sometimes only happen once in a lifetime. The Ocean Safari check in office is at the Turtle Rock Cafe and Safari Lodge, Cape Tribulation Road and a courtesy bus pick up from Cape Tribulation accommodation is included. Ocean Safari has Advanced Eco Accreditation.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Rude lack of responsibility”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We booked a morning reef trip through one of the local agents. At the same time we booked a river cruise for Monday, a tentative kayak booking (weather dependent) for Tuesday morning and the Ocean Safari reef trip for Wednesday morning. We paid our deposits. We were given receipts and a printout with times. Fine. We are organised. This was something we were really looking forward to.

After standing patiently in the queue, I was given very short shift when I reached the counter. I was told that our names were on the Tuesday list and, as this trip was full, could I move out of the way so that they could organise boarding. I was coerced into putting our names down for the afternoon trip and told by Jason to move aside.

Hey! I am a reasonable person. Mix-ups happen. I make mistakes .... though in this case it definitely wasn't me. I had the paperwork and the receipt clearly showing Wednesday morning. I was there when the agent booked for Wednesday morning.

The afternoon trip that we had been pressured to put our names down for as an alternative did not suit us but we could see that they were busy so we went off and had coffee and returned when things had quietened down to rebook.

If I had felt that I was somewhat brusquely asked to move to the side during their busy boarding time, things got much more heated now. I simply asked Sharee if we change our booking to a morning .... any morning.

They became argumentative and surly, telling me that they were not to blame, that it wasn't their fault, that they were tourist operators and they don't make mistakes.

I simply didn't care who made the mistake .... just that I wanted to rebook a morning trip. Maybe because I wasn't about to say that my paperwork was wrong and they were right, maybe because I was willing to take any morning and they were looking for a fight ... who knows??? but they got rude and aggressive. Jason continued ranting and declared that we were actually a "No Show" for Tuesday's trip and I should be charged for it and to return to the agent for a refund.

Good grief ... they need to take some responsibility!!! This was a mere paperwork glitch (not by me!) ... not a good sign for how much responsibility they take for the passengers on the reef trip. So sad that as there is no competition we were not able to go with another company and missed out on the reef experience.

We stayed 2 weeks in the Daintree and loved every minute of it except for our dealings with these rude tour operators.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank julnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanSafariCapeTrib, Owner at Ocean Safari, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
We apologise that you did not get to join our tour on your holiday, it was school holidays and we were full for four mornings in a row but we did have availability on the afternoon tour which you declined.We had your booking down for the day before, it is our policy to always double check the date and number of persons travelling so we dont end up with a situation where the boat is overbooked, Sharee had personally checked the details for your booking with the booking agent.Our company lost out as we ran with two seats empty but we were prepared to still honour your ticket and not charge you for the "no show" if you had joined the afternoon tour.Unfortunately your request to knock back some of our customers so you could join the tour was definately not an option. The date on your ticket had been changed which may be the cause of the confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    883
    60
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing!”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Visited cape trib from the US and this was definitely the best part. The crew was so nice and fun and the reef was breathtaking. I loved the small group and the freedom to explore the reef on your own. This is a must if you plan on visiting the reef-- the 25 min boat tide out helps too

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank eevans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We went snorkling in the Great Barrier Reef today with the Ocean Safari crew and it was amazing!! It was on my little brothers birthday so he even got one of their caps. The sea was quite rough which they warned us about before, but the boat ride out to the reef was amazing, like a rollercoaster in itself!! They explained everything really well and made sure everyone was okay. The reef and the animals were incredible. The crew made sure everyone was safe and showed you signals to let them know if you were in trouble whilst you were snorkling. I would love to come again and would recommend these to anyone - they really go out of their way to make sure you are having the time of your life!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbySophie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ocean Safari is a must do at Cape Tribulation”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We had a great day out. Friendly crew, snorkeling simply out of this world, better than the trips off Cairns and only a 30 minute boat trip to the most untouched reef I have ever seen.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank NemoandSuperboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome crew, best tourism service ever!”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Just want to say how great Ocean Safari was from booking until return. I just cannot commend the crew enough, every single person we met was so helpful and genuine. We weren't very confident in the water (in fact, mum was quite terrified). But they were just so patient and loving in the way they treated us. I shudder to think what it would be like if we went snorkelling with any other tour company. A big thank you especially to Bones who took my mum hand in hand the whole time and calmed her down so she actually enjoyed the reef. It was a spectacular experience. We saw turtles and giant clams and multi-coloured fish amongst coral of all shapes and forms.

Thank you Ocean Safari! I'll be recommending you guys to everyone i hear is going to Cairns/Cape Trib.

Lots of love from "Team China" (Susan, Harry and Katie).

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KTChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Safari also viewed

Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Ocean Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing