We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yapping Dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arabella Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Buderim B&B and Inns
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yapping Dogs”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Unfortunately, our experience was not as positive as we would like it to have been. We were expecting a restful and relaxing stay but were awakend about 6:30am by yapping dogs. Joe (the owner) apparently brings the dogs up each morning and then collects them again in the evening - he lives offsite. The dogs have their own 'bedroom' directly above the bedroom we had, with the access stairs outside our window. The dogs not only barked at a Bush Turkey nesting in the garden, they also barked at the rubbish truck, busses going past and aparently numerous other things as well.
We didnt complain after the 1st morning, believing it to be a one-off, but when the dogs started barking constantly and running up and down the stairs and around in circles in the room above our heads the second morning, again starting about 6:30am, we weren't very happy!
The Arabella web site falsely claims "Our resident concierge will gladly assist..." - there is no resident concierge. The cook who prepared our breakfast however was very friendly.
Another claim on the web site "bed dressed in the finest luxury linen" also falls short.
Realistically, a star rating of '4' is much more accurate than '4.5' (it is definitely better than a 3.5). There wasn't much road noise and the décor and atmosphere, on a cold night in front of the wood heater were very nice. It is a shame the stay was spoiled by the yapping dogs.

Room Tip: The Tea Tree Suite is the biggest, recently renovated and has a large Ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MijE14U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
41
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Many people might not like B&Bs and understandably so. Some B&Bs can be busy while others lack the privacy so invaluable for a get-away. Thankfully, Joe at Arabella guesthouse has the recipe just right. From the moment my husband and I arrived, Joe gave us all the information we needed to make ourselves comfortable at the house but once everything wa sorted, he promptly disappeared and left us to it. Better yet, since it was the middle of the week, none of the other 2 guest rooms were occupied so we effectively had the place to ourselves.

We rented the Tea Tree room which had its own balcony adjoining the main deck. As expected, the room was well furnished and the bathroom was spotless. The bed was really comfortable and we had our own tv in the room. It was a lovely blend of a cosy hideaway in amongst Australian trees while we still had a direct view of the Mooloolabah coastline. It was an easy 10 minute drive either way into Mooloolabah or Cotton Tree so we weren't missing out one bit on the beach, sun & shopping.

In the mornings, Jackie prepared breakfast for us and she was absolutely lovely. She made us feel completely at home and my husband gave Joe's coffee a big thumbs up. Joe owns The Silva Spoon which meant we got to try his coffee & tea while we were staying at Arabella. I would strongly recommend Arabella to anyone looking for somewhere quiet but still close to the seaside. It was a wonderful place to come back to after a busy day exploring the sunshine coast.

Room Tip: The tea tree room allows you direct access to the main balcony without having to detour via the livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kshanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My husband and I opted for a B&B as opposed to motel accommodation for a quick visit to the Sunshine Coast. Arabella Guest house was perfect! Joe and Allison were the perfect hostesses. They were friendly, nothing was a problem and they made us feel very comfortable. We came back to our accommodation after a function to find the tea and coffee waiting, with a lovely warm fire burning in the fireplace. Although, some rooms are quite small, they are all beautifully furnished. We recommend you pay the extra to stay in the Tea Tree Suite! We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

From the moment we stepped into the Arabella Guesthouse we felt welcome. We arrived in the late afternoon and lovely cups of tea and coffee and chocolates were brought out to us on the verandah, where we enjoyed beautiful views out to Maroochydore. The house is tastefully decorated, with beautiful furnishings used throughout the house. The hostess (Jennifer) was extremely accommodating and went out of her way to make sure that we were happy. In the evening, breakfast menu selections are offered so that breakfast is tailor-made to your requirements. We had a beautifully presented breakfast, with lovely china, napkins, all the little touches were there. The only drawback to this wonderful place is that the rooms are little small. All in all a great place stay, which I have no hesitation in recommending to all and to which I would happily return at any time!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BitterSweetSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buderim
2.0 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
361 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fiesta Motel
Fiesta Motel
#2 of 3 in Buderim
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Amore on Buderim - Luxury Rainforest Cabins
1.5 mi away
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premie...
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
875 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bli Bli House Luxury Accommodation
Bli Bli House Luxury Accommodati...
#1 of 109 in Sunshine Coast
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabella Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabella Guesthouse

Property: Arabella Guesthouse
Address: 297 Mooloolaba Rd, Buderim, Queensland 4556, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Buderim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Buderim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arabella Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arabella Guesthouse is a luxury, boutique guesthouse/Bed and Breakfast, situated in Buderim, on Queensland’s Sunshine Coast, a mere hour’s drive north of Brisbane.Your assurance of service and splendour, luxury and comfort, the Arabella is your home away from home. Our well appointed, luxurious suites boast the finest linen, pillow-top queen size beds, reverse cycle air-conditioning and stylish decor. Imported Charlotte Rhys pamper products for your personal use in your bathroom. A luxury environment assures the Arabella guest of a memorable stay in a serene, private environment, geared to cater to your needs and overwhelm your expectations.To ensure that your trip remains hassle free, we offer a comprehensive concierge and business solutions service. Free WIFI is complimented by our business solutions centre where your courier, mailing and general communication needs can easily be attended to. Our resident concierge will gladly assist with your personal queries and requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arabella Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing