We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Willing to stay with cockroaches, enjoy yourself.”

Sylvan Beach Resort
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sylvan Beach Resort
lowood Qld
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Willing to stay with cockroaches, enjoy yourself.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked a 3 bedroom apartment, on arrival the outside looked fabulous, Upon entering, it still seemed ok, then we went out for a while and came back in the evening, where we were greeted with cockroaches everywhere. To late to see management as the office was shut. Spent the night keeping our children comfortable and free of roaches. Saw management the next morning, where we were informed that they knew there was presence of roaches in the unit and had had pest control in and that there would be some activity. These roaches were not dying until we hit them with bug spray. We were dismissed from management in regards to this,so I spent my own money to make our stay bearable by spraying ourself. The only compensation offered was a free ice cream to our children, management did not come near us for the entire time we stayed. We are disgusted with the service, the only decent thing about the accomodation was the water view. We were disgusted that they even kept the booking once they new of the cockroach problem.

Room Tip: Book this place as your final option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0113kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, Manager at Sylvan Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We strongly sympathise with this guest. The cockroaches were an unwelcome present from previous guests but were not evident in great numbers. We had acted immediately on this and had a pest control company in to spray. The pest control company advised us that there would be some activity but there should not be a problem and that the cockroaches would be dead within 24 hours. We were very astonished to hear that this was not the case!
This guest did not ask for any compensation or to be moved into another unit which we would have willingly done availability permitting. Also the guest did not leave early.
We encouraged the guest to come back to us after their initial complaint if the problem was not resolved. As we did not hear from them again, we assumed that everything was under control.
We must however thank this guest for their feedback which only allows us as managers, to respond and act where necessary. We pride oursleves on cleaniness and customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Spent 3 days here in a 3 bedroom apartment. It was very clean, well furnished and has everything you need. Definitely a home away from home with comfortable beds all the crockery, pans and utensils you would need, which is perfect for a family. Close to shops, takeaways and pubs. Only a 15-20 minute drive to Morayfield for a shopping complex. We would happily have stayed longer if we could have.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank crazymumGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a wonderful apartment with great views over the main bridge to the island. Beautiful sunsets every evening , with a delightful walk along the coastline. The on site Management was brilliant and the place was spotless and cleaned daily. A great place to stay and convenient for most of the local Tourist spot ; like Australia Zoo.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea a must if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terence t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This 2 bedroom apartment was a spacious place to stay. The self contained kitchen was very well appointed as was the laundry. The living areas were very suitable for enjoyment and relaxation with a lovely balcony for summer. It was very clean and well furnished.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraNorthcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed at the Sylvan Beach Resort for 1 week. Very nice apartment - very spacious and clean. Very friendly management team. Pool is small but good for small children and has spa bubbles. Just across from the water and lovely picnic area. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed on the top floor - very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargM573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

stayed here for the easter weekend - only booked one week before - very spacious apartment with the bare basics - could have been better cleaned prior to arival - small pool - nice BBQ area

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hermanjvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bribie Island hotels
3.5 mi away
On the Beach Resort
On the Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Bribie Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bribie Waterways Motel
Bribie Waterways Motel
#1 of 2 in Bribie Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.7 mi away
On the Bay Apartments - Bribie Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gums Anchorage
The Gums Anchorage
#9 of 9 in Bribie Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bribie Island Hotel Motel
3.5 mi away
Fairways Golf & Beach Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Beach Resort

Property: Sylvan Beach Resort
Address: 21-27 Sylvan Beach Esp, Bribie Island, Queensland 4507, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Moreton Bay Region > Bribie Island
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Bribie Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sylvan Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sylvan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing