We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop Over”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean View Motel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bowen
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Stop Over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

After staying here as a kid in 1977 and passing the motel over the years, I decided to take advantage and pull in. The room was clean and the bed was good. I also decided to order breakfast which I must say was very good and cheap.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony Y, Owner at Ocean View Motel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel.

Regards
The Team, at Ocean View Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
17
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The ocean view motel is located right next to the Big Mango on the Bruce highway. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. Overall the motel was comfortable and clean and also allowed dogs in the rooms which is a big plus.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony Y, Manager at Ocean View Motel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel.

Regards
The team, at Ocean View Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The motel has an absolutely gorgeous view on the ocean and the green hills of the Whitland islands behind. It's very clean and well-kept, the rooms are tidy and the beds are very comfortable. We vacationed here with a group of runners and had a really good rest. The owners are very friendly, the use of extra tables and chairs for our dinner was not a problem. One of the best places we stayed in in Queensland so far.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhinandan_Willis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good clean room with excellent home cooked meals. Knowledgeable owner. Hubbie would have stayed and talked fishing a good deal longer but the road beckoned. Perhaps a little costly compared to some others but the bed was good and the place was very clean. The view across the bay was very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were put onto the motel by staff at the Big Mango (right next door) and found the owners friendly and helpful. The room was adequate, clean, and with a good fan. But the facilities in the room were not what I expected: no cutlery or crockery beyond cups and teaspoons for coffee-making - I expected at least plates, knives and forks and a toaster. You could order meals, so perhaps that was why no self-catering facilities.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hinekiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareeba, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

In a good location on main highway but for $121 I would expect more luxury. only toiletries supplied was 2 little bars of soap, was the usual supply of tea coffee and sugar but no biscuits or anything else. was shocked at price because if we had booked on wotif would have cost $100!
overall a good stop over motel but we won't be stopping there on way home at that price

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jet_au2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony Y, Owner at Ocean View Motel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our motel.
We will take on board your comments about the toiletries and bikkies. It is always a balancing act between maintaining value for money and providing the extra little luxuries.
I would like to clarify though that the wotif price is the same at $121 for 2 people, so I hope you don't feel as though you have been swindled.
We constantly benchmark ourselves against the other local accomodation providers and we feel that we offer the best value for money in town.
Nothing beats relaxing on the terrace with a sea breeze in the afternoon, or watching the sun rise across the water in the mornings.
Regards
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calliope, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to break our trip. It's old but extremely clean. My child enjoyed the pool while we sat in the cool breeze outside our units drinking in the view and beer! The food we ordered was fresh and delicious. There was a bit of road noise due to being right on the highway but I turned on the air con and that seemed to drown the noise out. Room was equipped with fridge, microwave and kettle. The shower was awesome. Price was a bit high for the location and age but we paid for the location as we wanted a quick start the next morning. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wietink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowen hotels
4.4 mi away
Rose Bay Resort
Rose Bay Resort
#2 of 8 in Bowen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bluewater Harbour Motel
2.5 mi away
The Pearly Shell Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Castle Motor Lodge
Castle Motor Lodge
#4 of 8 in Bowen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
5.0 mi away
Whitsunday Sands Resort
4.2 mi away
BIG4 Bowen Coral Coast Beachfront Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Motel

Property: Ocean View Motel
Address: 18317 Bruce Highway, Bowen, Queensland 4805, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean View Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View Motel is quality and affordable Bowen accommodation, ideally located with a choice of at least eight pristine beaches, right at, or within 10 minutes drive from your Motel room, and overlooking Port Denison and the Islands. Set on a spacious 9 acres, the motel rooms have Queen sized beds, air conditioning, fans and free cable TV, swimming pool and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing