We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts and great value!”
Review of Castle Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Reviewed December 12, 2013

On a recent business trip to Bowen, I stayed at this hotel. The Owners were very organised and nothing was a problem. They catered and set up for our 18 guests to a training night, and as a huge suprise, they individually catered to each guest! The training room was set up in their restaurant, with the huge flat screen and power ready well before scheduled start. Snap On and tech Ed will definatly be coming back to this venue next year. The room was clean, spacious and comfy bed. The pool and surrounding grounds although a little dated were immaculate. thanks again Guys!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Castle Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 59 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Good value for a twin room, meal in restaurant was excellent thanks to JJ's (staff member) recommendation. Prices for meals were reasonable. The décor in the restaurant was remarkable, including an armoured knight mounted on a horse! The room was clean, tidy, dated. Service was excellent.

Room Tip: Got a good price by phoning the office- better than the price on the web
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My dad and I stayed here on the way down to Brisbane. We were greeted with great service and have a good old chat to the man at the reception. The service at the restaurant was fantastic and the food was delicious. The rooms are a bit old fashioned however very tidy and clean. Overall a great stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sashee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

First motel we saw on way into Bowen and decided it looked ok. We were not disappointed, only needed a one night stay and receptionist was very friendly. Had a lovely meal and few drinks in the restaurant all very reasonable prices too. The room was lovely and clean and cooked breakfast very enjoyable. Highly recommended would definetly stay again. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roslyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We drove into Bowen and this was the first place we saw. Carried on for a look around town and then came back to our first choice, Castle Motor Lodge. It looks great from the road and it didn't disappoint. Everybody we encountered were so friendly and helpful. We only stayed one night but would have been happy staying a lot longer. The pool, though we didn't get to use it, looked wonderful and very inviting. When the receptionist queried our breakfast plans and I said we had our own cereals with us, she brought plates and spoons over to our units for us to use which was most kind of her. We ate in their restaurant and the barmaid was absolutely amazing! She tended bar as well as taking meal orders and delivering the food and anything else one wanted. Earning her wage and more! Thoroughly recommend Castle Motor Lodge and would definitely stay again if we had the opportunity.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzannej136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed at this Motor Inn twice this month as I was travelling for work, from Cairns to Mackay and back again. I regularly stay at this type of accomodation and the Castle Motor Lodge has the friendliest management, reception and restaurant staff I have ever encountered. As far as Motor Inns go the roooms are very tidy and clean. Both times the room had new split system air-con, brand new fridge and a nice big flat screen TV.
I appreciated the free Wi-fi and ample space to set up my laptop for work.
The restaurant serves good quality home-style meals ($20-$30 main) in either the main dining room, decorated in the castle theme complete with full suits of armour, or in a second dining area with a large TV. I imagine the 2nd dining room caters for solo business travellers and breakfast dining.
Parking was easy for me in a iLoad van and the pool area looked quite nice although I didn't use it.
In future, when travelling to Bowen I will ALWAYS stay at the Castle.

Room Tip: I stayed on the road side and at the back, away from the road and both rooms were nice and quiet. A...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very friendly place to relax. Lovely room decor and very clean. Owners and staff were courteous and helpful about local and regional attractions. Lovely pool and garden area. Awesome food in onsite restaurant. Free laundry facilities!! Beautiful drive to area beaches and attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowen hotels
2.6 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#6 of 9 in Bowen
40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port Denison Motor Inn
1.0 mi away
Bluewater Harbour Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pearly Shell Motel
2.3 mi away
Rose Bay Resort
Rose Bay Resort
#2 of 9 in Bowen
116 reviews
1.7 mi away
BIG4 Bowen Coral Coast Beachfront Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Motor Lodge

Address: 6 Don St, Bowen, Queensland 4805, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bowen
Price Range: $92 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing